We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Amazing place!!!!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from the amazing deluxe king suite at The Sterling Inn and Spa. This is a beautiful hotel, amazing staff and such large rooms. The room has hard wood floors, fireplace, four post bed and a nice flat screen tv. This hotel is the best in Niagara Falls and I have stayed at most hotels as I am a travel agent. Kudos to Sterling Inn and Spa

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    389
    145
    56
    44
See reviews for
51
1,301
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place was extremely surprising! There was a HUGE bed, steam shower, and bathtub all for a very low price. They offered breakfast in bed at any requested hour. It is also not far from the falls and, for those who are interested, the touristy area of Clifton Hill. There were many restaurants nearby as well. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PieCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 2 night stay using a living social promotion to celebrate Valentines Day. Rooms were spacious and clean; steam shower was fabulous. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast in bed was a nice treat and always delivered promptly. Restaurant food, service, and atmosphere was a 10; a little fancy/pricy but worth it. Location is convenient but not on the "main strip"-casinos are a bit of a walk (Clifton hill 10-15 min, Falls view 20-25). Fitness center very basic but functional. A great weekend getaway; we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTravelGrl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, General Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2017
I'm so happy to hear you getaway was a success! We truly feel we provide the ultimate romantic getaway and I'm thrilled we were able to accomplish this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Yours in Hospitality,
Lisa Baumgartner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a hospitality professional of over five years, I had anticipated much more for this well-marketed boutique inn in Niagara Falls. After viewing their website, we decided to splurge for the deluxe amenities the property offered such as the in-room jacuzzi tub, working fireplace, and spacious room. Our first negative experience started with a phone call as we began our commute to the Niagara Falls area inquiring about the check-in time. The front desk agent was very brash and stated quickly that the hotel was sold out and no one would be allowed to check in until at least 3 PM. Completely understood; however, delivery could have been much softer.

We arrived at the hotel around 5 PM, after visiting Niagara on the Lake. The lobby space was inviting and the front desk agent provided our keys as well as a very lackluster piece of collateral informing us of the hotel's services. We entered our room soon after to find dirty silverware from the prior guest's breakfast left on the couch, and upon further investigation discovered body hair left in the tub. It was very apparent the room had not been vacuumed adequately and we found dust on most of the surfaces in the room, especially the bathroom. The room itself was spacious and decorated very much to our taste; minimalistic but edgy. We turned on the fireplace and at first thought it was broken as no flames appeared and quickly realized it was simply nothing more than a light show. Nonetheless, our dinner reservations at the Fallsview Casino led us to quickly get ready and depart.

When we returned from the Fallsview, we decided to clean out the tub ourselves and did enjoy a nice hot bath. When we got into bed and pulled back the duvet, we discovered yet another clump of hair under the sheets. Both being exhausted, we looked past it and tried to fall asleep. 10 minutes later, the jacuzzi tub roared back to life startling us. I quickly called the front desk and they explained it was a cleaning cycle and to let it run its course. Again understandable, but which we had anticipated it before use.

The next morning we woke up excited about the in-room breakfast service. After freshening up and waiting, I tried to turn on the television in the sitting room to find it wouldn't work. After killing time by starting to pack, our breakfast then arrived 10 minutes past the slot we had requested. The breakfast display was bountiful and quite delicious. After showering and cleaning up, I did re-look over the piece of information on the check-in form and found info about the jacuzzi cleaning cycle, however, would never have thought to look there at bedtime.

We planned to bring up the cleanliness issues with front desk agent, however upon check out, she simply asked for the room number and if the balance was to be charged to the card on file. No inquiry of how our stay was or if we enjoyed ourselves. Frankly irritated by this, we just settled up and decided to leave with no feedback.

Overall, the extra money and amenities, we're not worth it. As an employee of an independent hotel, I tried to support this local business. Next visit to the Falls, we'll stay with a brand where at least the room, basic or not, will be clean and we'll leave feeling like valued guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest. Thank-you for your honest response in regards to your recent stay with us. As a boutique Inn & Spa we pride ourselves on outstanding services in all aspects in the hotel. Clearly, our services fell short during your stay with us. We would like to sincerely apologize for your unwelcoming interactions with our staff as well as issues with housekeeping. The general manager is aware of your concerns. Please feel free to contact her directly, should you like to discuss these matters in further detail. Again our apologies are extended to you and our partner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at the Sterling Inn & Spa overnight in a Deluxe King Room and I am a bit disappointed, given their ranking on Tripadvisor. The room was spacious and the bed and sofa were comfortable. The floor and washroom were clean but it lacked some of the detailed cleaning (headboard, fireplace surround, window sill, dirt on light switch); I wasn't purposely inspecting but did notice. Little things like clusters of electrical plugs showing or old scuff marks on walls that are due for re-painting.

The room was noisy, particularly with noise from the room above (walk and talking) and hallway (the light coming in from all around the door is a good indication that it wasn't sealed well). The curtains don't shut completely, nor blind block out the parking lot light (which happened to be in a direct line with the bed in our room).

I know that it was a re-purposed milk creamery and it shows in my opinion. While I have stayed in worse, I found that the Sterling just doesn't have the quality of execution that I expected for what they are advertising and price. I would really hate to see what is ranked lower in Niagara Falls!

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor to avoid listening to those above walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arcaneind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear guest. Thank-you for your review on your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize that our accommodations fell short of your expectations. We pride ourselves on details to insure that every guest enjoys a relaxing and pleasurable stay. Our general manager has been made aware of your concerns. If you would like to discuss your review and stay in more detail, please feel free to contact the Sterling Inn & Spa directly to speak with our management team. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sterling Inn for 2 nights.We arrived early to Niagara Falls and we not surprised that our room would not be ready until 3 pm. But we found the front desk not welcoming or friendly-not a great way to start our mini holiday. We did check in at 3 and the room size was quite large, as was the washroom. Unfortunately the gas fireplace provided little heat and no real flame-just a red glow. The wall mounted t.v. was nice but very hard to see from the bed-it would have been nice to have been provided with a tv guide.
The closet doors and blinds were in need of dusting for sure and looked like they hadn't been done for some time. The floor in the washroom had not been cleaned thoroughly and the drain on the shower was not secure.
On day 2, we returned to our room later and found although it had been cleaned, the water glasses next to our bed had not been changed or cleaned. There was evidence of a coffee we had enjoyed in the morning-wrappers from a sweetener and a stir stick. Again the blinds and doors remained dusty. There was also a very musty order from the bathroom that no amount of deodorizing spray that had been used by the cleaning staff could mask.
We checked under the bed before checking out to make sure we hadn't forgotten anything and were horrified to see vast amounts of dusts and dust bunnies-obviously the staff don't clean under the beds-yuck.
The breakfasts provided each morning were lovely and there was an ample carafe of coffee provided.
I have heard that each room is different at the Inn, and if we returned we would ask for an upgraded room. I did mention to the front staff on departure that our room was not well cleaned and she said she would bring it to the cleaning staffs attention. Have never heard back from the Spa and we did leave a comment card.

Room Tip: The location of this Spa is great and please try out the AG restaurant. You will not be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Every time I go to Niagara falls this is where we stay. it's a great place and great bang for the buck! I have stayed there over 10 times and I will continue to go there.
The rooms are very spacious and beautifully decorated. They have high ceilings, hardwood flooring and the bathrooms are fully tiled. They bathrooms are big and they come with your choice of 2 options, you can either get a Jacuzzi or a nice big steam shower, which is what I always choose. The furniture is amazing, it's stylish with a ouch of class and prestige.
All rooms have a nice fireplace that gives the room a nice cozy feel and they are all equipped with a refrigerator.
Sterling inn and Spa is a few minutes walk from all the major attractions in Niagara falls so if you are driving you can just leave your vehicle there instead of paying for parking to be closer to the attractions because parking in Niagara could be pretty expensive depending on when you go. Parking at the hotel is free for all guests of the hotel.
The service is great, they will help you out with anything you need. The only reason I gave it a 4 star out of 5 is because one time my room wasn't cleaned out properly, there was a lot of dust and lint under the bed that crossed me out and had the tv converter not fallen underneath the bed I would of never noticed and the other reason is that they don't have the option of ordering movies to watch. Other then that I still love this place and I will probably be staying there again next month some time.

Cheers.

Room Tip: All rooms in this hotel are different from one another, no two rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaBreeze777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Property: Sterling Inn & Spa
Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing