We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of fun but showing its age...”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Stouffville, ON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lot of fun but showing its age...”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our third visit and our kids had a lot of fun. We went mid week and took advantage of a discount code we found on the website so that helped bring the cost down somewhat. It is still a very expensive option for a holiday even with the discounts offered. Factor in food and it becomes even moreso.

Pros:
Lot's for kids to do and enjoy.
Very safe environment with plenty of lifeguards who are (mostly) very attentive
Food was good...not great but good

Cons:
Away from everything in terms of Niagara Falls
VERY expensive for what you get
Meal plans comprehensive but menu is limited...also VERY expensive (IMO)
Features are looking a bit run down...some sprayers not working, things not fully functional. For the money charged, place should be in tip-top shape
Some dissatisfied staff grumbling about poor treatment

Now this isn't the resorts issue but it would be nice if parents didn't take a vacation from supervising their kids when they went away. Plenty of rude unsupervised little darlings running amok throughout the entire place.

If you are able to find a good deal, then Great Wolf is a wonderful place to take the family, especially for the under 13 crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a bit further down from the main lobby or you will hear endless noise from the partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,786
    1,694
    721
    265
    196
See reviews for
5,107
44
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our room was nice and clean and house keeping was consistent on restocking on toiletries and making beds. The staff were also very friendly and approachable. The water park area was probably the highlight of our stay here. There were water rides such as the Niagara Rapids and they even had a wave pool. The buffet here was also great.

Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is our third annual trip to this property, and I am disappointed to say that it seems to be declining in quality. Its still a great place for water-sliding fun, but not as great as it has been in the past.

Pros:
- Beautiful pool area.
- Fun water-slides.
- Very safe (life guards everywhere)
- Clean pool area and waster-slide are.

Cons:
- Expensive
- Very uncomfortable beds--they need to be replaced.
- Rooms were not cleaned well (cereal from previous guest still on the floor).
- Starting to show its age (torn signs, peeling paint, etc.).

Would I go again? Yes, for a good price. Its still great fun for a family. But for the cost, I would expect beds that don't produce back-aches, a fully clean room, and better kept facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogueMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we went boxing day with our three kids ages 1.5, 7 and 9. And they are all different age height categories, which means only being allowed at certain areas of the waterpark. It was a lot of fun for everyone but thank goodness we brought along grandparents and and uncle with us. The water park (and hotel) is so big its hard to keep track of the kids. After finding a table (which was almost impossible), the kids all wanted to disperse to their areas but with 3 kids and you need 3 adults. And luckily we had enough adults to stay with our stuff at the table. We witnessed alot of people moving other peoples things just to get their table.

As for fun...its great! But I prefer a little smaller water park like Americana for the simple fact that you can see all areas from your table.

Other than that...great wolf has excellent rooms... Very big, full kitchens, clean...just too expensive for this girl ;)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crysta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our first trip. If you like water play this is the place to stay. Water is warm and there is enough room in the pools or slides to keep you going all day. Except when the tummy rumbles. It is easy to lose track of the time. Buffet restaurant was the best value for your money, we found. Lots of selection and tasty food to appeal to all appeal to all ages. Bring a budget, as there are neat things to buy as always. Overall it was great. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank WizEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a quick getaway for our family. Its not an amazing value, but there's no where else like Great Wolf Lodge. The atmosphere is very kid-friendly and fun. There's a few things to do (kids club (with or without parent supervision), obviously the waterpark... The room we had had a kitchenette, which is nice to have with small kids. plus you can eat breakfast in the room to cut down on costs. We upgraded to the room with the wolf's den, which the kids loved...The storytime in the lobby is well done too. This is one of our yearly to-do trips.

Room Tip: request a room not too far from the waterpark, or else you'll need a stroller to get young kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The water park was not what I expected. It was satisfactory, but the room was big and clean. The bathroom was small; the sink was located outside the bathroom and the shower certain was dirty. There was visible mold in the bath room. The kids enjoyed their stay. They enjoyed the water park. The slides were fun. After a few hours the excitement decreased. I recommend Great Wolf to families but as a day trip not overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TanishaLiveLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing