We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Only True Boutique Hotel In Niagara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Only True Boutique Hotel In Niagara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Sterling September 2012 and was extremely pleased. Having stayed at the bi-level suite at the Marriott the night before, I was looking for something more relaxing and quiet. While it doesn't offer any views, the atmosphere and decor of the Sterling easily stands its ground compared to all other Niagara hotels. The room we had was very spacious and clean. As I understand, all the rooms have a somewhat different layout. I believe we had a corner room (no balcony) with an amazing jacuzzi for two and a HUGE shower. There wasn't a separate room for the washroom except for the toilet area and the tub was located in the middle of the room so this is probably not the place to stay for families. The fireplace was a nice touch and adds to the romantic atmosphere. As for the bed, it was extremely comfortable and I think I fell asleep in seconds, literally! While this did not apply to my stay since I was on the second floor, but I would certainly recommend requesting a room on the second floor because the wooden floors are quite loud and would definitely bother someone on the first floor. We also went to the restaurant downstairs and had the best meal we've had for quite some time. To this day, we are still talking about just how good it was. Also worth mentioning is the free parking. The hotel itself is in a quiet area, but it's really only a five minute walk to Clifton Hill so don't worry that you're too far away from all the things that are going on. The Sterling Hotel is a true boutique hotel that I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kckchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    356
    132
    53
    42
See reviews for
46
1,157
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Sterling Hotel is a boutique hotel that focuses on quiet and comfort. It's located right in the heart of Niagara Falls but is tucked away from the regular music pulsing, neon lit, over-populated pedestrian traffic of the regular 'big' hotel accommodations which one associates with Niagara Falls. The Inn was to be a stay to celebrate our anniversary and a birthday for me. It met our expectations well. Although one is greeted with an austere entrance when one first enters the hotel, the bedroom reflected an ambiance of calm, peace.and comfort. We had the luxury of a complimentary breakfast in bed, a working fireplace and a steam shower. The AG restaurant located within the hotel is open for dinner only. It offers fine food with class and style and well-mannered, accommodating wait service. There was a gracious and helpful desk manager (Barbara) who steered us towards local eateries when the AG was not open. Would we go again to this destination? ... in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Each of the bedrooms is different ... I had the opportunity to see three. I would have stayed in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarletSiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank-you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us at the Sterling Inn & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your guest suite and that Barbara could be of such assistance to you. We look forward to extending our Sterling service to you on your next visit to Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were very, very pleased with our three-day stay at Sterling Inn & Spa. It was nice it was off the main street so it was quiet, peaceful. The Staff were very polite and helpful; the rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had a wonderful time and we would return when the opportunity arises!!

Valerie B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank-you for sharing about your recent stay at the Sterling Inn & Spa with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some peace and quite while at the Sterling Inn & Spa. We look forward to providing you with another retreat next time your travels take you to Niagara Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a gift certificate from my family to the Sterling Inn & Spa for our Honeymoon so we scheduled a couples massage.

It was easy to find and had lots of free parking. The spa was nicely designed and the decor and atmosphere was very relaxing.

The change rooms were clean and had lockers available for your valuables. My wife and I were attended by two male masseurs. The tables were comfortable but I feel that my massage was not as deep as I had hoped for and requested.

The massage style is definitely more of a Swedish relaxation massage than anything deeper.

The steam shower afterwards was the highlight of my visit and very cool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdMan_Tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I recently stayed here for a 2-year anniversary. First off, the shower "jets" were more like trickles. On our second day, the breakfast was missing items like butter for the bread and fruit. The safe wasn't working properly, so we left $230 in an envelope in the armoire. When it came up missing after the room was cleaned, the front desk staff and manager were less than helpful in searching for it, unconcerned with our inconvenience and even came across as accusatory towards my finace and I. They basically said I should have put it in the safe and when we realized it wasn't working, should have called them. If they never came to clean the shower jets, why would they come to fix the safe?!?! They basically said "we have your information and we'll call you if it comes up." We had to REQUEST to file a police report. Needless to say, I would NEVER recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our room was huge. Not in the best part of town, close to the cheesey partss of Niagara in a neighbourhood off the strip on Victoria, its a bit of a walk to all the good stuff but doable. The hotel is nicely decorated, we got breakfast with our stay and for "boutique" it was a little lack luster. I think I read too much into the descriptions on the menu! My fault maybe, good sales job by the hotel? No room in the hotel has a great view. It's only two floors so you don't see much but buildings. During our stay a police office appeared to meeting an informant in the parking lot.....yeah! Overall, it was a nice couples retreat, had a huge Steam Shower which was just fantastic. Our bed was quite hard. My girlfriend felt like she had slept on a board the entire night. I love hard beds and it was a littel too much for me.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room, better than being on the ground. regardless you will be surrounded by ashphal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontheroad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay D, Manager at Sterling Inn & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guests, Thank-you for your honest fed-back about your recent stay with us at the Sterling Inn & Spa. We appreciate knowing areas where we can improve your overall satisfaction with the Inn such as the complimentary Breakfast in Bed selections. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the in room steam shower. We look forward to extending our Sterling service to you on your next visit to Niagara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a gift card for the Sterling and sure glad we did because we loved it! We might not have tried it otherwise because it is a bit out of our price range, but I would definetly pay full price to stay again!
All the reviews are bang on..I have nothing to add. Service was great..rooms were spotless (huge!). Only thing I would suggest for the Sterling Inn is for them to have some sort of outdoor patio where the guests could sit outside and enjoy a cold beverage. We actually sat in the parking lot and enjoyed a few drinks and thought that maybe taking out some of the gardens and making them sitting areas would be fab.
We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. Ambiance looked lovely though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weenerx65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Property: Sterling Inn & Spa
Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing