We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meals, over priced”
Review of Terrapin Grille - CLOSED

Terrapin Grille
Price range: $22 - $37
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gourmet Cuisine Combined with a Breathtaking View - the Perfect Ingredients for a Memorable Experience. If you are looking for a memorable dining experience, look no further than the Terrapin Grille Fallsview Restaurant. We are located on the mezzanine level of the Marriott Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel & Spa, directly overlooking the spectacular natural wonder, Niagara Falls.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good meals, over priced”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The dinner was good, but very expensive. the breakfast buffet was excellent yet overpriced for comparable quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    204
    103
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“poor service and poor value”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were guests at the Marriot and had dinner at the on-site Terrapin Grill restaurant. The restaurant is on roughly the 5th floor of the hotel and has a good view of the Horseshoe Falls. I ordered lobster tails, and my wife ordered a vegetarian entrée. The entrée preparation was good. Unfortunately, there is more to dinner than just the entrée. I would expect most restaurants of this caliber to be a little generous with small things. The server gave each of us a small dinner roll. This would have been okay if the roll was of a reasonable size, but it was tiny, 2 bites at most to finish it. Normally, I would expect a small basket of warm rolls or a small loaf on a cutting board. About 10 minutes passed before the server returned and gave a 2nd tiny roll to each of us. Something was lacking with our salads, but I cannot recall exactly what it was. Our entrees were served before we finished our salads. About 10 minutes passed from when we got the dessert menu to when the server returned to our table. We normally share a dessert and asked about the size of the chocolate cake and decided to order one. What was served was nothing like what we were led to believe. It was not a slice of cake. What was served resembled a Hostess Ding Dong and was about the same size. By now, we were anxious to pay and leave. Unfortunately, this also took too much time. After requesting the bill, about 10 minutes passed before the server brought our bill but neglected to apply our room discount. Another 10 minutes passed before she returned with the corrected bill. I'm not sure why there were so many delays. The restaurant wasn't very busy.

The overall feeling was that of stinginess. This is consistent with our room reservation and our general experience with Marriot Hotels. We had a completely opposite experience in the Skylon Tower revolving restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank airsonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for an upscale dinner”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here one of the 2 nights we overnighted in Niagara Falls. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here and I was not so sure we would having read previous reviews. The restaurant is not large and therefore has a fairly intimate feel to it.

We made reservations and were seated at a window table where we had the perfect view of both the American and Canadian falls. The food was amazing and the service was just right. Our waitress was attentive enough while not being intrusive. We truly enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The restaurant again overlooks Niagara falls, our waiter even though he was very busy he attended to us quickly and efficiently plus the food was hot and tasted beautiful!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but an expensive one!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It's not that the food is only two-star worthy.
It's the prices of the food... and eating here is just not worth the price.
Unless you have a hotel voucher, then it's more reasonable.

Firstly, this restaurant has great views of the falls.
We were seated by the window both times that we ate here and we happily snapped photos of our food with the falls as the background.

However, is the view worth paying almost twice as much?
..No (-1.5 Yelp Stars).

We had a voucher for the breakfast buffet which is regularly $22 a person.
It's a nice buffet with sausages, eggs, hash browns, and there is an omelet station. There was a large selection of yogurt and fresh fruit as well.
It's not the largest selection, but it was a nice breakfast.
The pastries were actually really fresh and tasty.

As for the dinner, we had a voucher to save $40.
It's not a true $40 dollars (I'm not quite sure of how they redeem it, but it's not).

To put things into perspective, the price for a steak entree is $56.
It's a bit steep for eating at the Marriott.

We ordered the salmon, grilled calamari, and a walnut and cheese spinach salad. I really liked the fresh bread and whipped herbed butter served with dinner. The salmon was perfectly cooked and served with root vegetables.
The portions were decent and everything was well prepared.

Overall, not a bad meal, but we still had to dish out about $35 after applying our dinner voucher.

With so many other options available nearby, it's not a surprise that the restaurant was not close to capacity.

Not a bad place to grab a meal, but you are paying for the view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryHippoette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrapin Grille also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing