We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wolf Lodge”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Port Perry, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Wolf Lodge”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This year is the fifth year in a row that I have had the pleasure of visiting Great Wolf Lodge near Niagara Falls, Canada. In one word, the place is ‘Fantastic’. From the minute you walk in when the big wolf howls you are transformed into a magical land.

The indoor water-park is huge (450,000 litre), with a giant wave pool, six enclosed water-slides soaring above, a raging river filled with see-through inner tubes, a large swimming pool (for safety it is only 4 feet deep), a toddler slide pool and a rope bridge, challenging for even the most athletic of children.

Outside is the giant lagoon pool. A massive swimming pool with basketball hoops, a slide and lots of warm water. Lounge chairs and tables cover the patio and a restaurant is there to fill the empty tummies.

Story time for kids, at 8 pm, puts a peaceful end to the festivities of the day, although the new attraction, the Magic Quest, has kids searching all four floors for clues in a medieval game. There are video terminals and moving pictures, all synced up to individual magic wands. The $250,000 addition has been very successful for Vancouver’s Pattison group, the owners of GWL.

Although it is not cheap, the advantage is that once you are in you can put your wallet away (especially if you but a meal package). The rooms continue the theme of the old west and the mini-golf course is one of the best. Truly a great place for the family. Two adults and one child, one night, with meals, Magic Quest and mini golf: $600 (and that includes the magic wand).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanvanBilsen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,876
    1,737
    733
    269
    199
See reviews for
5,253
44
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
noneya
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a very pricey water park but the kids have a blast AND they are safe in the water. This staff are attentive and the park is well maintained. If parents are patient enough to go around the magic wand stations with the children they really love this too. I agree with another poster that for the price these wands should be included in the rooms for the kids. Having time limits early in the day for check out can cause an issue - how can one get dressed or prepared for the long drive home when the bags are in the car? Not the most comfortable part of the day worrying about how you will get prepared to go home! Bring bits like Halls or tylenol so that you will not have to purchase them for an inflated cost.

Room Tip: Make sure that they are not all the way at the end of the hallways or you have a huge walk to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in a one-bdrm (with a kitchen area) suite with two adults and four kids overnight. Considering that we spent almost $500 for this stay, we expected more guest service. The waterpark itself is fine, but the nickel-and-diming is a real turn-off. I wonder if Great Wolf could take a page from Disney in terms of how to exceed guest expectations. For example:
1) Instead of charging each child for the magic wand activity in the hotel, why not automatically give each youngster one when they arrive? If you stay, you play. Period.
2) Same thing with the fuzzy bear ears headbands. Don't charge $4 for them. Give them to each kid.
3) We were stopped by the pool attendants for nearly walking out the door with a pool towel. They were incredibly rigid about pool towels staying in the pool area. Understandable, sort of, but it felt cheap.
4) When we asked the restaurant for a couple of bowls for cereal we brought with us, we got some heaving sighs and long eye rolls before, with great hesitation, they gave us some. This begs the question: why have a room with a "kitchen" if you're not going to stock it with dishes?
5) No outside food in the pool area. We got busted for eating grapes and, seriously, had to put them away.
6) Our group of six (four kids, two adults) participated in and won a poolside "Name That Tune" contest. The prize was $5 off one child's temporary tattoo. We had four kids with us so, as you can guess, we ended up throwing out that one, useless prize. How about letting all participants get a tattoo? Or, each child in the winning team wins a prize?
Even though our room had a horrible, musty smell, I don't think I would've bothered to write a review. I could've just let that go. However, considering how much we paid, and how many times we were shocked by the lack of guest treatment, I just had to say something.

Room Tip: If you choose the suite with the kitchen, bring your own dishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RWilson820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here twice once with some friends and once with my family. The room was nice a spacious. Even though I requested a room with a balcony we ended up in the basement with a walk out which didn't make me feel very safe ... but not to worry. (I would confirm at the desk what your getting). The water park was great fun but more for younger kids than older kids and as it was in the summer the lines were a little long but that is to be expected. I went out of the hotel to eat as the prices were a little high inside perhaps include 1 meal with the room rate for better money vs value. I liked the concept of the room key as it insured the younger ones didn't lose them and they were easily accessible. One down side was when parking, me and another lady were hassled by a group of younger lads hanging out on their balcony - made me feel a little uncomfortable.
Overall it was a good stay but with a few hickups that's to be expected! Would stay here again with family for sure.

Room Tip: family suite (wolf den) offer a lot of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl1594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially in the arcade and the pizza cafe. The waterpark is fun and clean. We really enjoyed the mini golf course. The food is average at best. The whirlpool room wasn't worth the extra money. The whirlpool is a one person tub and mostly takes up a lot of space in the room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the lowest level (same as waterpark entrance) and it was very convenient to all activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbee201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I never normally fill out these reviews because I never find the time. lol But this stay at the GREAT WOLF LODGE was the best family getaway we have had yet. With the kids going back to school we wanted one last getaway before the kids went back. Well, it was amazing. First of all our room was stunning, the king bed and pull out couch were perfect! The water park as always was our favourite. But a close kids fav was the Magi Quest. Hours of fun, we stayed at the property the whole time. What my husband and I loved the most was the dining room. At most buffets you never know what you are going to get, but this buffet blew it out of the water. My husband had ribs and steak and I have the fish! Delicious! not to mention they even had a healthy quinoa salad, and of course the kids loved making their own sundae's! It was a winner all around, and such a memorable trip! See you next year Great Wolf Lodge!

Room Tip: I have stayed in all types, and all were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at great wolf lodge for one night. The overall experience was great. The hotel is really catered towards kids. They think of everything! For example at the buffet they even have a lower section with plastic plates for the kids to help themselves. Which i thought was fantastic.

Food/restaurants:

The reason why i scored it as very good was because we all got a little sick after eating at the buffet the night we arrived. The food is okay not amazing. The buffet also had great choices for kids like mac and cheese, steamed green beans and carrots, mashed potatoes, chicken nuggets, pizza...etc.

Rooms/suites:

We had the regualr family suite with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa. The room was overall clean and very spacious. Ww really liked the balcony that the room had. It was really nice to be able to sit and enjoy a drink when the kids were asleep. My only complaint was that they didnt have the fridge stocked with water bottles. Which i had to go downstairs to buy in the middle of the night.

Waterpark/ activities for the kids:

Wow, i love the waterpark!, it was big and full of different areas for different age groups. I Have a 16 month and a 2 month old, so the facility was even good for my 16 month old to play. They also have an swim shop, outdoor pool, a drinks bar and a snack shop located inside the waterpark area, which was great because we didnt have to leave the park to eat or if we forgot anything we could always just buy it at the swim shop. The hotel also has great activities fr the kids but my kids were too young to enjoy it.

Overall:

Love the hotel, waterpark and would definety return. I am even thinking about have my sons 2nd birthday there next year. Thr kids will probably benefit more from all the activites in the hotel if they were older and can participate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing