We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled but charged! Impossible to contact!”
Review of The Diplomat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Diplomat Inn
Ranked #79 of 127 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I was charged for 1 night stay in June despite my cancellation notice more than 10 days in advance. The hotel uses a third party booking service which after booking, doesn't seem to respond to cancellation requests. I sent 2 cancellation emails to the reservation email and received automated responses saying that I will be attended to soon but I never received a response. Following that it took 3 days of calling the hotel before I got to speak to a person instead of getting directed to the answering machine! And the hotel personnel told me she didn't have my reservation, but i was charged for the room despite that!

Since then I have sent an email and called twice to no avail. Always the automated email message and phone answering machine. Be warned! This hotel doesn't honor its cancellation policy at all!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank JoyCCL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 345 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014. Had a room on the second floor with two queen beds. Found the room nice and clean and smelled clean. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, offering directions and places to see. About a 10 minute walk down Clifton Hill which we did often. The only suggestion that I have would be a coffeemaker in the room for addicts like me. Great price and enjoyable stay! We'll definitely plan another trip here...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tj g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

If you are a budget traveler who wants cleanliness, quietness, and convenience, this is the perfect place to stay. I chose it because (unlike most of the other hotels in the Fallsview area of Niagara) there was no parking fee, it had a fridge (you have to specifically ask for a room with one), and the rate was affordable. I was not disappointed.

Our 2-queen bed room was down the end of a hall on the first floor so it was very quiet. I was extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the bedroom and the bathroom, the modern fridge with separate freezer (I've never seen that in a motel before!), and the awesome air conditioning. The owners were adorable, especially the grandfather who was planting flowers outside, and even the cleaning staff were helpful in giving advice about where to go.

I was really surprised at how close the motel was to the Falls. Walk a half a block to Robinson Street and take a left. Walk 2 blocks a (past the amazing Skylon Tower and IMAX) and then go down a set of stairs through a patch of trees. When you emerge, you are at the gorgeous Niagara waterfront with the Table Rock Tourist Centre a 10-minute walk away. So convenient!

As for restaurants close to the motel, there is an IHOP next door at the Radisson and Buchanan's Steak House at the Doubletree Hilton across the street. There are several other local restaurants within walking distance (pizza, Indian food, a buffet). However, with young kids and being on a budget, we mostly went to Lundy Lane ( one block away) and drove about four blocks down for a wide variety of fast food (Pizza Hut, Wendy's, McDonald's, Burger King, Red Lobster, etc.) In addition, there are a lot of large chain restaurants a few blocks away to the right also in the Fallsview area, several with outdoor musical entertainment. The Clifton Hill section of town is a few blocks in the other direction and had many restaurants as well. I did not care for that garish part of town at all, however, and enjoyed spending most of our time in the natural beauty of the Falls and the riverfront park.

The motel's outdoor pool is not big but was perfect for our needs after a long day of sightseeing. Other amenities included a microwave and ice machine on the second floor, which we used regularly.

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, this is not the place for you. If you want economy, convenience, and cleanliness, you can't go wrong with the Diplomat Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall on the first floor for the most quiet location. There is no el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbsboyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visited it during the March Break about 2 yrs ago, though the date box in the review does not let me go past 2014... We had booked 2 nights, based on the fav. Reviews and affordable on - line prices, which were presented as abs the best. When we arrived and signed for the rate, the sign by the motel advertised room rate lower by about 30% than we had agreed to pay! We discussed over the phone, when booking, and saw it on line that there would be a coffee maker in the Rm. Before getting the stuff out of the car, we went to check out the Rm. It had an awfully dirty , perm. shut window, no coffe maker and for some reason, a crib, which made it hard to get to the only nook where the hooks for outdoor clothes were. The motel was mostly empty, yet they were using this booked rm as a storage of unwanted furniture... When we went to the front desk to ask about a coffee maker, the lady owner went to the back rm. And brought in a coffee maker, which she assumed we would be carrying up to our rm. Ourselves. The access to the rms was through the Outside from the check in desk, in through another Dort, not very close, and up the stairs. As if we did not have to carry, in addition to our luggage, we also had to carry the coffee maker with a glass carafe, which could have fallen off. They also told us to return it to the front desk upon checking out. The lady owner was soo talkative, it was bordering on uncomfortable and we avoided stopping by the front desk to pick up some info if we saw she was there, because we knew she would start chatting again, for a LONG time! While nice, she was a bit odd. The worst part was when on the second day, we returned from the sightseeing in order to change for dinner and a show we had booked for that night, we were shocked to see our empty room's door was AJAR! We thought we were being robbed. The hallway was abs. Abandoned, there was no cleaning staff anywhere, and there is no way the check in desk lady could see our hallway from her desk around the corner, through the outside! We rushed to check our belongings and immediately phoned the desk to report the problem. To our total amazement, they did not think it was a big deal at all! She said the cleaning staff must have left it open, though we kept on telling her that all the cleaning must have been finished hrs ago and there was abs. No security or supervision of any kind, we were lucky we had not been robbed
. We would not stay there again, nor would we recommend anyone else to stay there.
The motel is not that close to the Falls, be prepared to walk unless you want to drive, and if you have kids or older adults with you, they would not be able to walk from this inn to the Falls.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SubjectivelyObjectiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I were quite happy with the accomadations of this hotel. very friendly staff. Clean room. Could use some updating on towels and bedding but it was clean. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was good. Assume others would be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The wife was really mad when we got to this thing, I mean, hotel. There is a reason it costs so little. Trash and old laundry all over, dirty carpet, etc. Close to falls? Sure, as are about 100 other hotels, and many of them are much closer to Clifton Hill, which we discovered was an interesting if cheesy tourist attraction in its own right. Well, no problems at this motel, but choose it only if you really need to save about $50-70 or so off a normal economy motel (which we did, but not again, not with the family).

Room Tip: To get a good room, try a different hotel. don't eat at the Perkins that is across the street, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakeadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our group of friends stayed at the Diplomat Inn for two nights. The others had been there before, but it was my first time and I was surprised at how friendly and welcoming the people at the front desk were. It is not one of those brand-new hotels, but it has a gentle charm of its own. There are no elevators and it was a long trek up to the room which was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The hotel is a pleasant walking distance to the attractions and stores in Clifton Hill area and the Falls. Even though it is conveniently located to the attractions, it is in a quiet stretch, which is very conducive to a good night's sleep after a day of adventures. Excellent value. Would definitely consider going back with my family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestIslander57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#44 of 127 in Niagara Falls
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
#29 of 127 in Niagara Falls
1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel by the Falls
Travelodge Niagara Falls Hotel b...
#45 of 127 in Niagara Falls
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Lundys Lane
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Lundys ...
#87 of 127 in Niagara Falls
617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#61 of 127 in Niagara Falls
755 reviews
2 mi away
Ramada Niagara Falls by the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Inn

Address: 5983 Stanley Ave | At Ferry, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 127 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $47 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Diplomat Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Diplomat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls
Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing