We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked a Kid Kamp suite for 2 adults and a 4 yr old. Great room, very special and fun for the little one. She loved relaxing on her bed watching her own tv. The waterpark was great. Wish she was an inch taller to try more slides but there was lots to keep her busy and happy. We bought the meal pkgs which were great. We were very impressed with the food and the service was top notch. The staff in all areas were great especially the lifeguards who took their jobs very seriously, constantly on the move monitoring all areas. We did the MagiQuest but I think it's more for 6yrs and up. The children's entertainment was great. She couldn't get enough of the animated animals and the storytime was perfect for all. The outdoor pool was great and a nice spot to relax before heading out. Go early and enjoy the waterpark and stay late their facilities are great so it isn't a big hassle not to have your room. They even have bathing suit dryers so you don't have to take wet stuff home. Very child oriented but I have 2 suggestions - the rooms need a night light and a stool or lower sink so children can easily wash their hands. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the times you can access the waterpark before and after check in. The theme rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bladegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,073)
There are newer reviews for Great Wolf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,827 - 4,833 of 6,077 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

First off, we purchased this during their '48 hour sale'. It cost $192.90 for one night in a standard room with 2 days of waterpark passes with 2 adults and 2 kids. From what I had read, this was a good price.

We thought it was great to use the waterpark (1pm) before you could check in (4pm). We are local so I thought the price for the dining plan was worth it considering the restaurants in the neighbourhood. Dining plans are $45 for adults and $20 for children. This includes: 1 dinner buffet, 1 breakfast buffet and 1 lunch meal... Read the fine print though because when you go to the restaurant, you'll quickly find out that it would've been cheaper to purchase lunch separately. Especially when the food was ok, but not fantastic.

Our room was beautiful! High ceilings and enough room to sleep 6 in a standard room. You're not allowed to pop popcorn in the microwave but we brought snacks anyways so it wasn't an issue. Make sure to not be on the main floor as the ceilings may be high but they are not sound- proof. Let's face it- this is a children's resort and we spent alot of time listening to children run and jump and scream in the room above us until we finally called front desk and asked them to have the people above us quiet down so our children could sleep.

Around 11pm, someone in the same room above us emptied their bath tub and there was a leak in the pipes. At 2 am, my husband called front desk and they sent us ear plugs.

When we called the next morning to let them know that there must be water damage, front desk offered us to stay until 12pm to 'catch up on sleep'. We were not interested as we had 2 little boys that wanted to go to the waterpark. In retrospect, we should've asked to switch rooms when the noise form the upstairs neighbours was so loud.

The waterpark is amazing! Our children loved it every minute (except for when someone 'fouled' in the pool and they shut it down for an hour). Make sure to try all the slides more than once! Don't forget to shower right after using the waterpark as the pools are heavily chlorinated and it may cause skin dryness and rashes.

Don't forget to bring the kids to story time. It's the thing that's 'free' and they seem to enjoy it.
They offered 'PJ party' and when I asked about it, I was told it was $30 for one child and $15 for the second. It involves pillow colouring, popcorn, juice, VIP seats during story time. We personally decided against it as we were already $350 down and weren't very happy with the food and the room.

Overall, it was good to go, but we wouldn't go again.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better. Not room #1051.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Took the family to great wolf for a short weekend. Had fun, but heres a few issues they need to resolve.
1-mattress in pullout bad was beyond miserable, downright shameful
2-food is awful
3-everything is extra money and overpriced

IMO they would be better suited to keep rates high but deliver better on what you get. My back is still hurting from that mattress.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffery F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

An awesome family friendly hotel, clean and nice rooms, excellent attractions , and great staff.
Only go on sales weeks though, the price is high!! As well as the fun waterpark, the northern lights arcade and the cub club are also excellent. for adult visitors, check out the spa, and kids can get in to, at scoops.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our second year at Great Wolf Lodge and they keep getting better and better. We were 3 adults and 1 toddler (30 months) and this time our daughter enjoyed so much and it was really hard to have her to slow down and relax. We enjoy all the pools and the rides, my daugther loved the slidders and had a blast. We enjoy the fact that there is a pool for every stage of age so we didn't have to worry too much. The reason we loved this place is because it's a very family oriented, we do feel very safe in there since there are lots of staff and they all care about you and your family. Everyone is courteous despite of the hectic/crazy busy weekend and all the other interactions for kids (story time/kids cub and the dancing floor... second to none). It will be hard to go somewhere else with so many attractions and comfortability. We plan to go back every year and hopefully better deals will come for those frequent loyal customers as it's a pricey hotel but we understand why.

Room Tip: This time we asked for a room in the pool floor but they gave us the side we have to go around the g...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Check in is done really fast on a Saturday when we arrived around 3pm, we had the kid camp, the room was huge, high ceilings, we had walk out to this nice sitting area on ground level. You can leave your room in a swimsuit and go to a water park, towels there are complimentary, it’s not overcrowded at all, but there are lineups to go on a big slide. Once you get your wristband they can be setup to charge to your room, there is a snack bar inside the water park, you can buy beer and they only scan your wrist band, that was really cool, no need for wallet and no need for any access card as you use your wrist band to open your room, that was really nice.
We had food vouchers that we used for dinner on Saturday and then breakfast and lunch on Sunday. It was nice to have a options for lunch, you don’t have to leave the water park for lunch at all you can get food from the snack bar, that was really good and the food was good too.
Kids had fun, room was clean and we slept fine and so did the kids on their bunk bed, the top bed is only for kids 8 and over.
Buffet dinner was excellent, breakfast was lots of variety and lunch good too for what is worth :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our third trip to Great Wolf Lodge. We go every other year as birthday presents to our kids, now 8 and 10. After reading many reviews, I have to add some insights and tips to anyone considering GWL. It is expensive, but there are some things that help save. The meal plans are a very good deal, and cost about $45/day for an adult. This includes a breakfast and dinner buffet, and a meal from one of two grills located in the park. The buffets are quite varied, and the wait staff is just awesome. The Paws Pass is a good deal as well. One price includes a craft at Cub Club, a wand and a game for MagiQuest, a 5x7 photo, tokens for the arcade, fudge, plus many other things to keep your kids happy and occupied.
Our check-in was speedy, and the room was ready when we arrived. A suggestion for parents of older kids who can get around easily - avoid the waterpark level rooms. We stayed there the first two times, and although it is easier to access the park, it is noisy, and the rooms are "well used".
This trip we noticed that the park was not as busy and chaotic as usual. We were told that June and September are usually the slowest months. We plan to return again during these months! We have never had an issue with cleanliness or hospitality. Everyone we encountered has been smiley, helpful, and so nice!
Only one complaint - Our bed was directly beside the air conditioner. We had to place a chair beside it so that it wouldn't blow directly on us and freeze us out!
Remember this is a family resort geared to kids. It will be noisy and chaotic. But for us, that's half the fun.

Room Tip: Families with younger kids will want a waterpark level room. It's easier to access the resort...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concert_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#32 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $226 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing