We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Park Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 68 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We enjoyed our weekend honeymoon at Park Place from the beginning. I had emailed Carolyn that we would be arriving late morning, and she agreed with our request to park there for the day. On arrival we stopped in to let them know our vehicle was in the parking area, and we were pleasantly surprised to learn that our room was already prepared and we could move in right away. This saved us from having to return from our "touristing" to check in later in the day and was much appreciated. Gary gave us a brief orientation and we were on our way.

Gary and Carolyn were wonderful and gracious hosts, and frequently made helpful suggestions. We chose to have breakfast each morning in the dining room (could also have had it in our room) in part so we could talk with them and plan the day out. Carolyn is full of many stories from her travels and teaching days, and we enjoyed hearing them and sharing some of our own.

We had the Prince of Wales room, which is large and spacious on the second floor of the main house. It was very comfortable and included a nice LCD TV, stereo, fireplace, and large closet. The bathroom included a nice sauna, jetted tub, and shower, and was well laid out. It's obvious that Gary and Carolyn have used their 26 year experience running this B&B to make frequent improvements so that it's very comfortable. Everything was maintained well and kept clean.

Breakfast was very well done with a good set of choices, and presentation was wonderful. We left each meal very satisfied with both the food and the company, including their beautiful golden retriever Brandy.

There's a nice basket of menus near the front door to help sort through the many restaurants in the area, both in the tourist area near the falls and in the more civilized old downtown nearer the house. It would have been helpful if each was labeled with the address and phone number of the restaurant, but it was a good start anyway.

The location is quite nice, directly across from the river and just a mile from the Maid of the Mist, so one can get to and from the major attractions with just a reasonable amount of walking. With the beautiful leaves this time of year and the prospect of a growing view of the falls as we drew near, we enjoyed the walk - but a bit less on the way back in the October chill. The street seems to be quite secure, so we had no worries about safety. I expect it would be very busy in the summer. The Canadian side definitely provides a better view of both falls than the American side, so I'm glad we chose to stay on that side.

Value was good as prices were in line with other B&Bs in the area, even those with much more mixed ratings. Be careful when you look on the web that you don't accidentally pull up the B&B with the same name on the New York side (this one is parkplaceniagara.com).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSkies500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Park Place Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

The owners are very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the lovely Carriage House and it more than met our needs for the 2 nights we stayed there.
Breakfast was delicious and the option to enjoy it in your room is very unique and a great idea.
We would definately stay again.

Thanks Carolyn and Gary

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balfoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed in the carriage house for 2 nights. We arrived early, at 10:30am, hoping we could just park our car and return later for check-in, but Gary invited us to go right in to the room as it was ready and vacant. I thought this was very generous. He got us sorted about where to go and we were off on the sightseeing. Had a nice lunch at the crepe bistro on Queen St. We used the people mover for 2 days and found it invaluable - Niagara Falls is a big area to walk around in and we preferred not to drive into the falls area due to quite high parking charges and the fact that we didn't have any Canadian money!
The B&B is situated on River Rd which has a long stretch of B&Bs. From the outside anyway this looked one of the nicest, and the gardens are wonderful. It is quite far from the Falls though, we were glad of the people mover but as it stopped around 8:30pm we walked back one night about 10pm and my husband got hit by an unripe peach thrown from a speeding car! So it is quite a long and deserted walk back.
The hosts have been running this B&B for many years and they are great at giving good info about where to go. They have plenty of time for you.
With it's separate entrance the Carriage House afforded a lot of privacy and space, quietness, but it is not as nicely decorated as the bedrooms in the main house (but we knew that).
Pros: King size bed with good quality nicely ironed sheets, plentiful thick towels changed every day, breakfast brought up on trays at your requested time, breakfast very tasty and huge. Carriage House has a full kitchen with a stocked supply of caff and decaff teabags and coffee, and hot chocolate. It was great to be able to relax with a drink. So glad we chose the quiet B&B instead of a hotel in the main tourist area of Niagara Falls, which is very hectic and loud.
Carolyn & Gary were very personable and relaxed and I would enjoy returning to stay here again.
Cons: WiFi was unreliable reception. Carriage House could do with a deep cleaning in the corners!
My favorite thing: Maid of the Mist was great. Had the 4 attraction pass and this was the best thing by far.
nb: just in case anyone else got confused while web browsing (as I did) - there is another Park Place B&B that is on the New York side of Niagara Falls - don't get them mixed up or you might be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasS'Cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Enjoyed some much needed rest and relaxation from Thursday-Sunday at the Park Place Bed and Breakfast.

Located about one mile from Niagara Falls (Canada side). It's one of the largest and by far the prettiest B&B along River Road. Suzanne (the regular innkeepers were on vacation) was friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts are phenomenal--don't miss the stuffed french toast with cream cheese and apricot jam.

Stayed in the Prince of Wales suite. Very spacious room, comfortable large king bed, flat screen television with DVD player, large Jacuzzi tub, shower, small sauna, fireplace (never used since it was warm in early September) and private balcony. Breakfast on the private balcony was a real treat.

We usually drove in, parked for about $12-15, and enjoyed walking around the Falls. We were able to do the Maid of the Mist, Cave of the Winds, lunch at the Jordan House, three wineries in the Jordan area, and afternoon tea at the Twenty Valley Tea House ... all in one day! Do the Maid of the Mist and Cave of the Winds early, starting around 9:45am--less crowds and no waiting in line.

If you are looking for a romantic, cozy, and conveniently located place to stay in Niagara Falls, don't miss this gem. If I find myself here again, I would no doubt stay at the Park Place.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Excellent B&B with wonderful owners who make you feel like you are their best friends. We enjoyed the inn and of course Niagara Falls, but it may have been the owners that were our favorite part of the visit. Wonderfully nice couple who make you feel at home and serve you like you are VIPs.

I would say this is the best B&B we ever stayed at of the over 30 inns we have visited.

Visit this Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We felt as if we were visiting friends from the moment we arrived. The house itself, a lovely grand victorian. we had a great 3 day stay. Our elderly parents were with us and had never stayed in a B&B before but enjoyed it thoroughly. Breakfast out on the porch was great! Our accommodations were clean and inviting. I have nothing negative to say. I would not hesitate to recommend Park Place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagey0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

This is our second stay at Park Place Bed & Breakfast....and like our first just wonderful. My husband & I celebrated our 17th anniversary and had the best time ever. we stayed in the carriage house and are already trying to put dates together to stay again this fall with our daughter. Our breakfast was delivered to our room every morning with fresh cut flowers, lemons for our water. a lot of little personal touches that leaves lasting impressions. (also they are organic; so if your wondering about breakfast just note your getting top quality food.) You can tell this couple enjoy working with each other and love the people that come to stay with them. if your looking at booking Park Place note...don't go any further you just found the best~!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammygalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.2 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 68 in Niagara Falls
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton on the Falls
Sheraton on the Falls
#7 of 128 in Niagara Falls
7,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 68 in Niagara Falls
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 68 in Niagara Falls
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4851 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $177 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a blend of old world charm with contemporary comforts in this beautifully restored, Queen Anne Revival heritage estate. Two elegant in-house suites, plus a separate spacious, private Carriage House -Features: king beds, spa baths, full breakfasts from a menu enjoyed in the suite or by candlelight in the main dining room, and concierge assistance- self-directed wine tours with complimentary tastings- are part of the experience. Extra services can be ordered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Place Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing