We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place To Recharge One's Batteries"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Place To Recharge One's Batteries"”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This past Thursday and Friday my friend and I treated ourselves to the "Great Escape Package" offered at the hotel. We had been looking forward to this little vacation from families and responsibilities for some time. Although the weather was not wonderful the treatment we received for the most part was. Check in was very efficient and we were welcomed with the signature warm cookies. Our room was very spacious and clean , with facilities for coffee and tea making available as well as a mini fridge. As part of the package we were given 5 dining coupons -4 for 2 full buffet breakfasts , and one for a discount off the main dining room menu.
The dining was definitely much better than we expected for what we had paid for the package. I would advise anyone visiting the hotel to take advantage of the daily hot buffet breakfast offered, and treat themselves to one of the more upscale restaurants Buchanans-in the hotel.
The major complaint we did find though was the problem into our second day. We had left the hotel at approximately 10:30a.m. (and did see the maid in the hall and informed her that our room was now available for cleaning when she was ready). We returned later in the day to take a short nap ( near 3:00p.m) before we were to head down for a spa treatment at 4:30. We saw the same maid (Luci) who informed us that she still had 2 rooms to clean before getting to ours which would take her "about another hour"). That being said , my friend and I knew that our nap was not to be as we weren't sure when she would now get to our room. We are two grown women who only needed a very light tidy up. We decided to read in the lobby for a good while and return to check the room just before we headed out to the spa. When we returned we saw the towels had been replaced but the pillow that had been rather scrunched against the back of the reading chaise was still exactly as it had been left , the sheets on my bed were not properly tucked in, and the bed of my friend although made, looked rather rushed. For a wives get away --the room reminded me of my husband's efforts to tidy the bedroom at home. It was not what we expected---especially as we had to wait to well into 3:30-4:00 for it to be done. She mentioned when we questioned her earlier about the lateness that the check out people had to be completed by 11 but as I stated earlier we first saw her when we left the hotel after 10:30 a.m. Perhaps the hotel is understaffed but we were disappointed that we were not able to use the room by mid afternoon.
The spa was also a wonderful experience. I had a full body massage (Shawn) and it was
definitely one of the best I have had ( much better than The Pillar and Post in Niagara on the Lake).
Again I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It was quiet, a great location-close to the Casino with a firework display able to be seen from our window Friday night as a definite perk thrown in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazanneannne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    1,255
    372
    121
    68
See reviews for
1,212
1,241
56
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Not bad. Fairly clean. No bugs in our room. Loved the warm cookies they gave us on check-in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-J-9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Really liked this hotel. Friendly helpful staff on reception.... We even both got given a complimentary hot cookie when we arrived!!! :) Kept me happy thats for sure.
Room was spacious and in very good condition. We had a slight view of the Niagra Falls from the room on the 9th floor.
The falls were about 10/ 15 mins walking distance from the hotel and was quite a nice walk across the bridge to the New York side of the falls (this took about 30 mins to walk).

Very commercialised... restuarants/ tourist souvenir shops close by to the hotel. Plenty of places to eat. The tourist part, spoils the whole facination of the Falls really... But i guess that is what happens when something is a big attraction. But i personally think its a bit of a shame!

We used the hotel swimming pool and hot tub also, which was lovely. You are never far from a Starbucks either - there is one in the lobby of this hotel!

Brilliant hotel and great location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFallsview, Manager at DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to report on your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate all feedback from our guests as it is only through comments that we are able to maintain a higher level of service. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will be certain to relay your message to our team. We hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Hotel is clean and comfortable. Starbucks in lobby. 10 minute walk to casino and restaurants. You have to pay for parking, but that seems standard in Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltakilo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed at the Doubletree for 2 nights with my husband and 2 children. We booked a two room suite with a fallsview and it was wonderful. There were 2 windows in the living room and 2 windows in the bedroom as well. We were able to see both the American and the Canadian falls from the windows.
The room was very spacious and clean! The bathroom was also a little bit larger than other doubletree bathrooms. As always with Doubletrees the beds were very comfortable and the warm cookie at check in is always nice.
The location of the hotel is great. We walked to the falls and Clifton Hill and it was a 5 to 10 min walk. Parking in the falls area is atrocious so I did not mind paying the per day parking fee at the hotel.
The indoor pool area is very nice. The family pool has a zero entry with steps so my 3 year old could sit on the steps or stand on a step on his own. The adult pool is set above the family pool and any overflow from the adult pool kind of spills over into the family pool which my 8 year old thought was "so cool" . There is also a hot tub next to the pool and there is another hot tub outside with chaise lounges and additional seating.
The Aveda spa looked like it would have been great but I did not have time to take advantage of the spa.
We did eat at Buchanans for dinner one evening. (See my review of Buchanans in a separate review).
Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.
If I were to give a con about something I would have to say it would be when my husband went to the desk to ask for more cookies. This was during our second night and after our dinner at Buchanans. The kids got a complimentary dessert with their kids meals which was ice cream with a half of a doubletree cookie. My husband commented to the waitress that the cookie looks so good. She said "the front desk will give you one just stop over there after dinner". My husband stopped at the desk after dinner and asked for a cookie. The front desk associate asked for his room number and name and said "I will give you one now but any more I will need to charge you." We were kind of taken aback by the comment as we have stayed at many Doubletrees before and at a couple of them the front desk associates would offer us cookies every time we came back to the hotel and walked past the desk. In fact we stayed at the Doubletree in Cleveland on the way home to Chicago and the front desk associate offered my husband and boys cookies when they were walking back to the room from the pool after swimming.
Perhaps the associate was having a bad day but the third degree and comment about having to charge us for any more cookies was surprising to us especially since we are loyal Hilton (Doubletree) customers and always try to support the chain by lodging and dining at the hotel restaurants.
Overall we had a great stay. Aside from the one experience with the cookies everyone was friendly and offered good customer service.
We would stay at this Doubletree again.

Room Tip: Fallsview room is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atrainsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFallsview, Manager at DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
I would like to start by saying what a GREAT review of our hotel. Your descriptive comments will be so helpful to future travellers to the Niagara Falls area. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The hotel is so close to the actual Falls and area attractions, that most of our guests just leave their cars and walk to everything in the area. It seems you were able to enjoy most of the hotel amenities, but I do have to say that it is a shame you did not get to enjoy our spa. Maybe next time. We were astonished to hear of the situation with the cookies. We are very sorry to have disappointed you. Our delicious cookies are available anytime and it is unfortunate that this was not relayed to you by our team member. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will review this policy with all of our team members for the future. We do hope that in your future travels you will find your way back to our hotel. Next time, hopefully you can enjoy the spa, and you must insist on extra cookies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

A high quality hotel with all the amenities. Breakfast is extra, and there is a mandatory $12/day parking fee. Clean, pleasant. Within walking distance from the falls, but the walk is long.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better view of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corgi_Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

loved that they had an outdoor seating area where you could smoke ( hate standing outside the doors off a hotel to smoke) only downside is that there is no hand held shower its fixed in place......................that all said the over all decor and the nice out door areas for smokers makes this place a keeper ( other then the price, but if you want that close to the falls that what you need to pay) all that said....................our 1/2 w/e cost us like 1/3 of one persons trip to PC for a week at an AI will probably , not do this again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukie63on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.7 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Niagara Falls
Courtyard Niagara Falls
#11 of 128 in Niagara Falls
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls

Property: DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls
Address: 6039 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Niagara Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing, secure environment removed from-but still close to-the high energy pace of exciting attractions, the American and Canadian Falls (two short blocks) and the Fallsview Casino and Entertainment Complex (400 yards). Convenient on-site parking. Referencing the natural elegance of the Frank Lloyd Wright era and the rustic timeless architecture of a Grand National Park Lodge. Four diamond AAA/CAA award winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree Fallsview Resort & Spa by Hilton - Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Fallsview Resort And Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Resort & Spa By Hilton - Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Doubletree Fallsview Hotel By

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing