We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Positive experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at DoubleTree for one night and enjoyed it.

The staff were nice and we had a quick and painless checkin. The warm cookie was a nice touch. The restaurant serves very good food at reasonable prices and it even had live entertainment. We had a falls view room on the top floor. It's a bit far for a good view, so I would not bother next time. If the view is very important, choose another hotel, e.g. Embassy has an amazing view. The pool is great. It is a salt water pool and has a dedicated area for adults to swim, kids can play in a separate area. It is a 5-10 min walk to Fallsview Casino.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    1,201
    357
    112
    65
See reviews for
1,139
1,192
53
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here over a weekend in Nov. Quite enjoyed our stay and was a good price for what you got.

Service:
We checked into our hotel at around 3pm on a Friday afternoon. No wait, quick and informative. They also give you each a warm ‘DoubleTree Cookie’ (chocolate chip with nuts) which was a nice touch.
At one point the hairdryer in our room burnt out so we called for a replacement. It was delivered in minutes.
The cleaning was fine, however they took our towels we had hung up (which means we will reuse them) and they did not replace them. We were left with one towel for two people for a 24 hour period! This was a little annoying. We didn’t notice until it was too late to call and get more.

Building/Amenities:
Centrally located within walking distance to most everything in the area.
The lobby is beautiful. It really like being in a ski lodge. High lofted ceilings with stone and wood. There was a fireplace which was in use with seating around it. Nice place to just sit and read or have a coffee.
There is a coffee stand located in the main lobby that sells Starbucks, some light breakfast options and cookie. They also have a small bar here and seating.
There is a small gift shop as well with a wide range of souvenirs and snacks.
Located in the basement is the Pool, Hot Tub Spa, Sauna and Fitness Center. We used the pool and spa. The water temperature was perfect. The had a lower level pool for the younger crowd and then a lap pool for adults only.
The Fitness center had the basics of what you needed. Two treadmills, two elliptical and a recumbent bike. They had free weights and some benches and matts. Note that if you are planning on using the Fitness Room you will need to go to the lobby to get a special card to get access. Your room card will not work.
One thing to mention is the elevators where slow. We felt we always had to wait and wait at in the lobby to get an elevator. If you have 20 floors, you should have more than 2 elevators.

Restaurant:
On the Second floor they have Buchanans restaurant. We only ate here one morning for breakfast. They offered a buffet style breakfast which was good, but a little overpriced for what was offered. I believe it was $16. They had fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, French toast and omelet station.

Rooms:
We stayed in a room on the 10 floor. We paid $120 a night for a two queen room. The view overlooks the river above the falls. Due to the angle you won’t actually see the falls unless you are near the top of the hotel. This didn’t bother us as I’ve seen the falls many times and don’t see the point in wasting the money for it here.
The room was standard size. There was a fridge, and coffee maker off of the washroom. The Washroom was a tub, single sink with extended counter. The toiletries they offer where limited to a small Lotion, shampoo and Conditioner The bedroom had two beds, a chair and desk.
The TV was located on the dressed in front of the beds with a descent selection of channels.
My only problem with the room was that the walls are thin. We could hear the conversation the people in the next room were having. We tried taking a nap in the afternoon and couldn’t because of this.

All in all, a nice hotel and I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kassi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeNiagara, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share in detail your experience and a summary of the hotel. We appreciate all your good words. It is unusual to receive a concern regarding noise at our property. There is a posting on November 9 praising our sound proofing. Some things we did in the design phase that prevent noise are the low room count on each floor so reduced volume of traffic in the hallways, rooms are only located on one side of the hall (so no noise across the hall), elevators located in a side alcove with no guestrooms directly opposite or sharing a wall and sound proofing guestroom walls. I can certainly appreciate what you are saying, at the end of the day, a hotel is a hotel, and it will never be like a home. It is possible that something has occured in a guestroom as a one off situation. Being in our low season now, we will be able to check room by room. Thank you again for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My experience during our stay went from bad to worse within 5 minutes of coming in the door. We were greeted by customer service with a blank stare and not so much as a hello, When i gave the customer service women my name, she could not locate the name, she didnt bother to ask clarify spelling, or apologize for the wait, just stated simply "we dont have your reservation" another agent was able to find the reservation with my first name, my last name had been entered with incorrect spelling....not even an apology for the confussion or delay, nor did she bother to try and learn my actual name.
The second strike came when i asked where our vouchers were for the spa package deal that i had reserved...apparently that too had also been entered incorrectly, the hotel refused any considertion of trying to amend these mistakes or even offer an apology. I asked for a manger who wouldnt even bother to get up from her desk initally to speak with me. I have never ecountered such an incompetent "manager" or rude for that matter. I ended up missing my spa services because the frount line could not sort out our reservation in time.
Strike 3- two out of our 3 non-smoking rooms stunk of smoke, we were moved promptly, however at 3am we were woken up from the stench of cigeratte smoke, when we called down to reception, they said that was 'impossibe' but they would 'look into it',
Strike 4- Our normally wonderful spa services (except for a wonderful massage done by Chris at the Five lakes Aveda Spa located in the Hotel) were a let down as well as after 3 hours of dry time, the polish on the girls pedicure peeled off...The receptionist response was 'thats a shame, it happens
The Double Tree hotel has proved that the do not value their guests nor take pride in the business by hiring competent, staff, I would never return to this hotel, or use any of its o site services again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeNiagara, General Manager at DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We're sorry to hear that we didn't provide you with the rewarding experience that we strive to provide. In reviewing your posting we do show your concerns were addressed while at the property and we encouraged communication directly with Travelocity to reconfirm the hotel was accurate in advising no such package was booked. In your presence, we spoke to Travelocity and they confirmed our hotel does not offer a spa package on their site. The reservation in it's entirety including the spelling of your name was not touched by the hotel - it was entered either on-line on the Travelocity site or via the Travelocity call centre. It was purely a third party booking and the hotel honored exactly what was booked. We do understand it can be confusing when shopping multiple sites and hotels and hope perhaps upon returning home you may have found information such as a Travelocity confirmation to further support our findings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel was great with one exception that contributes to the average rating. Linens were hard/crispy, every time my wife or I moved the other would wake. They were fresh and clean however new linens are a must.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hosewalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeNiagara, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for staying with us at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will take your comments on our linen quality into consideration as we continually work to improve our guests' experience. In early fall this year, 75% of our linen was replaced as we now do all our linen in house for quality control. We hope you will stay with us again should you return to the area in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice view of the Falls from the 9th floor. Walking distance to most attractions. Enjoyed the pool, sauna room & hot tub. Wifi was a plus! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbkface2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed the first weekend of November 2012. The hotel in real life appears just as advertised on the Hilton website. We really liked the decor of the reception area - it reminded me of ski resorts. The fireplace in the center of the lobby was a nice feature and was great for sipping hot chocolate and coffee after a day of sightseeing.

Location of the hotel was great - only about a 5-10 minute walk to Table Rock and the Fallsview Casino. I don't know what some previous reviewers are talking about this hotel being far from action. Unless you are going to the Butterfly Conservatory or the whirlpool you don't need your car to get around. There is plenty of parking on site and the overflow parking lot is maybe 20-30 yards away. The fee of $12 per day to park was ridiculous, though.

The rooms were impeccably clean. We LOVED the beds. I don't think my wife and I have ever had a better night's sleep. The rooms were quiet - our room was located right off the elevator and the adjacent two rooms were occupied but we didn't hear anything. We liked that you could open the bottom part of the windows. The bathroom was nice and we liked the soaps provided. Just make sure you have the bathtub drain stopper turned right (it is actually in the drain) or the tub will fill up with water while showering.

The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. The warm cookies provided at check-in were a nice plus, too.

Didn't eat at the restaurant, but stopped for a drink around closing (10 PM - that seemed early!!!)

The pool area was very well maintained. The multi-level pool was really cool.

We would definitely stay here again - the location and price were a good value.

Room Tip: Don't spend too much on a "Upper Fallsview Room". The view is probably obstructed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slalom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, AK
Level Contributor
278 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wife and I stayed here for two nights in November 2012. After hours of deliberating between the Doubletree and two other Hilton properties situated closer to the falls, I decided on the Doubletree (based largely on what had been posted here on Tripadvisor).

The hotel was easily accessible by car from the Peace Bridge border crossing. There was some construction on the QEW but it didn't slow us down too much.

We wanted the guarantee of a nice room so I cashed in some HHonors points for an upgrade. This netted us a room on the 19th (top) floor. However, upon entry, it reeked of smoke. So I went back down to the lobby and got a different room on the same floor. The second room was fine and I appreciate the responsiveness of the front desk staff in making things right.

Interesting room layout. Its centerpiece was a large jetted tub with a wall opening on the back side that allowed one to view the falls while taking a soak. Our room afforded a dramatic view of American Falls with a partial side view of Horseshoe Falls. It was clear as a bell during our visit, and we'll have fond memories of the falls long after our visit. For now, some photos of the stunning vista are attached to this review.

The room seemed a little small, esp. the stall shower. If it had been any smaller, you'd need a confined space permit to use it! It was almost like taking a shower in a motorhome.

Our room, being up high and facing the US, allowed us to access the American AT&T network on our iPhones. So we avoided the international roaming charges while in the hotel. Still, I disabled the roaming feature on our phones to be doubly safe. Connecting to the hotel wifi system also did not elicit the additional charge warning message that I have gotten in Canadian hotels before when the hotel wifi was connected to Rogers or Shaw. The iPhones stayed in the room during our visit, or if they went out and about with us, they were placed in airplane mode before leaving the room.

Wife indulged in a massage at the Aveda spa located on the ground floor.

Great flat panel TV in the room with superior picture quality.

As HHonors Gold we got coupons for the continental breakfast served in Buchanan's on floor 2. The selection of cereal, fruit, and pastries was spare but, in the end, adequate.

The fitness room on the LL level is not accessible with your room key. Stop by the front desk for a different key to get in for a workout. The guest laundry on LL is $C1.75 to wash and the same to dry. Your room key will gain you access to that. The dryer was still going strong after an hour and fifteen minutes!

If you like pizza, try Bravo! up on Ferry. It was great and an easy walk to and from. This region is known for its wineries so we had a fabulous dinner at Ravine's Bistro Restaurant, adjacent to a vineyard in St. David's, an approx. 15-minute drive north of the hotel. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

November is definitely the off-season here but with good weather, a visit to the Niagara is worth it. The Doubletree is a fine place, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.3 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls

Property: DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Address: 6039 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing, secure environment removed from-but still close to-the high energy pace of exciting attractions, the American and Canadian Falls (two short blocks) and the Fallsview Casino and Entertainment Complex (400 yards). Convenient on-site parking. Referencing the natural elegance of the Frank Lloyd Wright era and the rustic timeless architecture of a Grand National Park Lodge. Four diamond AAA/CAA award winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Fallsview Resort And Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Resort & Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Hotel By

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing