We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull stress reliever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Place Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 69 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I can really only reiterate the good things others have had to say. My wife had scheduled a stressful exam afte rweeks of stufying and so we decided to get away for a quick weekend as the exam was saturday morning. the purpose was really to de-stress rather than do a lot of touring and this was only an hour fromour home. The Location and home are beautiful and the hosts outstanding. We were thrilled to find the room as advertised with a working fireplace. Within minutes my wife had the jaccuzi tub filling and I had the fire going so she could relax in the tub. A cold glass of wine, some cheese and fruit in the tub with a book was nirvana for her (of course i snuck in a few minutes watching the ticat game LOL). The tub was followed by the ensuite dry sauna then a nap before dinner. Our host recommended a local restaurant "The Syndicate". When she said it was a brew pub and we would get a three course dinner for $20 I was leery. I mean what can you expect for that? The food was tremendous. I am a brit and find few places do lamb well but the "duo of lamb" (some braised shank as well as two crusted pieces from a rack of lamb) was remarkable. My wifes nice thick piece of salmon was prepared perfecty (another dish often overcooked). Bread pudding with apple and creme de brule for desert were excellent. Remarkable food for a remarkable price coupled with a tasting flight of 4 of the beers produced on site for 4.75? They even had an appropriate pumpkin beer given that it is halloween :-).

The breakfast was very good and would have been truly excellent except for our own silliness in putting down for an 8:15 breakfast and then thinking it was 8:50. Our host kindly came up to remind us. I like to cook and understand that timing is important and its frustrating when you prepeare something special and then have to hold for a latecomer. This time we were the latecomers. Our host never mentioned it and the food was still very good and well presented. We should have taken advantage of an unusualotion. You can have your breakfast brought to your room :-).
The B&B itself is right across from the low stone wall overlooking the Niagara gorge and if you wish you walk along the beautiful recreational trail along the gorge to the falls themselves in about 20 minutes. It's not the cheapest B&B in Naigara by any means but if you understand Value rather than Price you will truly enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miketr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 207 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place is wonderful! Gary and Carolyn have owned and run this place themselves for over 30 years. They are some of the nicest people we've ever met and the location made it easy to get to everything quickly. The owners were very accommodating and helpful with suggestions and directions. The breakfasts were brought right to the room and they were delicious. The private balcony was lovely and the grounds are extremely well kept. Jacuzzi tub and dry sauna in the room was a big plus. Room was very clean! Absolutely no curfew or rules that you can encounter with some b&bs. I hope we make it back for another stay. I truly would not stay anywhere else in niagra falls. Also we toured the area thoroughly and this yellow brick Victorian was by far the most spectacular looking place to stay. It is a nice break from the big hotels in the main tourist areas just a few blocks away. One note of caution, when you book make sure you don't get it confused with the park b&b on the America side or you will likely be disappointed. I have zero complaints about this stay. I can't even offer any suggestions for improvement. It was the perfect getaway. Lovely and relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catapillargirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent our 30th anniversary here for the weekend and it was great! It was close to everything, just a mile or so, but also far enough away that you felt like you could get some peaceful relaxation. We spent most of our time on the run (since we only had the weekend) but whenever we asked for ideas of places to eat or enjoy, Our host was there to offer all sorts of choices and directions. We love hearing where the locals go also.
Carolyn and Gary, our hosts, were great. The choices of breakfasts we had were delicious. We each tried the quiche one day, it was very good!! The french toast was great also! We love the fact that they give you the choice of where to eat your breakfast, in your room or in the dining room or on the porch. We chose to eat in our room since we were trying to get ready to go out as soon as we could since we had so little time. It was prepared right on time and was a very nice set up on the trays, with juice and muffins or croissants before and then breakfast soon after that.
We had a great time and it was a cool looking house, like a castle. We stayed in the Queen Anne suite and it was very nice. It has a view onto River Rd which is cool although one window is mostly obstructed by the dresser. but it was still a nice view. and you can walk across the street and look over into the gorge which is really nice!
We hope to go back again soon and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, in fact that will be the first place we look at!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybug881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Carolyn and Gary (owners) were amazing! They gave us so many helpful suggestions on how to spend our trip. They graciously provided maps for any place in the area, and supplied us with coupons for nearby restaurants and wine tours. We had our delicious breakfast delivered to our room each morning which we brought out to our private balcony. We stayed in the Prince of Wales Suite, which was everything they said it would be, and more. The house itself is beautiful and charming. A very lovely and romantic place for a couple. Being greeted by Brandy, their friendly golden retriever, each morning was a nice treat. We can't wait to go back and this is the only place we'll ever stay in Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This B&B is a hidden gem, Carolyn and Gary were very hospitable and they recommended us to some very good restaurants and attractions.We stayed in the Queen Anne suite very spacious and romantic, the breakfast in the morning on the veranda was outstanding.We are looking forward to our next visit to Park Place Tom & Tammy , from Toronto.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I found this B&B based on its Tripadvisor ranking and I don't think I can really add more than what has already been said about this place. The owners were very accommodating and tried there best to ensure you had a great stay. I would highly recommend this place to others and will be sure to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peedster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Can't really give this higher reviews than already exist here, but then that' how we found this delightful B&B in the first place!

We stayed over the 100+ year old "horse & Carriage" house adjacent to the main quarters. The Bed was way comfy, very large quarters with kitchen - great if you need some extra room and want to create meals.

You are able to "choose" where you eat breakfast, and we were outside under a sort-of portico share - delightful. The meal was sublime and I won't take away their secrets except to say "try the stuffed French Toast at least once, it's to die for"

This property is actually a pretty easy walk down to all the hustle & bustle of the main falls area. It's perched right on the bluff (along River Road) overlooking the gorge with a view back into the states. Parking available, and easy roadway access north to the Niagara on the Lake area.

Ask lot's of questions, the hosts will give you plenty of ideas. Stop in to the winery (we liked Reiff) and you might want to go see the Lake Boats up and down the Welland Canal.

Again, I can't really say more than has already been mentioned. Thanks to Park Place for a wonderfull visit to Canada.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCDaddy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 69 in Niagara Falls
773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Niagara Grandview Manor
Niagara Grandview Manor
#9 of 69 in Niagara Falls
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Absolute Elegance Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
Always Inn Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 69 in Niagara Falls
392 reviews
3.1 mi away
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 69 in Niagara Falls
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4851 River Rd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $125 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a blend of old world charm with contemporary comforts in this beautifully restored, Queen Anne Revival heritage estate. Two elegant in-house suites, plus a separate spacious, private Carriage House -Features: king beds, spa baths, full breakfasts from a menu enjoyed in the suite or by candlelight in the main dining room, and concierge assistance- self-directed wine tours with complimentary tastings- are part of the experience. Extra services can be ordered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Place Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing