We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN!”
Review of Clifton Hill

Clifton Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.19*
and up
Niagara Falls Day and Evening Tour With Boat Cruise and Optional Fallsview...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amusement, entertainment and restaurant neighborhood located in view of Niagara Falls.
Indian River, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a blast checking everything out! Very busy and everyone was friendly. Got lots of great photos!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joelee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    723
    404
    115
    93
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overpriced junk”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This area of Niagara Falls is where all the tourist traps are for the poor suckers looking for ways to entertain their kids.

Everything in here is a bunch of overpriced junk, grab a beaver tail (which is delicious) then get out of there. It is basically your town carnival / fete / fair, but a lot more expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whacky Fun Center”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you are a serious type person who travels and patently avoids tourist traps, then Clifton Hill is not for you. If you are out looking for a little bit of whacky fun, then this is the place.

We were within walking distance of Clifton Hill and if you are on foot, beware because it is quite a hill. If you are out of shape, coming back up on foot is a workout. But this place is a bustling hub of kitsch. You'll find multiple attractions, such as the Criminal Hall of Fame, wax museums, souvenir shops, restaurants, arcades and SKYWHEEL! I wanted to get down at night and take some pictures of the lights, but didn't get a chance. Next time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katheen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like being at a carnival”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place was so fun. It would be great for all kids and teens as there are so many fun things to do. Lots of restaurants if you get hungry too. Ripple's "Believe it or not Museums" are so cool. The Sky Wheel is fun too as you can see the entire city and the cars are air conditioned for the summer and heated for the winters. Try the Ripley s Moving Theater. I enjoyed that and I'm a senior. 3D entertainment. Reminded me of something similar to Universal Studios.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tallulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
210 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Sensory overload”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Clifton Hill area is like a northern version of Time Square. There are huge crowds leading to or from every type of attraction and restaurant. From the sideways Ripley's Believe it or Not museum to the screams of the Frankenstein attraction, there's something to see just about every second. It's interesting to see so many outrageous tourist traps just a short distance from the region's main attraction that don't have anything to do with the falls. The place is booming in the summer with pedestrians spilling into the streets making driving a challenge. Traveling with kids like we were was difficult to go through Clifton Hill without being tempted to spend foolishly. At night the neon lights give the tackiness a different glow. We were even treated to a popular Canadian attraction when a golden busker attracted crowds by tosing out necklaces for a toonie. Clifton Hill is worth a brief visit, especially if staying in a nearby hotel like we did.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Hill also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Clifton Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing