We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird Kingdom

Bird Kingdom
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.64*
and up
Bird Kingdom All Day Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 4x Winner of Niagara Falls' "Attraction of the Year" Award, A world class tropical adventure, located in Niagara Falls, Ontario, is the largest free-flying indoor aviary in the world. More than 400 birds make their home in this multi-level rainforest setting nestled in a building which has housed some of the area's top attractions of the past. A 40-foot waterfall, tropical plants, and hundreds of birds from around the world put on a show for the public. Many of the 80 species of birds living at Bird Kingdom are endangered or threatened in the wild.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is housed in an old factory. There are several different kinds of birds. We were greeted as we walked in by talking and turned out to be a parrot. Went through the long aisles full of birds. This is a great photo opportunity. They even had birds you could hold and get your photo in the process. Last stop was the gift shop which I must add was very well done and something for everyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lh14616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,365
    708
    228
    56
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birds all over plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Somewhat like the biodome in Montreal but in a church like building with mostly tropical birds and a few reptiles. The animals are well treated, some birds will imitate other animals, others will follow you or fly right by your head but not aggressively. You can take the time you want, as many picture as you want, just not flash photos and even come back as long as the stamp on your hand stays on.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benoit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“love the lorakeet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not as big as we thought can do the whole attraction in 1.5 this included the feeding of the Lorakeets which is a must. The walk around the bird enclosures is very pleasant and staff are always there to answer any questions you might have. Is worth a visit on a rainy day. Claire and Christopher Sharp

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interactive fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This indoor rainforest setting is FULL of many colourful species, providing many photos opportunities. Feeding the lorikeets should not be missed!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Make time for it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Liked: the number of birds, the turtle that walks around like a dog, the freedom of touring, the main aviary, the guides and their interaction with the maccaws and turtle
Disliked: THE SMELL!, the broken floor tiles, the age of everything

Overall it was completely worth the price of entry ($14) but we got there at 4:30 so were only there for an hour. We would have spent more time there if we could have. I felt too rushed, so make sure you have about 2 hours or so to really enjoy it. We had done so much walking already that we were very tired for this experience. Do it first, maybe?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissLynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bird Kingdom also viewed

 

Been to Bird Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing