We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americana Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americana Resort
Ranked #36 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
North Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

(Actual travel time was January 2007). We just returned from a mini get-away to the Americana Resort. After reading some of the reviews, I was terrrified! I am sorry some people had such horrible experiences however, this just wasn't the case for us. We checked in with no problems. Donna upgraded us to a one bedroom suite (rm 289). Complete with a fireplace and balcony, microwave, mini-fridge and kitchen sink. Having the separate bedroom worked out well for the kids. The room was clean and accomodating. The waterpark was awesome. My kids are ages 2 and 5 and they were able to use most of the park. There are at least one or two lifeguards per area. There are some bigger slides and rides for older kids (or adults). It was fairly warm inside the dome while we were there. Jack Tanner's (the onsite restaurant) was good. We had to wait for about 20 minutes one morning for breakfast but otherwise it was fine. The only complaint (or inconvinience really) was the snack bar associated with the water park. The prices are quite steep and it seemed really disorganized. The food was satisfactory at best. There is a spa that looked really nice and the prices seemed reasonable. I didn't have the opportunity to try it however.
Just keep in mind, this is a 3 star resort in one of the largest tourist sections around. You are going to pay a lot no matter where you are in Niagara Falls... I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone with children. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, you might try some place else.

  • Liked — The waterpark
  • Disliked — Not very close to other attractions in the area.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get take-out from the restaurant before the snack-bar
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvnevrymntfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    387
    223
    146
    151
See reviews for
888
52
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

We had read some poor reviews of this hotel, but noted that most of them were over a year old and that the hotel has since undergone some major renovations. The more recent reviews were quite positive, so we (two adults and two children, aged 2 and 4) decided to try it out for one night.

Our third floor room (we had booked the Superior Two Queen Room) was plenty spacious and, like all the rooms, included a fridge (no freezer compartment) and microwave. The room was clean. When we called down for more towels, they arrived within five minutes.

Avoid staying on the first floor. The front desk, restaurant, AND entrance to the waterpark are on this floor, so it can get noisy with families coming and going. The third (and top) floor is a more recent addition, so you might want to request a room on the third floor.

As we were travelling with another couple we had asked for adjoining rooms and this request was accomodated and much appreciated by us.

The waterpark was amazing! There is a good sized toddler section which is less than a foot deep, so toddlers can toddle around. There are some plastic water toys and three side-by-side water slides that are only a few feet high. Our kids loved them! If travelling with an infant, there are some baby swings in the toddler section that allow babies who can lift their heads to dangle their feet in the water.

Best of all, the water was really warm. This meant that the kids were able to stay in the water for a long time. For bigger kids, in another section of the waterpark, there is a jungle gym with two water slides. There is a large bucket filling with water on top of this structure that dumps out approx every ten minutes. Anyone below is going to get soaked. This might scare some of the younger kids, so be aware.

For bigger kids still (including adults) are a wave pool and a mini water basketball court. And then there are slides. Two body slides and two tube slides that were a lot of fun. My four year old exceeded the minimum height for the tube slide and eventually warmed up to the idea of giving it a go with Daddy in a tube designed for two. She loved it and wanted to go again and again. Just be aware that once in the tube slide, it is pitch black, so you might want to warn younger kids about this lest they get panicky.

One downside of the hotel is the on-site restaurant, Jack Tanners. The food wasn't great and the prices were much too high. With many places down the road I would strongly recommend going out to eat. Nearby is a Tim Hortons, Golden Griddle, Denny's, and some other non-chain establishments.

We found the 11am checkout time to be a bit awkward. The kids wanted to go back to the waterpark which didn't open until 10am. When I asked for a late checkout, I was given until noon and was told it cost $50 to stay to 3pm. I understand that the rooms need to be made up for the next guests, but I feel that a late checkout of 2pm would allow the outgoing guests to enjoy the pool for a few hours in the morning and give the hotel plenty of time to prepare the room for the 4pm checkin time.

Instead we checked out (by phone which beat standing in line at the desk) before 10am so we could enjoy the waterpark. There are lockers by the changerooms for valuables and plenty of tables to use as "home base" while the family is in the water. But the change rooms leave something to be desired. They were not clean and the floors were very slippery. There was a mat to prevent slipping, but it was not everywhere and it looked old and hurt our kids' feet. There were two showers in the change room, but no real place to get dressed.

We will definitely come here again with the kids. They had a great time and we did too. If the hotel would either expand the change rooms (probably very expensive) or alter the checkout time (without charging guests $50) and improve the offering and prices at Jack Tanners, then I would have given a five star rating. Until then this is still a fantastic place to plan a getaway for families with young children.

  • Liked — Waterpark
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room on the third (top) floor. First floor would be noisy with lots of hallway traffic.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DarrenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2006

Upon arrival to our room after check in, the cars given to us did not work. Walked all the way around the building to the front desk to replace them, Second set did not work. Had to get maint guy to let us in. The room stank and had stains on the carpet. Called down for additional pillow and no one came. Called a second time and 45 minutes later they arrived.

Complained in the morning about the cards, room and lack of service. Spoke the the "so called" manager Ian Conway, who said he would look into it and call me back. No call. I sent a letter of disgust to him and the "actual" hotel manager. No response. Do yourselves a favour ... dont waste your time or money here, and dont get taken in by the waterpark ... Spend a few extra bucks and stay at the Great Wolf Lodge. That .... you wont regret.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kazman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

This is a wonderful place to bring your family for a little getaway.
The rooms are very clean, the staff is very nice, the waterpark is GREAT!
There is a Jack Tanner's restaurant in the hotel, so you can just stay there if you don't feel like going out, or you can order and they bring it to your room! There is also a Timothy's Coffee bar, A comedy bar, an arcade room, a spa, and of course the waterpark.
We stayed Dec. 4 & 5, 2006 and I have to say this is my new favourite hotel. It's close to the Outlet mall, and the Walmart. Clifton Hills is about a 10 minute drive away.
I have to say, we will be back!

  • Liked — The room & the waterpark & the price!
  • Disliked — All was great!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cubamyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

I have been to this hotel before and it was good the first time, but since then they changed everything and it is even nicer then it was the first time. The food was not the best, but now they have a coffee shop in the lobby and it is alot better coffee then Jack Tanner coffee.

The waterpark is the best. The spa is wonderful

I will be back again.....

  • Liked — The waterpark and trhe Spa
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NiagaraFallsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

During check in we were happy with the reception , after check-in we were asked to return at 4 pm for our room keys .We eventually got the keys to our rooms , after exiting the elevator on the 2 nd floor we came across a couple of ladies practically fighting . I thought we might have been on one of those Maury shows .Anyway we went to our rooms and on entering we were drawn to the "garden view " this was a view of a badly disturbed 1/4 acre of grass . Oh it was terrible ! Next we met both beds with the oldest bed spread we have ever come across . One had a 6 inch tear on the bottom and frayed at the edges . The furniture looked like it was found in an auction it was so heavily used . The entire bathroom was crummy , the tub was one of these composite items with a panel top , bottom and so on , really cheap . The sink was very small and seriously stained from use .
The carpet was attrocious , it was not at all nice . I went down to reception , met the Manager who stated that was their worst floor and if he had to he could put us in another room that would be newer . I asked him why would they be putting people in these rooms then ? No more to say . Dont go , you will be more than dissapointed !

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnaamericana, Assistant Front Office Manager at Americana Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2006
These guests did not stay with us at the Americana Resort. They caused a loud scene in the lobby for over 1/2 hour and when they were asked to leave the premisis they pulled the fire alarm themselves and sped out of the parking lot. The fire trucks came and the police were called. These guests were charged for pulling the fire alarm. Our hotel can handle and welcomes constructive criticism, but in this incicidence the Americana Resort was not at fault.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Mii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

By using our AAA tour book, we saw the ad for the Americana Resort and Spa. The tour book gave it three diamonds. The ad looked great with a water park for the kids. Once I called the hotel I had made the reservation, I was told our night stay was not refundable. Spending $199 in Canadian dollars (equal to $160 US) I thought I was giving my kids a great treat. The water park was nice but the room was gross. Stains everywhere (toiliet, ceiling, lamp shades....), the room had a funny smell and the beds were hard. When checking out of the hotel at 7:00 am (couldn't get out fast enough)....I said something to the front desk and they didn't even seem to care.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank karen104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.4 mi away
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
Skyline Hotel & Waterpark
#30 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
4.0 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#4 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,046 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clifton Victoria Inn at the Falls
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Resort

Property: Americana Resort
Address: 8444 Lundy's Lane, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americana is a unique Niagara Falls Hotel offering the ultimate family vacation retreat and corporate conference centre.Some of the treasury of amenities you will find at the Americana include Waves Indoor Waterpark - a premier waterpark in Niagara Falls featuring a retractable roof, slides and more; a large outdoor recreational area and playground with gazebos and barbecues; Senses Spa & Boutique, a full-service spa for those who want to get away and relax; free wireless internet, on-site restaurant and bar and over 21,000 square feet of meeting, banquet or wedding space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Niagara Falls
Americana Resort Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing