We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Restaurant with great food”
Review of Batter Up! Fish and Chips - CLOSED

Batter Up! Fish and Chips
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant with great food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We followed the Trip Advisor recommendation for Batter up and we were not dissapointed. We walked into a small cozy restaurant on Main St and we were welcomed by a quirky waiteress who handled all of the tables. She was fast and efficient. To our surprise they had a guitar player belting out the ballads in what was a coffee house type atmosphere. They had great beer on tap and the food was great. We had the two piece fish dinner with fresh cut fries. We also had the onion rings which were the best I ever had. The prices were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    13
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Niagara's Best Kept Secret!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to Batter up for the first time a few weeks ago!! since then we have been back numerous times. The food is amazing, restaurant is small...BUT very quaint and cozy!!! Lisa and Clarke are doing an amazing job @ "Our home away from Home"!!! Keep up the great job!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Batter Up! definitely a Grand Slam...”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Found this restaurant here on Tripadvisor and -boy - are we glad we paid attention! A 10min walk north of our hotel it was well worth it. Quicky decor, cozy size, simple menu and GREAT food. We both had the Haddock; the fish, chips, onion rings and coleslaw were excellent quality and NOT fast-food, neither in cooking time or originality. Two types of batter, beer or tempura, nice touch. We particularly liked the sensible portion size (sometimes the food portions are WAY too big for me at other fish-and-chip establishments). The staff are helpful and delightful, the kind you get when you're in when at an owner-operated place. The clients locked to be both tourists and locals. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EeyoreCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bases were loaded, and it was a home run!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We bought a voucher from WAG JAG for a great price and I was so excited about going although my hubby wasn't too sure about some restaurant on Main St. in Niagara Falls,( thought it was too seedy an area for a good restaurant...) We were so pleasantly surprised by everything, from the atmosphere (warm and cozy like home), the server (Lisa, I think part owner too was so very nice and attentive and quirky in the best way) THE FOOD!!!!! (unbelievable Fish and Chips, hand cut onion rings and fries, great cole slaw and tartar sauce, and Cameron's beer was very tasty and I don't even like beer!!!) This is going to be MY Fish and Chip restaurant from now on! We have been happily telling every body about it and I hope they are in business for a long time...This is the rebirth of F & C's on Main Street reminiscent of LA FIESTA, and if you are from Niagara Falls, you know what that means!!!! THANK YOU BATTER UP and thank you wagjag for our new discovery!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyMcK-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
“Excellent FRESH fish and chips”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are new to the area and in the process of finding great restaurants in the area. Batter Up hits the mark on all fronts. It's run by the owners who care about what they are doing. The fish is fresh, Canadian sourced (bravo!) and has a perfect balance of batter to fish. There's a choice of 2 batters: beer or tempura. I tried both and my preference was for the very crispy tempura. The fish was fried perfectly without being greasy. This also isn't a typical fish and chip place with fluorescent lighting where you order at the counter. It's a pleasant place with table service to sit down and enjoy a meal. Our visit was in February, so there was no outside seating, but it looks like it could be a possibility in the summer. They also have beer from an Ontario mirco (Cameron's) on tap which again, I think speaks to the owner's commitment to quality. This will definitely be one of our regular places in Niagara Falls.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewtoNOTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batter Up! Fish and Chips also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing