We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best staff I ever encounter”
Review of The Diplomat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Diplomat Inn
Ranked #77 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best staff I ever encounter”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When we came with my girlfriend we've been directly welcomed friendly. Asking where we were coming from, and begin to discuss a little, they even advised us to go to the Buffet at the Casino in the evening to enjoy the food and the view of the Falls. Only 22$ per person, that's a real good deal. If you can do it, it only takes 10-15 min by walk to go there.

The room where big and you can choose the temperature you want in it, the only little annoying point would be no warmer in the bathroom. But if you leave the door open, it will warm as you warm the room.

We took the double sized room (without the jacuzzi), it was really cosy and with all the place needed. The bed was really comfortable. The cleaning service is coming every days to change the towel and the bedsheet. You can even ask them to come later if you plan to sleep longer than 11 a.m.

When we were leaving they show us a good place where to take a real good expresso and some pastry just near. It was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belphemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    122
    76
    29
    31
See reviews for
90
143
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good welcome when we arrived and reception spent a good amount of time giving us advice which was well received. Coffee is good near reception and rooms are big and clean. Good location and make sure to utilise the WEGO buses.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbo_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Clean well kept hotel with a pool for the summer with the best rates around, near the falls and local stores, restaurants and the upgrade to jacuzzi room is not much more, seriously best value I have seen in awhile.

Room Tip: jacuzzi rooms are about 30 dollars more but have tons of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesaranader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Niagara Falls. It does not include breakfast but it does have free tea and coffee in the lobby and Tim Hortons is just down the road. The Inn is very clean and though dated it is very comfortable. We had a fridge in our room which we unplugged as it was quite noisy and we did not need it. The shower had hot water and is a one piece shower unit. The room was very large. Parking is free which is an added bonus as most hotels in Niagara Falls charge up to $20.00 a night. The Inn is well maintained, our room had been painted recently and there were no stains. They use keys not the cards to gain room access. We prefer keys. The T.V.s are old and there are no microwaves or coffee makers in the room. There was no street noise but next time we will book the top floor so there is no ceiling noise. They have an outdoor pool that we were told gets lots of use in the summer.

Room Tip: Book top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillandjohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We billet boys from Russia that play hockey here they are going home but wanted to seeNiagara Falls spent 2 days at this hotel they heped out with the paces to go,the rooms were very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms a fair size there were lots of towels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying there,the hotel is very close to the falls and Clifton Hill.

Room Tip: Next time I am going to book the room with the heart shape tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank storm1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Book a Non-Smoking Queen Bed Room with Jacuzzi. Arrived in middle of snow storm, front desk staff was quick & efficient and very friendly. Upon entering our room it was immediately noticable that the previous guests had smoked in it. Either housekeeping didn't notice, didn't care or didn't clean that room before we checked in. Front desk, immediately offered us they remaining jacuzzi room, however the heat was not turned on. Not a big deal, we could do that. BUT the heat in the hallways is not on either, on any floor. So no matter how high we had the heat turned on int he room there was a stead stream of cold air from under the door. No heat in the bathrooms either.

Carpets and furnishings are worn and in need of upgrading, but clean. Cold water tap on the jacuzzi turned on not matter which direction you turned it and the tap dripped contstantly, leaving what we assumed were white calcium puddles in the tub. We decided not to use the tub. Shame since we paid for that type of room specifically for the tub. The step to the tub is not screwed to the floor, causing it to tip dangersously with every step.

In-room movies are advertised on the website, however we could not find anything but regular cable channels. Also the remote for the TV did not work, may have just needed batteries.

Overall the hotel was clean but not very welcoming. We wont be returning or referring this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delicia1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked Diplomat Inn for our three days stay at Niagara. However, when we got to the hotel, it was 1am as we got late at the air port. True to the words in the hotel confirmation, which said "the latest check in was 9pm", the hotel was closed and thus we could not check in. So, we got check in to Ramada, which was next door. The following morning, we went and spoke to the hotel front desk at the Diplomat Inn to see if we can get the money back for that previous night. We were not sure as the cancellation policy also specified that in case of no show, the rate will be charged. Nevertheless, the lady at the front desk, named Francis, spoke to the hotel owner and the booking.com and refunded the money. She was very friendly and understanding. That incident created a very good impression in our minds and if we are to go back to Niagara again, we would definitely stay at Diplomat Inn.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GirinT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#58 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#40 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Inn & Suites
Universal Inn & Suites
#88 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn - Niagara Falls Clifton Hill Casino
0.2 mi away
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
Old Stone Inn Boutique Hotel
#29 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.5 mi away
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
#82 of 129 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Inn

Property: The Diplomat Inn
Address: 5983 Stanley Ave | At Ferry, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Diplomat Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Diplomat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls
Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing