We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but close enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We went to Niagara for our 10 year anniversary. We arrived at the Doubletree early evening - had no trouble checking in. The lobby is beautiful, almost a modern lodge look. A friend knew where we were staying and had arranged for a bottle of champagne and choc. covered strawberries to be in our room when we arrived, and sure enough the bottle was on ice and there was a note that said the strawberries were in the fridge. But to be honest we walked right on by that bottle and spent a while checking out our view from the hotel window. Our room was on the 19th (top) floor and was a fallsview room, which we had specifically booked through Expedia. The view was awesome! Of course you need to know that the Doubletree is at the northern end of the group of big fallsview hotels, kind of off by itself, and what you have a view of is the American Falls, and only the mist coming off of the Horseshoe falls. But it's still a beautiful view!
We enjoyed the room - we had a King Jacuzzi room. The bed was comfy and the room was very clean and modern. It was just big enough for a few nights and the big tub was great. The only downfall was the TEENY shower stall. My husband is an average guy (6'11" )and he could barely turn around without banging his elbows.
We only ate the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant - it was your normal breakfast buffet - eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, omelettes, and then also cereals, fresh fruits, bagels, muffins, yogurt. It was good but expensive. (But everything in Niagara was expensive! Be prepared!) The hotel was very clean. There was a nice indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and very nice size exercise room, plus a hot tub outside. We didn't have time to enjoy any of these amenities or visit the spa. We did enjoy a drink out on the patio adjacent to the coffehouse/bar. They were still working on some last minute touches to this area, but worked on it during the day when everyone was out sightseeing.
As stated above, the location was great for us. We are in our forties and in decent shape, so we walked the few blocks to the falls and also used the People-Mover system to go up and down the road to the main attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l00kin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,280)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,845 - 2,851 of 3,280 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

We came here for a family vacation with our 2 children, and had a very nice stay.

We booked a 2-room suite and, while the room seemed slightly dated, it wasn't old and musty either and we were definitely satisfied. There were no issues with cleanliness. We had a pretty nice 270 degree view and it's actually the perfect spot to watch the fireworks at night. The lobby is beautiful with its stone and rustic wood rafters, the pool/spa area was nice and not overly crowded, and the staff were very courteous and always smiling.

While the hotel isn't located in any of the busy tourist areas, it is actually right in the middle of everything. It is at most a 15-minute walk to anything (with an crutch-bearing eight year-old and a two year-old in tow), and you'll find all the necessities (coffee shop, restaurants, convenience store, etc...) within a couple of blocks. If you don't feel like walking, a taxi will run you no more than $7 to any touristy places ($10 to the train station) and the drivers we got were all pros.

We didn't try the restaurant, aside from coffee in the morning, so can't really comment on that.

If I were to be picky, I'd say their internet room is a little strange. It's actually part of the Fex Ex store, not the hotel. If you go during business hours, you get charged. After hours, you can get in and use it free, but they only have one access card so you have to hope it's available. At one time, someone had forgotten to return the card so no one could use it anymore. Not a huge issue, the arrangement just made us chuckle a bit. And in fact, when I explained that I NEEDED to check my sports news (yeah, I know), they actually offered me the use of one of the hotel computers in the office.

On the last day, they agreed to give us an extended checkout, but then locked us out of the room anyway. Went down and they fixed it quickly. There were also a couple of movie charges because my young daughter liked the coloured buttons on the remote (including one, uhh, adult selection). They quickly fixed that too. Even the cleaning staff were great. We didn't have one negative experience with the staff.

In summary, nice hotel, decent location, courteous staff. We definitely recommend this place to anyone. We think you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedFoxOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTNiagara, rooms division manager at DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2009

Appreciate the feedback. Members comment on the business centre interent was the case, but is now changing. Guests have complimentary internet access and use of computer in the UPS business centre starting shortly. The prior arrangement had complimentary use after business hours and weekends was something due to a lease agreement which has now expired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Service was excellent. Drove 9 hours to Niagra without a reservation. Decided on Doubletree when we got there. We have always had excellent rooms and service with Doubletree so it wasn't a hard choice.
Took a room on the 15th floor that had a separate room with the sofa bed for my teenage son. We had view of the American falls and some of the Horseshoe falls.
Hotel was easy walking distance from everything. Central location on the hill. Pool and Hot tubs were getting plenty of use but we ended up not having any time to use them.
The activities desk help us with getting tickets to the magic show (highly recommend see the show).
The hotel is only a few years old and is in great condition with comfortable beds. I enjoy walking so being a few blocks from eveything was good for us at a reasonable cost .
Highly recommend staying at Doubletree, Take the "Maid of the Mist" to really see and feel the falls!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Hotel staff was polite and professional; however not familiar with anything economical in the area (like fast food) they mostly suggested higher priced restaurants so we had to find cheaper food on our own. Rooms were clean, housekeeping was good, beds comfortable. Our room was on the 7th floor, we had a view of the river and mist from the falls. Nice view of Clifton Hill lights at night and watched fireworks from our room one night. The pool was ok, hot tubs inside and outside were nice after long day of walking. We didn't have a car and were able to walk to falls then bought tickets for peoplemover bus. It would have been nice to have a hotel shuttle bus. Taxi from train station to hotel was about $13.00 CAD, not bad. Taxi's we took were clean and drivers were nice and normal-not race car drivers. Starbucks in hotel was good, the restaurant was too pricey for us. No free continental breakfast. We liked the hotel and the area was safe to walk at night, rooms were quiet, and clientelle was decent. We liked the building design with a lot of wood and stone, not the mass produced look. We got a great price on line for our rooms, so it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StratfordCTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

I stayed for 2 nights with my family. We had a lovely room on the 12th floor with a good view of the river and partial view of the American Falls.

Check in was effortless, and we were welcomed with warm cookies, which the kids loved. The room was clean and had everything we needed in it. We had requested extra towels prior to arriving and were pleased to find them in our room.

Throughout the stay the hotel staff were friendly and courteous at all times. I liked being able to self-park (CDN$10/night), there's nothing I hate more in a hotel than Valet parking so I was pleased about that. We previously stayed at the Embassy Suites and although the view there is much better, the parking was CDN$23 a day, and you felt obliged to tip when you wanted to take it out.

The falls are within a 15min walk down the hill past the new Casino, which is fairly convenient. You will get stung for parking if you drive to the falls and want to park there, so leave the car if you can. Restaurants are close-by as are the 'attractions' of Clifton Hill.

I would certainly book this hotel again, especially with the family. The only annoying thing during our stay was the fire alarm being set-off. The reception were kind enough to allow us a later check-out because of the evacuation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My husband and I booked a falls view king room with a jacuzzi. All in all, it was a nice experience. The warm cookies we received on arrival were quite tasty, the room was clean, the jacuzzi was pleasing, and we never heard our neighbors. We had a view of the falls as advertised (although the falls were farther away than I expected). The staff was very friendly (with the exception of the omelette maker), and the location was fine if you don't mind walking (it's about an 8-10 min walk to the new casino, 20 mins to Maid of the Mist). The free internet service was a major plus, and the refrigerator was very convenient.

Any issues were minor. The shower is super-tiny, and housekeeping only left one towel for shower purposes. Also, the breakfast buffet was fine (well, the omelette was mediocre, but everything else was up to snuff), but I expected it to be tastier based on some of the reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillableBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

The location was not perfect, I do wish it was closer to the Falls but I guess for the price it was not too bad. The room itself was your average double bed, nothing that would stand out. The concierge service was really good though, the lady recommended a restaurant and dessert place they were both phenominal - Sandstone and the Gelato place across the street. The lobby is very pretty and the spa is good too. Overall, it was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snshn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls

Address: 6039 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $100 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing, secure environment removed from-but still close to-the high energy pace of exciting attractions, the American and Canadian Falls (two short blocks) and the Fallsview Casino and Entertainment Complex (400 yards). Convenient on-site parking. Referencing the natural elegance of the Frank Lloyd Wright era and the rustic timeless architecture of a Grand National Park Lodge. Four diamond AAA/CAA award winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Fallsview Resort And Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Resort & Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Hotel By

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing