We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent waterpark! (just a bit expensive!)”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We were at the GWL in NF in July 2010. The hotel is excellent, the water park is just amazing. They have several slides, pools for little ones, from babies to toddlers (like our son!). They do provide life vests for them, so we don't have to purchase one to take there! Bathrooms for the waterpark were very clean too. The waterpark is excellent, enyone would have lots of fun there. The entire decoration of the hotel is beautiful, very impressive!
The room we stayed at was also spotless clean, we had a standard room with a balcony, we stayed at the 3rd floor. Had a nice view, specially in the mornings, very pleasants and relaxing, most of all!!!


Also, the hot water pool/jacuzzi for adults is amazing. VERY relaxing!!

And they also have a kid's club for the children, with supervised activities and everything. Our son loved it very much. The room is very big and spacious and they provide everything for the activities, toys,etc etc..

I guess the only "not so good" thing about them is that the price of the food there is a little expensive, specially if you're on a budget. So having breakfast, lunch and dinner can add up. We had all breakfasts there and lunches too. For dinner, we went out to NF, places like the Antica Pizzeria which is just excellent.We also visited the Applebes there. So it was not too expensive, better than having all 3 meals, all days at the hotel. Plus we had the chance to go out in NF too which is always very pleasant and nice, at anytime!!!

The Staff is friendly too, we had no troubles. Just wished they had more lines open for check-ins, since it does get busy, and almost eveyone is travelling with small children!!

We do recomment GFL to everyone. It is worthy. Just plan ahead, save some money and go. Enjoy the place and the stay!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,109 - 6,115 of 6,654 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

If you're looking for a no-brainer escape with the kids, then this is your nirvana. This place is essentially a sealed unit of waterpark, dining, and other activities that's ideal for the kids. Once you've arrived, there's no real need to go elsewhere, but it does come at a price.

It's a good place to go if the weather is crummy during the winter or spring. In our case, it was during several days of constant rain and dreary weather, so it matched up well. The benefit of an indoor waterpark is that there's no sunburn, sand in the crotch, or bugs to swat....but, again, it does cost quite a bit so be sure to pack a lot of fun into your stay.

INCLUSIVE PACKAGE
We took the "Inclusive" package that had included three meals daily (breakfast buffet, lunch [limited selections of combos at given locations], and buffet dinner), mini golf, arcade tokens, a craft (t-shirt/ beach bag colouring) and a stuffed animal for each child (a panda bear). Any alcohol for the adults is extra, as well as any drinks or snacks outside of the designated dining times (a note: Disney provides snacks in their meal plans). Any spa activities for kids or parents is quite dear to the pocketbook as well.

ROOM
The "Wolf Den" room we selected was a great hit. A sort of pseudo-private room for the kids, within the greater room, was painted with young wolf characters and some scenery, and the exterior walls were decorated as well. A small window, besides the open doorway, provide a clubhouse feel which was completed by their own television and remote. A couple of peeks into the other rooms showed that the other themed kid rooms were basically the same, save for the fancy paint job. The room itself was clean and quite nice, with enough outlets for our laptops and gadgets/chargers. The bathroom was small, but you're not really there that much anyway. A nice touch is the small room safe to store your wallet, etc.

THE PROGRAM
There is a certain peace of mind that comes when surrendering yourself to the GWL, but you don't actually have to drink the Koolaid and say "Have a Great Wolf day!" as the staff does. The mood is almost always upbeat and "can do" with the staff, though they are also motivated to provide exemplary service in the hopes of getting one the two stickers that guests are given upon arrival. Once you're "with the program" for the kids you'll understand that a costumed character (like Wiley the wolf) will be at breakfast at 8am, then a 9am program in the lobby, and another at 10am ...then you're likely to the waterpark to try to claim a lucky few lounge chairs still available, then grabbing lunch to go about noon, followed by more waterpark activities, maybe some mini golf or craft, clean up with a shower, dinner, some arcade time, then stories in the lobby at 8pm....and to bed after 8:30pm....phew!

So hopefully everyone's kids crash easily (thank you waterpark exhaustion!), then the adults can surf the free WiFi (thank goodness for that inclusive at least)...but at about 9-9:30pm ALL the adults are beginning to do the same, so the system can really bog down.

WRISTBANDS
You're issued a wristband with a small chip in it, which becomes your room key, so there's no reason to carry anything of value around when you visit the waterpark.

TWO NIGHTS MAX
We spent two nights there, and would think that the maximum we'd ever stay, as it all becomes rater repetitious. There's really only so much waterpark time you want/need, and by the third day we were really tiring of it (the noise is constant there), even with coasting along on the lazy river it can be stressful (there were always too many empty tubes allowed to float around and they'd cause jams at certain points).

FOOD
The food is really pretty good at the buffets, as you can choose from so much and they try to vary the menu day-to-day. The inclusive lunch kind of lacks, as it's geared to fast food only and has limited selections. As mentioned, anything outside of the package will cost you - a coffee will be about $3, a pint of beer will be about $8, and a burger combo meal will be about $11.

ONE KID VS TWO KIDS
The price for the room and the "Inclusive" package is the same if you have one or two kids....so if you select two children in the online booking, but really only have one, you'll still get those second extra coupons for everything! (not that anyone is telling you to lie to them or anything like that, of course).

STAFF
As previously mentioned, the staff is generally great. They do truly try to be upbeat and deal with exceeding your expectations.

NOISE
Be prepared for sensory overload from the moment you step in the door. A wolf's howl will greet you, then the various animals (and talking tree) will be in constant motion and non-stop chatter in the lobby. The waterpark is constantly noisy with the pumping water, screams of kids, and the clanging of a bell warning of dumping water. You should sometimes step outside and just revel in the quietness. Really.

SMALL COMPLAINT
The first night we had some maintenance workers show up just before 10pm in the area below our balcony. With the window open, their generator / pumping device was incredibly loud as the noise bounced around the walls of the building (our room faced the back towards the waterpark exterior, which we initially thought good, since the forward-facing rooms overlooked the parking lot with cars coming and going). A call to the desk got results in about 15 minutes (or they were done anyway), and the next morning we were offered a room change, but didn't need to as there was no more work to do.

LIKE A CRUISE
If you can resign yourself to doing everything in one building, and having everything pre-package, then this is for you. We were done by the end, and ready to just drive around wine country and do a little sampling afterwards... a different pace to soothe the overstimulated mind....aaaaahhhhh... then back home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We got an inclusive package and were greatful we did! It covered three meals for 5 of us and a round of minigolf. The kids got tokens , a stuffed animal and a craft which wascolouring a Tshirt , pillowcase or beach bag. All for under $200. The hotel was clean and very attractive. staff were fantastic and super friendly! The food was really good and lots of choices in both the dinner and breakfast buffet. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ge the inclusive package!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benji1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Our stay at the wolflodge in niagara falls was amazing.The hotel was very clean and well kept.We have stayed at other wolflodges in michigan and virginia and the niagara falls location is by far the best only draw back was location a little to far from main tourism areas.Kids loved it !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinoboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

It was our daughter's 13th birthday and we rented a suite for her and 3 friends and us in the loft. Room was nice enough. Main problem was we were not interested in the waterpark. Actually because of my eyesight, I can't really do anything in the waterpark other than go into a pool or too but with so many people, that's a really unpleasant experience. My wife and I were hoping that we could find something else to do while the girls were having fun. This place literally has nothing for the parents not engaged directly with children. The small bar in the lobby is attached to the buffet-only restaurant so it's impossible to have a snack and a drink in quiet. Only place that has such a service is inside the water park where it's really hot, humid, and noisy. It was our first beautiful spring day and we wanted to have coffee on a nice patio somewhere. There is zero seating outside other than a few benches at the miniput. The hot tub can only be accessed through the water park which closes at 9pm. i.e. no way to relax after a stressful day ... and believe me this place can generate a lot of stress. The food is clearly aimed at little kids as everything was grossly under seasoned and incredibly bland ... and not to mention horribly expensive. In the end, this was entirely our fault as we chose a water park but we didn't think that the assumption of some faciltities catering to 8 year olds would be that much out of line.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I just came back from the Great wolf Lodge in Niagara Falls, Canada. This was my second visit. I have to say, the waterpark is great. That is the whole reason we went here. It was my brothers birthday and he wanted to do his party at the G.W.L. We, Niagara Falls residences then went and booked a Kid Cabin room for my father, my brother, his three friends and I. The room was pretty cool, you had a cabin in the room for three kids, though my brother and his three friends, squeezed into the cabin. My dad snagged the bed, and I was left on the pull out. It was uncomfortable, but for a family of five, this shouldn't be a problem. To get to your room may be a bit of a hike from the lobby. (which has a talking bear moose and tree who tell stories at night). The service was very average, no one really was very peppy and excited as i would have thought for employees of a "kid resort". The waterpark was amazing, like an attraction within a city full of attractions. By the way if you book one night you get two days at the waterpark. the location is okay, about a seven or eight minute drive to the falls. This is okay, but I've noticed that it could take less time to WALK to the falls from certain fallview hotels like the Embassy Suites which is RIGHT in front of the falls. All in all, this is a nice resort for a nice family weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The room is big, a double bed, a sofa bed and a bunk bed. The children like their little sleep area, the wolf den, with painting of wolves and a small TV / play station (at extra cost). The room can be pretty far from the check-in.

The water park is not very big, may be slightly bigger than Fall View Water Park in the same area. The locker area and change room is not clean and can be messy. The normal price is also pretty expensive. There is promotion from time to time off the peak season.

There was a meal deal, breakfast, lunch and dinner for $50 (adult). The breakfast and dinner buffet is good. But for lunch, you can only choose a packed sandwich, salad or pizza and a pop.

The atmosphere is good throughout the self contained facility. The staff is friendly. The facility is geared to young children, with story time at night. There is a craft room children can paint a T shirt and other things, most at an extra cost. The hotel is not adjacent to Niagara Falls tourist area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwin_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
2.4 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#33 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 3950 Victoria Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 7M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $228 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Great Wolf Lodge, expect to be amazed and amused. Situated close to awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the entire Lodge is designed to capture the spirit of adventure and the atmosphere of the great Northwood's. The Northern theme inspires everything from the spectacular stone fireplace and timber in the five-story Grand Lobby to the cabin-like comfort and decor of our all-suite guest rooms. The Lodge features an indoor/outdoor waterpark of over 100,000 square-feet; an 18-hole interactive miniature golf course; Ten Paw Bowling Alley; our 7,000 sq. Ft. Northern Lights Arcade, including a ticket redemption center; MagiQuest, interactive adventure game; Elements Spa & Salon and Scoops Kid Spa. Five themed restaurants, including a confectionary cafe and Northwood's Pizza. We assure your stay will be a howling great time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Niagara Falls
Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing