We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic & quality within walking distance of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic & quality within walking distance of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Many perks: Free parking, wifi, breakfast, and fantastic rooms with modern luxury. The best restaurant in Niagara Falls on site and a spa. Great walking distance to everything, and on the route for the We Go bus system. According to the floor plan, we had one of the smaller rooms, and it was enormous. We were afraid that we would miss the view of the falls that others offered, but in the end, we enjoyed the luxurious room. It was a great value. A room safe and more luxurious linens would have been appreciated, but I would book again.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer a choice or either a rain/steam shower or a jetted tub. Jetted tubs are a nice lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    346
    131
    53
    41
See reviews for
42
1,134
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We chose this hotel due to a price sale on expedia. It was definitely a steal in comparison to the value.. I couldn't have imagined a better stay. The rooms are excellent, spacious, bright and very romantic. Upon entry to the room you are greeted by beautiful dark hardwood floors, a beautiful big mirror and lovely paintings. A short walk down this hallway brings you into the main bedroom area with the most plush luscious bed and cozy fireplace. The bathroom houses a huge Jacuzzi as well as a rain shower head shower. Breakfast was included and delivered right to the door. The location is ideal- just a short walk to the falls, Clifton hills and other attractions. We will def be back!!!!
PROS:
Free parking, wifi and breakast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golden83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

For the price, you could not do better. Located ten minutes on foot to the Falls, with free parking, and complementary breakfast delivered to your room, it really was a great find. We had a traditional room with a jacuzzi - beautiful room although the steam from the jacuzzi clearly wears on the hardwood floors which were peeling up in a few places but which was not a problem. The room was large and spacious and the bed firm but very comfortable. The room was clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the small "extras" were nice - bath salts for the jacuzzi, cookies in the room upon arrival, etc.

We did note though that this is not a family / friends / colleagues / etc hotel, at least not in a traditional room. There was no partition to the bathroom area and the shower doors were clear. There would be no way to have any privacy while having a shower and we noted that unless staying with a partner, this could be problematic. Suggest calling to inquire about this if you were booking a room for a family, etc.

With all the expensive options in the area, and all the chaos near Clifton Hill, this hotel is in a great location, with great amenities, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor - the floors are hardwood and would not absorb sound below as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We loved the Sterling inn we stayed for the weekend visited the spa, very highly recommend the spa 85 min massage was incredible. The room was amazingly large with great amenities the steam shower was quite fun. The staff were very helpful and despite minor cosmetic renovations going on had a great time. Oh and by the was location wise really isn't bad its a 6 dollar cab ride to the falls view casino.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with steam shower A++++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic in every way. The location was better than most of the chain hotels. It's located right next to Clifton Hill and a short walk to the Maid of the Mist. Also, the parking was free which was a huge plus. Check in was flawless with no trouble at all. The first thing they did was give us a complementary upgrade to a suite. We were thrilled. Once we walked in, we couldn't believe it. The suite was huge with 2 rooms, beautifully furnished, and very modern. The bed was firm but not uncomfortable. The bathroom was amazing with a 2-person hot tub and an awesome rain shower with body jets. Within 15 minutes of getting into the room, we got a call from the front desk asking if everything was to our liking which was a nice touch. The other thing that was great was the complementary breakfast delivered to the room. It was a great way to start the day and delicious. The croissants were fantastic and the mini quiches were piping hot. I wish we stayed longer! We will definitely be back on our next trip to the falls.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristi718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The entire staff at the Sterling Inn and Spa are amazing!! They helped me book and fulfill a magnificent engagement weekend. They went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The room is beautiful and spacious, clean and luxurious.

I had kept the whole thing a surprise for weeks from everyone in our families and circle of friends but found I needed some help to pull off the surprise. I framed the weekend as a weekend spa retreat gift paid for by a friend to celebrate the 4th year of our first date. I chose The Experience package which includes: limo pick up at home, 2 room jacuzzi suite, with a dozen long stem roses, chocolate covered strawberries and chilled champagne, a couples massage, 5 course dinner with wine pairings, breakfast in bed every morning and a limo ride home while sipping mimosas. I added a full day wine tour (booked/arranged by the hotel) on the Sunday of the long weekend to fill out our trip.

All of this seemed way too suspicious as a free trip, so I had to downplay it by creating a fake website for a fake hotel so she could research the hotel at her leisure, and tell my fiance that we were getting a simple car service for the weekend.

On the morning of, I got the hotel manager to call us and "offer" us a "free upgrade" to the car service as the limo was in the area and there had been a cancellation. The hotel manager also "offered" us a "free upgrade" to our room to a 2 room suite. (Of course I had already booked and paid for both "upgrades" - but this was all part of the misdirection).

Instead of all the extras in the room when we arrived, I had them wait till we left the hotel for dinner, for them to set up the room. I had brought a card and extra gift and was able to get a message to the Hotel Manager to have those included in the set up as well.

When we left for dinner, the hotel staff set up our room and included extras at my request , and also the gift and card that I brought.

We arrived back at the room after dinner to a room aglow with the soft flicker of flickering led candles (with real candles ready for us to light). The table in the living room was set with chocolate covered strawberries, chilled champagne, a dozen long stem roses with "diamonds" in the center of each bud, rose petals across the table and surrounding the jacuzzi as well as a rose petals in a heart shape on the bed.

While we sipped champagne and ate strawberries, she opened the card and gift as I slipped away and retrieved the ring from it's hiding place. I was able to pull off the surprise right up until I got down on my knee and she was never suspicious and I couldn't have done it without the amazing staff at the Sterling Inn & Spa! The truly exceeded our expectations and everything was exquisite and luxurious!

Room Tip: Book Early to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Small, but very neat and newly renovated hotel 1/2 block away from main shopping street and only about 7 minutes to the falls. The room was much bigger than expected with jet showers, fireplace and massive bed. The breakfast in bed is a nice touch with enough great food to last you until lunch. Would certainly stay there again. 4 stars because there were doing some touch up paint. Did not try the spa or the restaurant, although the restaurant seems very very nice with good menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Property: Sterling Inn & Spa
Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing