We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet little motel that offers good value and impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Niagara Falls Motor Lodge
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed August 4, 2009

If you are looking for a clean and quiet little motel that offers good value and impeccable service, this is the one for you. It is only a few minutes’ drive from the Falls, but it is surrounded with trees and fields, so it is a very peaceful place to rest after a day hanging out in noisy Niagara Falls. Both the bed and pillows offer firm support, which I liked, but my husband didn’t. I suppose this is a personal thing. The motel provides a little bottle of luxurious “Aromatherapy” conditioning shampoo and little soap bars. The only reason I am not giving this motel 5 stars is that there were two drawbacks: First, the air-conditioning unit was very loud – it was the only thing disturbing the peace and quiet that this motel offers. Second, upon entering our room for the first time, we noticed a slight mouldy smell, so we bought a bottle of Febreeze at the nearby Canadian Tire and sprayed it around the room, and this took care of this small problem. Despite of this, I would still highly recommend this motel because of all the reasons I mentioned above.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranceAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Niagara Falls Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

A number of features attracted us to this place! Close to Marineland and other attractions of interest, away from the craziness of "downtown", outdoor entrance, cost, among other things like BETTY'S restaurant! (Fabulous). The beds weren't extremely comfortable, but we slept, showered and left! It certainly met our needs! It was clean and outside was also kept well! There wasn't a phone in the room, but we had cell phones if we needed to call, we wouldn't have used the phone anyway! Quiet surroundings, close to Tim Horton's, and friendly staff. The pool wasn't opened yet (but it was only May 21st! However, it was hot and would have been nice after a long day walking around everywhere to relax with a dip in the pool, maybe next time! I hope we can make a return trip this summer!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocelyn4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stubled upon this website and found it to have a great look.
So we booked it. Upon our arrival we were met with friendly staff and a clean family run motel. It was nice to see old values.

They provided us with the use of BBQ and a pavillion that allowed us to prepare a nice meal for our family, then return back to Marineland (2min away) later that day.

The pool was warm and clean and the kids really took advantage of it.

We truely enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshallToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

The Motor Lodge Motel in Chippewa/Niagara, Ontario has very thin walls and a loud, drinking clientele. Although they have a notice on the inside of their doors requesting quiet after 11pm, the owner is reluctant to enforce these rules.

When we stayed at the motel, our next door neighbours continued to be very loud well after 11pm, making it impossible for us to sleep. There are no telephones provided in the rooms, so we first tried the motel's office and discovered that the motel has no on sight overnight staff. We then asked for help at the bar which is attached to the motel, but the bar tender told us that the two establishments are unrelated. As a result, we had to use our foreign mobile phone to call the emergency number. When we did so the man seemed very annoyed and asked us what WE had done about the situation. When we told him it was the motel's responsibility to enforce their rules he promised to look into the situation. After 15-20 min we called him back as the noise continued and asked for an update. The man seemed much more agitated but said he'd send someone over.

The owner later knocked on our door. He explained to us that our neighbours weren't being obnoxious. We explained that they were being very loud and preventing us from sleeping. Still without speaking to them and enforcing the motel's rules, he asked us if we wanted to leave and get our money back. I would have loved to leave, however, where can you go at 12:30 am on a busy weekend in Niagara? Finally, he did knock on the neighbours' door and asked them to be quieter which helped a little with their noise levels.

A few hours later, however, after the motel's bar closed down, the noise began again, this time with the rowdy drunks leaving the bar and continuing their party in their room.

It wasn't a relaxing or pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TKFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stratford, ON
1
Reviewed June 11, 2006

The staff we courteous and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and had a partial view of the Horseshoe falls. There are several family restuarants within easy walking distance including Vinny's right next door and Applebees over the road. If you were thinking about going to CirqueNiagara (Avia) make sure you do. The show is excellent - good clean fun for the whole family. However, make sure you take some extra padding to sit on as the seats aren't overly comfortable (ringside $55 Canadian) and the show goes for just over two hours. One more thing, the Niagara Falls Motor Lodge is the same place as the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
119
Reviewed August 9, 2003

When planning my wknd trip to Niagara for Aug 2003, I first looked at rooms within walking distance of the Falls, but these all cost more than I wanted to spend.

With very little info to go on (just one review on Trip Advisor) I decided to go ahead and reserve a room at Niagara Falls Motor Lodge. It was a short drive from the Falls and the quoted price was only about $60 U.S. (before tax) a night.

We ended up being quite happy with it. As mentioned by the other reviewer, it was clean. It is small (20 rooms, 2 stories) and is family-owned and run. The beds were queen-sized (which is not always easy to find these days). I really liked being able to park the car right outside our door.

It is showing age and wear and tear, so you cannot be expecting something fancy. The furniture is scratched up a bit, but there is a small table with chairs, a dresser/desk, etc. The TV is old and somewhat small, but it has a remote and cable, incl HBO. There is a refrigerator and a microwave (but you can't plug them both in at the same time). The bathtub/shower seemed new. When people in the room above us were getting ready in the morning, it seemed loud, but not really bothersome. I would suggest earplugs if you are a light sleeper (I never travel without them).

The pool and pool area is small, and not the most attractive, but my 10 yr old was happy to swim in it.

It was only a 2 minute drive to the parking area where for $7.50 U.S.
you can park all day which includes a shuttle to the main Falls area.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Winnipeg, Manitoba
113
Reviewed June 14, 2003

The hospitality was great, great friendly service, and the rooms were very clean. The property looks onto a park like setting, and is in a quiet neighbourhood away from the busyness of the rest of the city. I would recommend this motel to anyone with children, or people who would like to get away from everything and to relax. The heated pool is an added bonus.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.7 mi away
River Rapids Inn
River Rapids Inn
#33 of 128 in Niagara Falls
59 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#79 of 128 in Niagara Falls
344 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niagara Parkway Court
Niagara Parkway Court
#28 of 128 in Niagara Falls
404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kings Inn Near The Falls
Kings Inn Near The Falls
#25 of 128 in Niagara Falls
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet Inn and Suites
Americas Best Value Inn - Chalet...
#45 of 128 in Niagara Falls
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niagara Falls Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niagara Falls Motor Lodge

Address: 7950 Portage Rd | at Legion Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 5Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $49 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Niagara Falls Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Niagara Falls Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niagara Falls Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing