We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good Food, Amazing Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Skylon Tower

Skylon Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$9.48*
and up
Skylon Tower Observation Deck Admission
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food, Amazing Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We dined at skylon tower and enjoyed the food and obviously the views. We sat down at 9PM on a Friday night so we had perfect view of the fireworks around 10.

Considering the view I didn't think the meal was to expensive. The quality was good and the service was really great.

Only downside to this restaurant is that people tend to leave items and food in the window area by the tables. Since the restaurant is rotating, if your up against the windows you occasionally will see random items of trash and food, especially if their are kids a few tables ahead of you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,320
    1,735
    728
    220
    148
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great view of falls as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The best view of the falls is from Canada and probably from the top of this tower. It was an overcast and cloudy day when we went so we really only got to see the falls and not much else of the area around the falls. We also got discounted tickets since it wasn't the peak tourist season which was nice. The elevator is on the outside of the tower which is great allowing you to see the falls and surrounding area as you ride up. There is also a restaurant you can eat in that we didn't do. Also arcade games. They take US dollars to buy tickets and also at the gift shop. Plenty of cheap parking around and then you can walk to almost everything on the Canada side.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan101520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Signs everywhere about the rotating restaurant, family friendly, Buffett, etc.! To start - The buffet is only during the day - at night(we had a 7pm reservation)...avg.$ for entrees was $45, apps $18, dessert $12. The only things that seemed priced correctly was the alcohol ( glass of wine was $10/$14...booze $9-11). Our selections were ok, good - but not great for the price. Service was good as well. I say - pay to view from the observation deck but eat somewhere else. Better food up north by Niagra On The Lake (out of tourist area).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanderbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best view of the falls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The ride up in the glass elevator was very smooth and did not take very long to reach the top.
We first ate lunch in the revolving dining room. Very cool with great 360 degree views while you eat. We got some decent pictures while eating. The food really is excellent there. Everything we had was very good. The Crème Brulèe was absolutely the best!

The observation deck is enclosed which is good in bad weather but you can also go outside and take pictures. The outside deck has chain link type of fencing but the gaps are large enough that you can put a lens through and shoot unobstructed. Since the fencing is on an angle facing out it's about impossible to use a tripod - I tried with little success. You're better off leaning against one of the support poles and shooting through the fencing by the pole. I was able to shoot this way and take 3-shot hdr's which turned out good (considering the overcast windy cold day).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Views and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I went here for an early dinner. We were seated right away. We had made reservations prior. The service was excellent as well as the food. I got steak medallions with Bearnaise and it was tender and delicious. The views were phenomenal and the rotating dining room meant you got a view of the entire city in about 45 minutes. A little on the expensive side but go for the early dinner as the regular dinner is more expensive. Definitely worth the experience. With dinner you get to go to observation deck for free. Unfortunately the evening we were there the view from the deck was limited because it started to snow pretty heavily.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Coffeebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skylon Tower also viewed

 

Been to Skylon Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing