We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Niagara nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I where expecting a different rm when we arrived as frequent visitors to the falls we look forward to enjoying niagara there are some things you should be aware of before you book this hotel
1) the hotel is not in the popular area of niagara if you want to visit the falls it is a long walk or a drive

2) if you book a room with a whirl pool tub management or Hilton may change your reservation and not inform you

3) our room was clearly not clean with the last guest hair everywhere ( after getting nowhere explaining that they put me in the wrong room I figured it was hopeless to explain that no one cleaned the room before we got there)

4) for the money you are spending to stay here you would expect a soft bed and sheets don't the bed is horrible and the sheets corse like a hospital sheets

5) there are limited elevators you could be waiting for quite a while to get to your room

6) I would never reccomend this hotel !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFallsview, Manager at DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am so sorry that you were not able to enjoy the hotel as it is always our intent to create a warm and relaxing experience for all of our guests. It appears we have fallen short of our goal and I do apologize for any shortcomings. I can hopefully clear up one of your issues which was with your original reservation. I have researched the reservation and found that you made the reservation online and we see a change was also made online 6 minutes later which changed the room type. When any entries are made the system automatically records the information and when you made the change 6 minutes later it affected the room type and therefore we were unable to give you the orginal room at check in as it was sold out. We would have happily given you the original room that you had reserved if it was available. I did check with our Hilton head office to confirm any changes to the reservation and they were only able to see where you had inadvertantly changed it from a Jacuzzi suite to a King suite. Normally we would not have a problem changing a room. As far as the housekeeping issues we have someone here 24 hours a day to help our guests with any concerns and we would have taken care of your issues as soon as notified. We are here for our guests any time and I know that you were upset with the fact that we could not give you a jacuzzi suite as it was not a possibility at the time, however we never want to see our guests inconvenienced and although we tried to find alternatives for you we were just unable to correct your issues. I can assure you that nobody from Hilton or our team at the hotel changed any part of your initial reservation. The hotel is located on Fallsview Boulevard just 400 yards to the Casino, and a ten minute walk to the Falls and 10 minutes in the other direction to the area attractions. Although most people just leave their cars and walk to everything it is uphill coming back and can sometimes seem like a very long walk, especially after a long day of sightseeing. I am sorry you feel as though the hotel has failed you as I would love for you to be able to come back some day and enjoy the hotel as so many others have. If you should choose to return please contact the hotel and ask for the Manager on Duty. We have notes on your file and would be happy to assist you and help make your next visit an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    1,202
    358
    112
    65
See reviews for
1,143
1,194
53
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few times over the years even though it is in the more run down part of Fallsview Blvd. The first time we were pleased but the last time we were there we were a little dissatisfied as it took some time to clarify some erroneous charges upon check out, but we decided to stay here again as we are HiltonHonors members. Check in was disorganised and impersonal. The man curtly asked for my driving licence and credit card, told me to write my license plate number and sign and initial at various places on the print out and while I was trying to read and write down everything I was supposed to, he kept talking and giving me the room card etc. I felt rushed. Also, he kept leaving us to go and tend to other staff and customers. Back and forth…. no personalised attention whatsoever. We spent one night at the hotel and definitely would have asked to change room if we were staying longer. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, only to sleep and get ready early the next morning so the problem of the vomit smell could only be reported upon check out. The day we checked in, it was late afternoon and we noticed the smell of disinfectant spray in the room but quickly dropped off our bags and went out until late in the evening. When we returned at around 11pm the room no longer smelled of disinfectant but we did notice the vomit smell when we approached the fridge area between the room door and the bathroom door. It was late and we quickly went to bed as the smell did not reach the sleeping area. By the next morning, the smell was unbearable by the fridge area. The coffee machine and snacks were in that area and it make our stomachs turn just to be there so we had to go downstairs to Starbucks and pay for our coffee. As we knew we were checking out early, we quickly got ready and vacated the room. We were not asked upon check out if we enjoyed our stay so I mentioned the issue to the young girl at the counter but she just smiled and asked if we had reported the problem. I said we did not have the opportunity as we were leaving now and I was bringing it to their attention now. She just said thank you for letting them know but did not apologise or make any effort to rectify things or discuss it with her superior. So we didn't pursue the matter and resolved then and there never to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1114, it may still smell of vomit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

While my room was four stars, the overall experience I had at this place was more like two. A few points:

PARKING:
They charge for it, which is a total cash grab. This place isn't exactly in a lucrative part of Niagara Falls, and for $12 a day, what a rip off.

BREAKFAST:
You don't get one, unless you PAY. If a Holiday Inn Express will feed me for free (and a good breakfast at that), why can't these guys?

THE VIEW:
Unless you're on one of the top three floors, you won't see much of the falls. I was on the 14th floor and could barely see anything. Also, this place is pushed further back from the falls, so even if you can see them, you won't see much. Take a look at the guest photos for an idea of what you're getting.

LOBBY:
Nice lobby, and unlimited free cookies at the front desk. A nice benefit I guess.

THE ROOM:
Modern, clean, and spacious. Beds are ultra comfy and the bathroom is very nice.

OVERALL:
I'm glad I used hotwire to book a room here, I wouldn't want to pay full price for this "4 star property." There are much nicer 4 star places closer to the falls.

Room Tip: Your view will suck no matter what, just don't pay extra for a fallsview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontario_Guy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

In walking distance of a lot of the attractions. Very cheap cab ride if you need one from there. The pool is nice. The view from our room was pretty cool The spa is a bit pricey. They have a coffee bar you can get a Starbucks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachy2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Too long a walk from the falls, walls so thin I heard the person next door snoring, shortage of coffe supplies, even for a quick early morning coffee, lack of information about the attractions in the area, and lack of information about what is available in the hotel.
Have decided that chain is simply cutting corners to reduce costs.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room you will be staying in before agreeing to upgrade to a Fallsview room.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ebutToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We enjoyed the Double Tree so much in! The resort has great facilities! Our room was on the 11th floor with great view of the falls! The pool and jacuzzi are pleasant. Fantastic location within good walking distance to all attractions. Will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the falls view depending on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Only stayed here for a couple of nights and a friend of ours had booked it. We had a 'falls view' room and you can see the falls ok but it's no cinematic experience. The hotel is very far away from the town and it's a killer walk from the riverside uphill, but then again that avoids the noise from the main hub of Niagara so it depends what you're after. It's reasonably decorated and the staff are OK. The pool is a bit crap - crowded, small (for the size of the hotel) and oddly shaped, but at least there is one. The rooms are large and fully equipped - couldn't really complain about them at all. I'm no expert on American chains but the feel of it felt pretty typical. Didn't try the restaurant, only breakfast, which was fine. All in all a middle of the road hotel with an out of the way location but clean and nice rooms.

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, don't bother pushing it further for a falls view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Niagara Falls, ON
0.3 mi away
Sterling Inn & Spa
Sterling Inn & Spa
#2 of 129 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls

Property: DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Address: 6039 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing, secure environment removed from-but still close to-the high energy pace of exciting attractions, the American and Canadian Falls (two short blocks) and the Fallsview Casino and Entertainment Complex (400 yards). Convenient on-site parking. Referencing the natural elegance of the Frank Lloyd Wright era and the rustic timeless architecture of a Grand National Park Lodge. Four diamond AAA/CAA award winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Fallsview Resort And Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Resort & Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Hotel By

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing