We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty, but not bad”
Review of Beef Baron Restaurant - CLOSED

Beef Baron Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: As the four time winner of the "Restaurant of the Year" Award from the Niagara Falls Tourism Bureau, The Beef Baron has delivered great food at reasonable prices for over 20 years. Inside there are 3 distinctively different rooms featuring vaulted ceilings, high back booths and cherry wood covered walls.Our customers return again and again to enjoy our unique combination of sophisticated ambiance, superior cuisine and reasonable prices. Sample our specialty, Prime Rib, cooked to perfection the way you like it, every night of the week.The Beef Baron comfortably seats 360 guests in our four sumptuous rooms, each richly decorated with it's own theme. We offer secluded booths for those who enjoy privacy, as well as a children's menu for those who choose to visit 'en famille'. The Beef Baron is a fully licensed restaurant located only step above Clifton Hill and 2 minutes from Casino Niagara.*** PRIVATE DINING ROOM AVAILABLE FOR PARTIES AND GROUPS ***
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Empty, but not bad”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

On a Friday night at 7:30, the restaurant was nearly empty. This made us nervous, but we still proceeded. They looked like they were dying down for the night and getting ready to head out, but it was still so early.

Service: Nice. Friendly. The servers use tablets to place orders so it's very quick. My husband ordered a Maker's Mark neat -- our server brought him a shot of whiskey. Must not be common there?

Food: Bread before the meal was a tasty ciabatta loaf. Mixed green salad was fresh, cold, and not drenched. Prime Rib was tender, juicy, and fatty - just as you'd expect. Lobster mashed potatoes were excellent. Whole meal plus tip and a glass of wine came out to be around $100.

Ambiance: Very dark. Old looking. Interesting atmosphere for a place called Beef Baron with bull horns on the outside. It doesn't seem to fit.

I probably would not return to the restaurant because there are so many options. However, it was not BAD.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    31
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orillia
1 review
“Mouthwatering Steak-Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This establishment lives up to its name- no questions asked!!! They do beef the best!! My husband and I visited this restaurant because it is close to the action of Clifton hill but not so much that it's overwhelming. Our server was really friendly and recommended that we try the Delmonico steak. Basically it's a prime rib steak that's grilled. Honestly it fell apart in my mouth!! So tender. Our server was Kasim (not sure how to spell it). He was hilarious and really made our visit even more amazing. He entertained us with facts about Niagara Falls, gave great advice on the food and delivered excellent service. The atmosphere was great as well-it's a big restaurant but everyone was so friendly, we felt important and like the servers enjoyed being there. Great food, excellent service and top notch all around. A must try!

Helpful?
Thank Dora9875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was visiting with my family a while back and we had the most delicious food and kind server. Cannot wait to go back when we visit again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheyenne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service was decent, but food was awful.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This sounded like a cool place so we decided to go there for a late dinner. Apparently they were trying to close up early because they were bringing the signs and such in while we were being seated. There was only one other table in the entire place. The decor is very fancy and reminded me of an opera house. The menu is limited and very expensive, but what do you expect being right in the middle of a tourist attraction. I'm not sure if it was because it was so late or what, but the food was horrible. We ended up getting a meal for two special they had. I had the salmon and there was entirely too much mustard on it, to the point that I couldn't even taste it. My husband had the baseball steak and it was awful, full of grizzle and just a bad cut of meat overall, horribly seasoned. The "dessert" was just a banana bread with some chocolate chips in it. Very lackluster for such a fancy establishment. The only positive to this meal was that the waitress let us charge our phones while we ate. I would not eat here again, and recommend you try a different place if you're looking for a good meal. Not a good place for kids, even though they supposedly "eat free".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spidershauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

the food was excellent, but very expensive for the portion that you got. Kids were free which was a bonus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beef Baron Restaurant also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing