We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable price for a quality room”
Review of The Diplomat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Diplomat Inn
Ranked #79 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The room was nice and good location.. just walking distance to all palce.. will come back to this hotel when we return to this area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for The Diplomat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 344 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

A great location. My family and I stayed here while we visited Niagara Falls. It was very close to the falls, a quick walk. There rooms were very spacious and clean. The price couldn't be beat. The front desk staff were most gracious and suggested where to visit and make the most of our time. We will suggest thos hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JumpinJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The staff are very friendly & owner is nice but this does not help the fact that their rooms are infested with big bites! Stayed there before & didn't know at the time what the marks on my body were! So grateful we didn't bring our toddler son with us!! The rooms are dated and not cleaned thoroughly.
My husband & I will never stay there again despite its ghost rates & location.
My whole body was covered in bites including my forehead which is disgusting! It took a week for the burning to stop and the scars are still there. We had to disinfect and thoroughly clean all our belongings. Still paranoid about them and afraid to stay in any hotel again.
Hope this forewarns anyone considering staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Avid-world-travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was my second time staying here. The front desk manager is very nice. Has great knowledge of the surrounding area. The room was okay with two twins beds. It was great for one night. The beds were comfortable. The tv worked okay. Not much space for putting your clothes, so if staying for a few nights bring some hangers. I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sim0n76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

First time staying here, the staff were VERY friendly and helpful. We opted for the jacuzzi suite, price was reasonable and the room was clean and nicely decorated. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuba422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

No frills inn, with friendly, helpful staff. Rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Great water pressure in the shower. Only minor drawback: the desk is not occupied at night, which made me a little uncomfortable as the rooms only had flimsy door-handle locks that open with a key. Our door had a deadbolt on it, but we didn't get a key for that. They should update their lock system. Otherwise, no complaints and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannaFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights over new years. I have to say good value for the money! Angelo and Joanne are both very friendly and helpful - made us feel very welcome. The room was clean with daily housekeeping, It was quiet and comfortable. Sure, the decor is dated, who cares? Actually felt like I was at a cottage, adding to the comfort factor. Everything necessary was functional and we had no problems. Complimentary coffee and tea from a machine in the lobby that was actually quite good.

A note to wheelchair users - the place is indeed accessible with a level entrance from the parking lot and the ground room floors were adequate for this purpose. Bit narrow on the bathroom door but otherwise perfect. The beds are actually perfect height for transferring - a rarity!

Ignore the other complainers here, I thought it was great value for the money and I can't think of a single thing to complain about, a rarity for me!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Universal Inn & Suites
Universal Inn & Suites
#81 of 128 in Niagara Falls
85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
Super 8 Niagara Falls North
#59 of 128 in Niagara Falls
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites
Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet...
#44 of 128 in Niagara Falls
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Inn Near The Falls
Kings Inn Near The Falls
#25 of 128 in Niagara Falls
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
7 Days Inn Niagara Falls
#74 of 128 in Niagara Falls
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairway Motor Inn
Fairway Motor Inn
#55 of 128 in Niagara Falls
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Inn

Address: 5983 Stanley Ave | At Ferry, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $46 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Diplomat Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Diplomat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls
Diplomat Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing