We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything you need, at a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Everything you need, at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I spent a few nights here while visiting family in the off-season (November). We go to Niagara often and had been staying at other hotels but decided to try this one because we heard it was very good and we had good experiences with Country Inns elsewhere. The location is great: walking distance to the falls, easy to get to, and great if you have kids and are interested in the attractions on Clifton Hill. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and the hotel is adjacent to the highway that takes you out of town. Our room was basic but spacious, quiet, clean and well maintained (although the carpet could use a good cleaning, or perhaps an upgrade). Our rate included breakfast, which is served in a very nice room and featured lots of variety including some hot items, and everything of good quality (including the coffee!!). Front desk staff were awesome. Plenty of parking, for which you pay $8 a night. We didn't use the indoor pool, but it looked very nice. There is also a small fitness room. I have stayed in many moderately priced hotels and this was one of the best (especially the included breakfast). We had a very good experience here, and will very likely go back. Note that we stayed in November, and got an excellent rate; I can not comment on what the value or atmosphere would be like in the peak season.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Victoria Avenue might be noisy: go for a room facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GTOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    836
    226
    52
    18
See reviews for
1,025
771
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Yes - this is not a 5 star resort, but the rates are VERY reasonable for what you receive here. You are perfectly located if you want to access Clifton Hill and the Falls.

Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is ok. Obviously prepackaged stuff. The "sunny side up" eggs were a little suspect - looked like plastic play food. I had to wonder why not just offer scrambled if you aren't cooking them fresh? After eating the breakfast on the first morning of our stay, we opted to head elsewhere the 2nd day. But had we been travelling with our son this would have done just fine!

Love that the amenities are Pantene and Vaseline - nice to have stuff you will actually use.

I would say our most significant complaint here was the lack of green initiatives. Everything at breakfast is disposable, even the little cup you use to pour the batter on the waffle iron. No note in the room about placing towels in the tub if you want them replaced. Everything was replaced, which was definitely not necessary. Water glasses and coffee cups in rooms were also disposable... Just seems like this place produces a lot of garbage and didn't see any recycling bins.

Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had a King Whirlpool Suite that looked out over the city - not a view of the falls - but great no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRoudny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

A great four day escape in Niagara Falls. We had a king studio with microwave and frig. The staff old not have been friendlier. Hotel is very close to casino, Clifton Hill, and Falls Avenue, walking distance to the Falls. The bed was a little firm for our liking. Breakfast was good, with lots of selections.

The intermittent and SLOW wifi is what kept it from being a 5 rating.

Don't forget your bathing suit for the whirlpool and pool (our mistake).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Periana, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stopped here for just one night on our driving tour of Canada and USA.

The place was easy to find and there was sufficient car parking.

Check in was fine and we asked for a quiet room as we had not slept well the previous night. We were given a suite on the back of the Hotel but unfortunately the bedroom window was right on top of two very large AC Machines.

The suite itself was ok however the lounge area had no window so it lacked any feel. The furniture was very tired and the TV's were out of the Ark!! The beds were comfortable though and the bathroom fine.

Now the real down side. The room was fitted with a pale beige carpet which was filthy. In front of the "Kitchenette" area there was evidence that someone had dropped something probably from the microwave and it had stained the carpet badly, the rest of the carpet was just as bad. We were asked as we passed through reception on our way out, if all was ok and as we were there for just one night I was not going to make anything of it, however I decided I would say something. I was told that they had been so busy during the summer that they just could not have cleaned the rooms properly!!! I could not believe what I was hearing! to add insult to injury when we checked out we were told they were going to deep clean our room that day!

Breakfast was the usual offering but not a lot of choice.

The hotel is located not too far from the falls etc.

There is a very nice Steak house just up the road which you need to book if you wish to eat there.

All in Hotel was ok but needs to get some refurbishment under way, TV's, Tiles in front of the kitchen areas for easy cleaning and shampoo the carpets more often.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back away from the roads are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikealpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was our fifth or sixth stay at this hotel - great location, clean hotel and you can't beat the price.

The hotel shows some wear and tear but still very well maintained and clean.

Rooms/beds are comfortable and clean. I wasn't a fan of the pillows but thats a personal thing. Don't expect great views of the falls from your window - but the falls are only a 5-min walk.

Great location -across the road from the waterpark, and casino. Restaurants, Clifton Hill and all the restaurants are a few steps away.

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. There is always coffee/tea and fresh cookies in the lobby.

Breakfast is good - typical hotel spread with 2 hot waffle machines. It can get busy but they have one of the largest breakfast areas I have seen at a hotel. I think my son counted seating for 72

Will return to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were 100% satisfied with our stay at the Country Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls. We booked a king size suite with a jacuzzi tub for four days / three nights. We were greeted by a very nice older lady (she was very sweet) - all staff was very friendly and accomodating. The suite itself looked brand new and must have been recently renovated. The room was very spacious - the shower, bathroom, and jacuzzi were spotless. Housekeeping services were excellent - our room was always clean and well cared for. The heater / ac unit was very clean and we had an excellent sleep all three nights. The lobby of the hotel is very inviting and charming.

We loved the location of the Inn - so close to everything. We never had to drive anywhere. We walked to the Falls, to the Keg for dinner, and to the Greg Frewin theatre for a magic show. The front staff were nice enough to lend us their corkscrew on several occasions as we forgot to bring ours and made several trips to wine country - Niagara on the Lake.

The free breakfast was an excellent bonus - not sure why some reviewers complain about the food - it is a quick fix to prepare you for a day in the Falls. They had bread, bagels, butter, cream cheese, fruit, yogurt (and toppings - raisins, granola, etc). They had eggs, sausage, potatoes, french toast, a waffle station, coffee / tea, orange juice (very tasty :) and cereals. It was a terrific way to start our day and very much appreciated.

The only problem we had was our last night - a group of VERY LOUD teachers were placed on our floor directly across from our room. They kept us awake until approx. 11:30am when we finally called the front desk. The front desk person was extremely friendly, accomodating, and understanding. Within minutes she was at their door asking them to reduce their noise level. We were then able to get some sleep.

We really enjoyed our stay - great accomodations, staff, and breakfast - we will definitely stay at the Country Inn & Suites for our next trip to the Falls. Thanks for making our honeymoon memorable!

Room Tip: Try to select a room on the top level facing Victoria Avenue - this is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjveith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was perfect for the one night we stayed at Niagara Falls. Staff were really friendly and helpful, room was huge, clean and tidy. Locations was fine (10 mins walk to falls/5 mins to shops and restaurants). Great value for money as parking and breakfast was included. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank claireharbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Address: 5525 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#13 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#13 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Country Inn & Suites in Niagara Falls. Located in the heart of the tourist district and across the street from Casino Niagara. Only a short walk to the natural wonder of the Falls and Clifton Hill...."the street of fun at the falls." This 100% non-smoking hotel can meet all your needs with our comfortable rooms, free deluxe continental breakfast, free high speed internet and large indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Carlson and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Niagara Falls
Country Inn & Suites Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Country Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing