We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Movie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls

IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.11*
and up
Niagara Falls IMAX Movie
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada invites you to experience the Falls like never before. Home to “The Falls Movie: Legends and Daredevils” - one of the most spectacular IMAX movies of all time – The IMAX Theatre also boasts attractions such as the amazing Niagara Falls Daredevil Gallery, as well as the famous National Geographic Store.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Movie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I enjoyed my time spent at the Imax. I like the movie that played that evening and also the gift shop was pretty cool. When you are done looking at the falls, hop on over to watch a movie on the mega size screen.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gents112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxniagara, General Manager at IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Niagara Falls IMAX Theatre – we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. As you mentioned our screen is quite large – it is actually 60 feet x 80 feet – which just adds to the experience of the movie. Thank you for spending some time in our National Geographic Store we are glad that you liked it - we feel that we are modestly priced and that you can easily find that unique souvenir piece to take home with you.The next time you are in town be sure to check out our Daredevil Gallery. It is a museum that houses the largest collection of barrels and vessels used by Niagara’s Daredevils. Once again thank you for visiting and taking the time to write a post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    104
    130
    70
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Entertaining and educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Informative and fun educational film about the falls history. It is a little dated inside the theatre, but the information provided was more of what I was interested in. It was fascinating to hear all the stories of the many people and devices used to go over the falls.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxniagara, General Manager at IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to view our movie while you were in Niagara Falls. We appreciate you saying that our movie is informative and educational; we feel that it enhances any visitors experience while in Niagara Falls. The next time that you are in Niagara Falls, be sure to check out our Daredevil Gallery – it houses the largest collection of barrels and vessels actually used by Niagara’s Daredevils. Thanks again for visiting our attraction and taking the time to write a post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Movie was dumb, museum pretty nice.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We thought the IMAX would show a lot of history in regards to geography, settlers etc. But instead it mainly told a story about an indian woman (maid of the mist). We paid a lot to hear something we were not really interested in. But the museum was great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdmcdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxniagara, General Manager at IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We regret that you did not enjoy your movie experience. We pride ourselves on offering the best guest experience, and we welcome your comments. Our movie is a depiction of actual events that took place in history - and although we would love to have shown more geographical aspects of Niagara Falls, we just couldn’t fit it all in. I am glad that you were able to visit the Museum – we feel that it picks up where the movie leaves off – and can provide more of the geographical information that we were unable to show in the movie. Thanks again for visiting our attraction and taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Falls up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good educational experience to learn about the falls history, formation, and the people who have gone over the falls and survived. 100 bathtubs full of water go over the falls ever second.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbunnyngeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxniagara, General Manager at IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for visiting our attraction while you were in Niagara Falls. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. As you mentioned our movie is an educational experience – we provide just enough history and unique facts during our movie and in our Daredevil Museum to enhance your overall Niagara experience. Thanks again for visiting an posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
222 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Okay, if you see it BEFORE maid of the mist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed the movie, but my husband and 10 and 7 year old children did not. The theater was clean, the staff nice. Expect to spend $40 for a family of 4, as with every "attraction" in Niagara Falls. The history provided in the film was interesting to me. As one other reviewer mentions, there are about 4 black dots on the film or the screen. It is mildly distracting. Much more distracting is the volume on the headsets for the interpretative devices given to those who speak alternate languages. I am glad these were provided, but it was hard to hear the movie due to the volume coming from those headsets.

Helpful?
Thank MNwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imaxniagara, General Manager at IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for visiting our theatre while you were in Niagara Falls. I am happy to hear you say our theatre was clean and that our staff was nice. We do pride ourselves on delivering the best customer service to our guests. I am, however, sorry to hear that you were distracted from the multi-language headsets that we offer our guests. Unfortunately we don’t have a system where we can monitor the volume level of each headset – but we will keep our eyes open to a system that may limit the noise that emits from the headphone. Thanks again for visiting and sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to IMAX Theatre Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing