We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family, plus son's friend, went to GWL this weekend for our son's 9th birthday, and had a fantastic time. Despite warnings that we'd never get a room before 4pm, we arrrived early at 12:30 pm, walked in the lobby, registered (I had pre-registered online which helped speed things up) and were actually in our room within 15 minutes. We were in the waterpark before 1:30 pm. The waterpark was spotless and a lot of fun. The treehouse was excellent and the kids spent ages in there with all the water sprayers. The main slide was broken, but was fixed by the next morning.
Our room was also spotless and the kids loved their separate area as we'd booked the Wolf Den room as part of our son's surprise. As many have said on here, the air conditioning was noisy, but we brought earplugs and had no trouble sleeping and we are light sleepers.
Probably the biggest hit of the weekend was the Magiquest game. Huge thanks to Paul, in the Magiquest Cottage, as he was not only helpful, but also very friendly and funny. Over the entire 2 days, we must have spent over 4.5 hours running around the hotel making treasure chests open and getting pictures to talk to us. We were exhausted by Sat night! The arcade was a bit expensive, but still a lot of fun. The buffet dinner was really yummy, as was the breakfast buffet. Some people on here have said the buffets didn't have much healthy food, but we found lots of healthy (and some yummy not-so-healthy) food and all was delicious. We appreciated the chefs coming out personally to us to tell what was safe due to our son's nut allergy. Was it an expensive weekend? You bet! But we knew that going in, and we weren't bombarded with any surprise bills or charges, plus there were lots of things we could have done to cut costs if we'd wanted to. As our son said, "Best Birthday EVER!" Thank you GWL!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Magiquest game due to the crowds and noise. We were on the ground (2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,415
    1,572
    647
    248
    173
See reviews for
4,519
41
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked because my children wanted to go to the water park and so we went over a long weekend. I didn't check beforehand and so had no idea what I was booking. I didn't realise that this is the sort of place where they wish you "a great wolf day" all the time. This becomes incredibly annoying after about half an hour.

However, once we were over that we found that the room was sizeable and comfortable. We had a family suite which contained two queen sized beds and was adequate for us. There was sufficient drawer and wardrobe space and a nice seating area with a sofa and coffee table. The room contained coffee making equipment and a good sized fridge. The bathroom was small but this was not a problem. We were on the ground floor (confusingly called the 2nd floor) and we would recommend trying to get a room higher up as it was quite noisy with people coming and going to the lobby area.

The hotel has a fitess room which contains some cardio equipment and some weight machines but no free weights.

Food at the hotel was in the "mass catering" style which was disappointing given the proximity to some of Ontario's finest and freshest produce. We did manage to find some salad and healthy options but the menus were very much focused around children. The buffet meals represented good value for money (in terms of quantity) but we had to travel out to secure quality.

The main attraction of the hotel is the water park. There are a number of inside pools with water chutes and an outside pool. Rather incredibly, though, with all these pools there are none that you can actually swim in as they are all odd shapes, filled with toys, too shallow or too crowded with people playing ball. A pool for adults to do laps would have been a great idea as the kids spent all day on the chutes. Also slightly less chlorine in the pools would have been useful. The smell of chlorine was overpowering and led to skin irritation on my son although admittedly he had been in the pool all day.

In summary, don't expect too much of a grown up break and you'll be fine. There are hundreds of wineries in the surrounding area in which to take refuge.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnsonsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is our second trip this year, but I decided to review again because it is our first time visiting in the summer (after 4 visits during the winter months). Because we only live an hour away, GWL is a perfect mid winter getaway, but we had an opportunity to visit on Labour Day weekend at a great rate with friends, so we decided to go for it.

I'm now a believer in the summer visit! We grabbed poolside seats and made them our base. Nice to soak up the "end of summer sun". The kids spent lots of time in the outdoor pool, but also used the buddy system to enjoy the inside. Even at its deepest, the pool is only about 4 ft or so, so our 7.5 and 9.5 year olds had safe fun in it. The outside has a fun atmosphere ... music, games for the kids, etc. There is a bar outside serving fun bevvies too. The menu has some items that are more interessting for adults ...fish tacos, etc (although I wish they were an option on the meal plan).

It was Labour Day Sat, so the hotel was sold out. It was busy and there were lines, but honestly, it was not bad. And hey, if we had gone to any attraction (Wonderland, Marineland) or any outdoor waterpark, there would have also been lines. Despite how busy it was, we checked in at about 1:15 PM and our room wasn't ready ... but by the time we parked, we got a text that it was ready! Impressive! So we unloaded the car, got into our room and then headed for the waterpark!

We decided to get the meal plan this time. We figured we needed to buy dinner and lunch anyway, so we paid a little bit more and got breakfast. (The kids get so excited about the breakfast buffet!). The kids plan is definitely good value at $20 + tax (because dinner and lunch would be about $17). The dinner choices were better than when we were there in Feb (beef was back! Although a little overcooked). Breakfast is good ... I love a breakfast buffet, but you can only eat so much. LIke I said, I think the fish tacos etc should be an option on the meal plan. I found the service in the restaurants to be particularly attentive and friendly this time, despite how busy it was.

For us, we focus on the waterpark .... we don't go to kids club or mini golf or spa or anything. We are all about the water!

The only tiny negatives... the washrooms in the waterpark needed a little more attention this trip.

So this was another great trip to GWL. Good family fun. We enjoy our time with our kids here. It was fun for all of us being with another family too.

Room Tip: We like to be on the lobby level. IN the summer, ask for poolside .... fun to look down on all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sls_ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

What more can I say? From the moment you arrive at the front door, you are amazed! The staff is wonderful, they greet you with a smile the whole time you're there. From the water slides, lazy river, restaurants, to the sleep I've ever had in any hotel, this place beats them all. Will definitely be back...soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Habstothetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Kids had a great time. Unfortunately we didn't know about this game which takes several hours to complete. Will have to try this the next time.

Helpful?
Thank Oiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had an amazing experience at the Lodge! Our children 4ys,2ys and 4months had a blast! Our 4 year old was very impressed with the slides and rides and there was lots for the 2year old to do too! (mom and the little one enjoyed the lazy river...alot) - the family ride - Wolly Mammoth was awesome! There was so much to do outside of the park too - mini putt, arcade, cub club activiites (painting, colouring a tshirt, playing toys...) & of course Storytime and Breakfast with the Mascot were a hit! The staff we encountered were super friendly! The lifeguards were very attentive - and were extrememly helpful to our young children when they were doing the kid slides! It was a jam packed stay - but also relaxing for mom and dad! There was never any worry about what to do next! Our room was very clean, and even with a family of 5 (including the infant and his gear) the room was spacious and bright! This has quickly become a new Holiday Tradition for us!

Room Tip: we will look at doing the themed suites as the kids get bigger - they looked awesome! and provide a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahMarieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Kids resort at its best! Very impressed with GWL. Meal, accommodation, souvenir and spa costs are high but we had a great experience. Went with very young family and there was enough for 2 year old son to to in the water park but he would have benefited more if he was a little older. Also enjoyed the arcade with his dad. Meals were decent without the meal plan - pizza was good. Had 2 services done at the spa and the staff was excellent. Nice, large rooms with high ceilings and jacuzzi tub was pleasant. Hope to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
2.8 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Groupon and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing