We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hiking with some great views”

Niagara Glen Nature Areas
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.95*
and up
Niagara Falls Rainbow Tour with New York Pickup
Certificate of Excellence
Parkton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice hiking with some great views”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my favorite thing to do on our trip. Lots of good exercise and scenery to see. You probably would not want to do this if you are in poor shape or have bad knees. It is a vertical hike. Lots of going up and down. We were actually hoping the trail would be longer and would go all the way to the whirlpool area.

I have to say that this place was kind of hard to find as there was no address for it. The Bing map that is on this page will take you in the opposite direction than where it really is. I guess that is why Bing plays second fiddle to Google. After driving way far out the way (past the town of Chippawa) and not seeing it, I decided to ask a local policeman where it was. It was completely in the opposite direction from our hotel than where it appears on Bing maps. It is close to the Butterfly exhibit if that helps. Don't listen to Bing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    136
    17
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, New York, USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great little nook”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Put on your hiking boots and go on the paths. They are not built as tourist friendly - it is truly hiking trails with awesome nature, rock formations, trees, and of course the river rapids. Park also has picnic areas, and a hands on nature center in the welcome center.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Shhh! there is a secret here.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stop where the building and parking lot say Niagara Glen. Walk over to the stone wall and enjoy the view of the Niagara Gorge. Look across the river to see the geological history of Niagara Falls. For the adventurous and fit people, there are stairs to the east that will take you right down to the Niagara River with clearly defined trails.See endangered trees like the Red Mulberry.
Two words of warning: the water level can change rapidly as they change the flow of water for making electricity and this is not a hike for a person not in good shape.
The hydro electric generating station is just down the road and runs tours daily.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BeanCounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family hiked this last April! It is as beautiful as the falls!!! Can't wait to go back! The river and area is beautiful to hike in! My husband and I and our two sons twelve years and 15 years really enjoyed it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank huneck111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven hidden in the city”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just on outskirts of city is this wonderful hidden away area. Take the time to drive through it or make a picnic and enjoy. Love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank leer850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niagara Glen Nature Areas also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Niagara Glen Nature Areas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing