We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Puzzling”
Review of Sterling Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sterling Inn & Spa
Ranked #2 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sterling Inn in mid-September 2011. We had high expectations for the hotel based on prior reviews and an article in the New York Times. The hotel had many quirky features, but our experience was more puzzling than fun.

First, although our room was spacious and quiet, it had an odd layout. A sort of hallway led from the front door to the bathroom and then to the area where the bed, chairs, and desk were. But there was a big step from the hallway up to the bedroom area. Why did they do this? It can be deadly if you get out of bed in the middle of the night and forget to step down to get to the bathroom. Also, the bed itself was on a platform that we kept banging into as we walked around the bedroom. .Why did they do THIS?

Second, the room had a big TV set but no information about channels available. We had checked in on a Sunday and my husband wanted to watch the football games, but didn't know where to find them. We asked the front desk clerk and he said "We're not big on football here in Canada - we are more interested in hockey" and added that another guest had asked him the same question and he told them the best option was to go to a sports bar. Well, a little channel surfing revealed that the football games were indeed shown on the TV set in our room. Why couldn't we get this information?

Third, the hotel has a very nice restaurant where we had an enjoyable dinner, but the restaurant is not open for breakfast. The hotel provides a room-service cold breakfast that is included in the price of the room, but it's odd that the restaurant is not available for breakfast. And given the sleazy area of Niagara Falls where the hotel is located, going out for breakfast is not an attractive option.

Finally, although the hotel prides itself on service, when we checked in there was only one towel in our room. It took three requests for more towels to actually receive them. The second day we had only one washcloth, and the third day there was only one napkin on the breakfast tray. Can the staff not count?

The only really positive aspects about this hotel were the quiet location, the low price and our dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caravanseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
There are newer reviews for Sterling Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

Wonderful hotel with great spa and restaurant. Try the rooms with the in-room spa for two people. Have a relaxing spa and watch TV from the tub. Large room, and extra sitting area with its own TV if you can reserve it. Walk to all that Niagara Falls Canada has to offer. Restaurant AG is in the hotel, try it, I wrote a separate review on it. It is an old Creamery converted into an modern Inn.

Room Tip: The room with the spa for two and a fireplace
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Spent 2 nights in a deluxe King room. HUGE room! Shower and jet tub were great. Bed was a bit hard for us. View out the window was the parking lot of the magic show-just left blinds closed the whole time. B-fast isn't anything special, but good enough to get some good coffee and yogurt. Impressive shampoo, lotion and other product-all organic too.
Yes the hotel looks like the photos, but the area is a little shady around the hotel-older hotels and some residential houses looks much different than the community where I expected to find the hotel. Didn't have any problems, even when walking at night, but was on guard. Free parking is great after spending 20$ to self park at another hotel in the area. Overall happy with our stay, just wish hotel had a nicer view/in a different area of the falls, but value for the room/stay was worth sacrificing these things.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahmac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at Sterling for our 2nd honeymoon in September. For the most part, it was as advertised. Spacious rooms, very nice steam showers, king sized beds, very quiet, and close enough to walk to everything, with free parking, a rarity in Niagara Falls. The room was clean, except for the hardwood floors. There were LARGE dust bunnies all over the floor the first night, but the second day the maid did clean the floor well, as well as the rooms adjoining ours, leaving a lot of stuff outside all the rooms.
The AG lounge in the lower level was a major disappointment. It was described as one of the best in the area, but our food was not hot on arrival, and the portions were miniscule. I am no gourmet, but it was just not very good.
We did get discounted tickets to the Greg Frewin magic show next door, which was very much worth the price, but you have to ask for the tickets. All in all, we were actually pretty satisfied, we were lucky enough to get a balcony room in the front on the second level.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, if available.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Largesarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This hotel is a wonderful surprise in Niagara Falls, ON. The rooms are generous in size, most include a fireplace, a jacuzzi tub and/or steam shower and it is a very quiet hotel. The soaring ceilings add to the atmosphere and there are plenty of very good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. A wonderful place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ladyblue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for three nights, this past August. We loved it! I had done a lot of web searching to try and find a great place for us to stay in the Falls - that didn't kill the budget! I had also checked out Niagara-on-the-Lake for something, found one place but even it could not match the Sterling. (I compared apples to apples)

Love the website for Sterling - was a great way to get a "feel" for the place - virtual tours are awesome way to show this! I always look for a virtual tour or a gallery of photo's. I also do a check on TripAdvisor for reviews and other photos.

Then --- I took a look at what was being offered in the price (compared to other hotels) Free parking - bonus!! (considering it is $20 - $25 everywhere else) Free wi-fi all the way through the building! Other places were charging for internet (and these extra costs really DO add up!) "Breakfast in bed" - this they do need to improve on - great touch - just a tad sketchy! But it also saved us money - but made for a nice start of the day.

LOVED the bathroom - HUGE! Loved the steam shower - was the first time I had ever seen or used one! After walking all day and evening, hiking through the Gorge and Niagara Glenn, doing wine tours, and countless times up and down Clifton Hill - the steam shower (and a glass of wine) was a godsend! The water was always hot, the shower area itself is amazing - all glass and glass door - ceiling to floor! The products they supplied for toiletries were from the Spa - wish now I had of taken advantage of the $25 Spa Certificate! (another freebie and perk included in the price)

Another plus was that it is close to everything and we loved that fact - especially in the evening!) We could walk down to the Falls every night! We could walk to restaurants for lunch and dinner - without the hassle of trying to find a place to park (and the extra costs for that as well).

Concierge service is part of the package and don't be afraid to use this! It is located in the main lobby opposite the front desk. Hotel staff are amazing!

Our room was beautiful! Set up perfect - very clean (except for the stray dust Bunny under the bed) King size bed, working gas fireplace, two sitting areas, ample dresser and closet space, Coffee/beverage area: small fridge to use, sink and counterspace, coffee maker, and all the fixings! Lots of towels and toiletries - and best of all - geared to adults! My husband said it was the most comfortable bed he has ever slept in! Dark wood, hardwood floors, comfortable couch in the one sitting area, and comfortable leather chairs and small glass table in other sitting area up near the window. Nice desk area for laptop - near window as well.

The Inn itself was different - it is a remodled and revamped Milk dairy. Original beams! Original milk bottle as front entrance! (you have to see the pictures!) The restaurant (AG Cuisine) down in the lower level, and attached to the hotel, is cool! Red, black, and silver! We went for drinks on our last evening there. Next time we will have dinner there as it is rated the TOP restaurant in Niagara Falls and region! We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor if at all possible and dont be afraid to use the Concierge service.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CaseyJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night because of its boutique hotel status. We stayed there on a Monday night and we disappointed but a few things. The rooms were pretty nice and well decorated and appointed, nice bathroom but we tried to order room service ( to simply have a cold drink as we settled in) and it was not possible. The restaurant was closed so no room service. We almost left then but were too tired. We ordered the in room breakfast for the next morning and it was very nice. However, it was delivered by a very nice maintenance man ( who sadly needed a change of clothes or a shower, you could literally follow where he been in the hotel through your nose). There was no official bell boy or room service delivery person. Again we thought this was kind of odd. We had planned to stay two nights but decided not too because it just wasn't living up to the moniker of a " boutique hotel". Yes, the neighbourhood was kind of sketchy. FYI - no view of Falls here. Wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Worlddrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Inn & Spa

Address: 5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3S6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $110 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Niagara Falls' only Boutique Hotel the Sterling Inn & Spa is a fusion between a luxury hotel and a Fine Inn. From the tranquility of our full service spa, to our fine dining restaurant AG offering regional cuisine in a cool urban setting, the Sterling Inn & Spa is truly an experience in its self. With amenities and rooms that cater to couples, it is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sterling Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Inn And Spa
Sterling Hotel Niagara Falls
Sterling Niagara Falls
Sterling Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing