We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The worst hotel I've ever been to. The stench in the room was over whelming. The bathroom stunk like sewage. Smoke detectors hung by wires from the ceiling with no batteries. No towels, no tv, no wifi, no coffee maker, no hairdryer.Black mold in refrigerator. Refused to give us our money back when we refused to stay there. Had to dispute the charge with our credit card company. We did get a refund. We also reported them to the Canadian government office that monitors hotels safety and hygiene

Room Tip: Don't go within a 100 miles of this dump. The Motel 6 just down the road is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Awayfromhome6805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted a Jacuzzi room and the room smelled like mold. No hot water. Burnt out lights. Wildlife in rooms. Woke up to bed bugs crawling all over us. had to leave at 5 am cause of bed bug bites. Management was nice and we got a full refund. Would not recommend this place for a comfortable night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljlscec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Rented room for 1 night, even advertised sign outside as $59 per night,, staff,, conned us into $89.00 rate.. Room was disploreble,, Carpet was stained beyond belief,, Air conditioning didnt work, Or they are too cheap to put decent Air Conditioners. Doors between Rooms were useless,, looks as they have never inspected these rooms for guest safety. Door Lock were broken,,, next door guest literally walked in on us.. TV didnt work,, and Outdated to todays standard.... Needs MAJOR RENOVATIONS.

Room Tip: Avoid, this hotel at all cost,, drive further West and stick with more reputable Hotel, If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gforces69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The place needs major renovation, but the manager's enthusiasm and great suggestions made our stay enjoyable. WIFI is fast, location is an easy walk to the Falls and other attractions. Wonderful wineries nearby with amazing 'ice-wine' and the charming pancake house right across the street offers a delicious home-cooked breakfast with large portions.

Room Tip: Can see the fireworks display from rooms facing the Falls, but the light show is much more spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikewega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went with my Wife Good price clean rooms GREAT managment highly recomended
great location must go to ALMacs buffet accross street all around good motel for the price i would go back in a heartbeat. we had a good stay and close to all the action.

Room Tip: there all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went there last summer. Maybe we were very unlucky but i found this motel one of the most terrible i've seen in my life. And it was not so cheap! Our room was not cleaned up and after our claims the staff explained us we had to ask for it (we are a family and we get up quite early and quite early leave the room). The breakfast is said to be included but it consisted only of coffee and small donuts- wi-fi is not working properly. Anyway the location is quite good (quite near city centre and the waterfall). If you do not expect much and everthing else is sold out

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0renza_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Low price, poor value. Room needc renovation, and so does the whole building. Wifi signal too weak in room. Poor breakfest.
The only good thing I can say is that the owners were very pleasant and realy tried to provide inormatuon and advice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaulman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls Near Fallsview District
2.4 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
498 reviews
2 mi away
River Rapids Inn
River Rapids Inn
#35 of 128 in Niagara Falls
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#14 of 128 in Niagara Falls
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn By The Falls
Knights Inn By The Falls
#47 of 128 in Niagara Falls
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 5803 Stanley Ave, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $51 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Sunset Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Inn is within a 15-minute walk of Clifton Hill and Horseshoe Falls. It features an outdoor pool, free parking, and free Wi-Fi.Cable TV is included in each room at the Sunset Inn. A microwave and refrigerator are provided.The front desk at Sunset Inn Niagara Falls is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Niagara Falls
Sunset Motel Niagara Falls
Sunset Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing