We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staking a claim to the best Steak in Niagara Falls....but also most expensive”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 557 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Price range: $38 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Stanley Avenue
Description: The memory of a great meal stays with you long after the table's been cleared. This is why at Ruth's Chris we thrive on our great food and service. Our menu offers a wide variety of dining options that will please all of our guest. Our passion lies in our high quality ingredients, attention to detail and that special sizzle.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
465 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Staking a claim to the best Steak in Niagara Falls....but also most expensive”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Top-shelf steaks and service in a classy atmosphere. But be prepared to pay. You almost need to open a line of credit to eat here.

The appetizers run about $20 each and the steaks ( depending which one ) can approach $80. And that does not even include your sides. With wine, apps, mains and desserts you're looking at a $300 tab for 2 people.

But as is the case in life ( most of the time ), you get what you pay for. Steak/meat lovers take note - they know how to cook 'em here. My filet was cooked perfectly ( rare ) with a blue cheese topping. Most of the appetizers were merely sufficient ( given the price point ) but the crab cakes are made with lump crab and excellent.

In terms of quality, other places like The Keg and Wildfire are a joke compared to this place. But they are also much less expensive. The high prices here at Ruth's Chris obviously diminish the value ( quality vs cost ) and that's why I gave it a 4. The Brazilian places are tackier but also a cheaper option.
Despite all that, if you're prepared to splash out for a lavish meal, Ruth's is still a good decision.

Also I'll add that the bar in the front is a happenin' spot to grab a drink afterwards and people watch ( or just to go for a drink if you're light in the wallet).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fantom_Gormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    210
    162
    169
    161
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We recently had dinner at Ruth's when we stayed midweek at the Four Points-Sheraton. We had a $70 voucher and 2 drink vouchers. Our meal was very enjoyable and we received friendly and professional service from our waitress, Samantha.

We enjoyed a petite filet ($54) and a NY strip steak ($69) and two a la carte sides (Lyonnaise potatoes & sauteed mushrooms). The steaks and sides were all portioned generously. The steaks were seasoned nicely and cooked to a nice medium rare. The hot plate service seems a bit extreme and the last 1/4 of my strip steak probably approached closer to medium just from continued cooking. I would have been satisfied with my steak served on a warm plate and could have gone without the entertainment of hot butter sizzling in my face for the first 5 minutes after their arrival. For the money, the petit filet was a better value.

The two house wines were decent and would have been billed at $14 each. So the drink vouchers are a good value. However, a 1L. bottle of sparkling water added an additional $18 to our bill. While we enjoyed the meal, the entree prices and a la carte menu seems a bit over the top. The $70 and drink vouchers made the meal more reasonable but there are certainly more reasonable, and equally enjoyable, options in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank capdistrcttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Service I have Ever Had!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

You will receive better service at MacDonalds!
Went here for our anniversary. After waiting 1 hour at the bar to get a table we were finally seated. Excited we looked at the menu and couldn't wait to bight into a legendary steak! however we were there for 45 minutes and in that time, all we received was water and free bread. It was just delightful to hear one of the wait staff telling another waitress that she was a f***** idiot for taking on 4 tables as she was only allowed 3. It really made us wonder where the manager was! No one had taken our order, I was starving and as a celiac I cannot even nibble on the free bread! After nearly two hours of waiting we threw in the towel. Coming from the hospitality industry we could tell the restaurant was definitely understaffed. We actually new one of the waiters as my partner is a chef and used to work with him. He said they were definitely understaffed and he was stressed out. After hearing this we apologized to him and started to exit the restaurant. The Managers were SITTING DOWN out the front with not a care in the world. We approached them and stated we were leaving. They both stood up and got very defensive and looked like they were going to throw US out! I am sure that other people may have had better experiences but I will never ever return again. After heading to another restaurant after that they said they have heard similar stories from other customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Celestine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but Pricey”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great tasting food and amazing service. Go with the mindset that you are spoiling yourself and bring at least $100/person.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“definitely will be back!! ”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I had a fantastic time here at Ruth's Chris, and although a lot of review complain about how expensive it is, I must say, it was worth every penny spent. It's a dinner experience you and your significant other need to have! We took the idea from a previous post to order a garlic crusted ribeye.. Holy moly!!! I suggest trying that when you dine here!! Overall, great service, great value (especially with the $70 voucher and 2 complimentary drinks), and amazing atmosphere! We will be back for another special occasion!!

Helpful?
Thank kate_0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing