We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay campground, but no privacy”
Review of King Waldorf's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Niagara Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Waldorf's
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights so we could go to Marineland. We picked this place specifically for the discount on Marineland (which we never received) The campsites are nice, but you have no privacy at all. No trees or anything throughout the park. And in the advertisement they make it sound like a 5 minute walk to Marineland. Its more like a 15 minute drive. And there is only one washroom in the whole park. Now, we went in August on a weekend, so the washrooms were packed. You are lucky to get in to use the bathroom, never mind have a shower. Don't think I would go back. ( the staff were very nice though)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chrissy_mac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place is really nice espically if you get a river view. Marine land isent that far if you have a car. The pool here was really full. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull. We really enjoyed are stay. There are lots of restaurants close by and around clifton hill and the falls.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We spent 3 nights in our rental RV on a river side pitch. The river side pitch was a bit more expensive but worth it. The facilities were good and clean. The staff were very helpful, answering alsorts of questions about the park and the surrounding area. We visited Marineland and Niagara easily from this base. It was very quiet when we were there. I am not sure it would have seemed so peaceful when full but considering how close it is to all the attractions of Niagara then it was really quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jess_sings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is for anyone who is getting there by foot or has no car/other mode of transportation. Marineland is far. At least a good 30-45 minute walk from King Waldorf's. To take a bus downtown you have to walk 30-45 minutes to McLeod Road and wait there by the lights. Long story short, the advertisement made it seem like it was right next door to Marineland but that is not the case at all. Didn't really have so much of a problem with the staff, mostly everyone spoke French ( We came from Quebec ) but a few were rude and unhelpful ( poor customer service ). Example: We asked if we could use their phone to call for a cab and although all the phones were not being used, one staff member directed us to the phone booth outside in a very condescending manner. Did not appreciate the way they talk down to people. Not very welcoming ( did not even show us the way to our tent site) just gave us a map and shoved us out of the door. Overall, negative experience at King Waldorf's mainly due to poor customer service by SOME staff members ( mostly younger ones ). But the best and most positive part of our trip was meeting the staff of the * Oaklands Golf Course* right across the street from the site. Red Ron makes the best burgers in town and the beer is inexpensive. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Gave us a free ride to town and advice on where to go and what to see for a fair price. AMAZING experience right across the street. Thank you Red Ron, Kelly and everyone at * Oaklands Golf Course* you made our trip memorable. For anyone looking for some good inexpensive food and alcohol just make the trip across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lavyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We camp 5 or more times each summer and this was simply the lowest quality of camping we have seen this year.

Two major complaints:
1/ I'm still shocked they don't put soap in the men's washroom because "they had it stolen a few years ago and didn't want it to happen again"! Isn't there a health code violation here...
2/ No composting - all cans, bottles, etc are simply thrown in the garbage.

In addition, a normal sized bag of wood cost $11.25 vs $6.00 everywhere else we camped this summer.

There is no bathroom beside the pool so you can guarantee very few people make the 200 meter walk over to the bathroom...

Friendly employees, just poor attention to detail at this site.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BarMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

If you are looking for an alternative to an expensive stay near the Falls, try King Waldorf's Tent & Trailer Park. We were thinking of staying at the Falls until we saw the exuberant prices of a good hotels at the Falls for a Saturday night stay. Most were over $200 and some were not even 3 star quality. We live in Toronto, a 1.5 hour drive away, so we could not justify these high prices. It only cost us $37.00/night/site to stay at King Waldorf's Tent & Trailer Park. Besides, given a choice the kids wanted to camp outside. This made the decision that much easier. Our expectations were simple; the camp ground must be within a 15 minute drive of our destination, there had to be 2 sites side by side available, the sites along with the bathroom and shower facilities had to be very clean, and it had to have a playground - a pool for swimming would be a bonus. Well, King Waldorf's Tent & Trailer Park was all this. When we arrived at the park gate at 11:00 AM Saturday morning there was a 6 car line up in front of us. We were fortunate because there were only 2 sites available that were side by side. The staff there was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful from the moment we arrived. We were assigned site numbers 1 and 2 which was opposite a huge open and groomed field with picnic tables on it. Loved it! It meant more privacy than those located more inside the park. Don’t be scared off by the description of a “Dumping Ground” located near these sites. It is only a large green bin that is distant to where you will be camping. You won’t even notice it. Be warned that the sites where we stayed is quite open, meaning that there are no trees to tie up a tarp for shade or shelter on a hot or rainy day so don’t forget to bring your tarp poles. Don’t even think of roping the small trees that are located on your site. These trees are way too small to hold up a tarp and you will damage them. The site supervisor will have you take them down. This is not unreasonable at all. The supervisor is extremely detailed and does his job well. He will check everything to ensure you and other guests have a great stay and that everything is in order, from number of guests on your site, that your car is parked at the correct location, you check out on time, your fire pit and the facilities are clean, guests follow park rules etc. Here are some other points you should note: The sites are not private at all; there is water and electricity included at each site; the pool is not huge but sufficient; the pool water was very cold; it took us 11 minutes from the grounds to Casino Niagara (no highway required); you may enter and leave the park as you desire; check in and out is 11:00AM but they will give you a site earlier if available; bag of fire wood is approximately $10.00 CAD; fire pits have to be put out by 2:00AM; quiet time is 11:00PM. If your expectations are similar to mine and you are not expecting Algonquin Park, check out King Waldorf's Tent & Trailer Park near (and owned by) Marineland. You will have a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cloudsurfer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We camped out for one night at King Waldorf in Niagara.SInce all the tents with water and electric hook ups were all taken when we came in, we opted to camp on the open field (without electric and water).

We however found out we made the right decision since we had more space for our kids to play and we were also near the toilet and shower facilities.

We truly enjoyed the place since all the showers had hot and cold water, The bath and toilets was moderately clean since the place was jampakced with weekend campers and there was also a thunderstorm on the Saturday morning when we were there.

The good thing with King Waldorf is that it is very near the Falls(about 5 minutes drive) and near Marineland. You will also feel safe since they wont allow just anybody to go in.Our friends visited us and they paid $5 each just to enter the grounds.

They have two pools, male and female bath and toilet facilities. It is also near the river.

The camping Fee of $36 was also quite reasonable since when we surveyed the other camps in Niagara average price is about $46 per night.

We would definitely return.
http://turistangbarat.blogspot.com/2011/08/beautiful-niagara.html

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
5.1 mi away
Riverside Park Motel and Campground
3.2 mi away
Sheraton on the Falls
Sheraton on the Falls
#6 of 128 in Niagara Falls
7,281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
2.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
2.3 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Waldorf's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Waldorf's

Address: 9015 Stanley Ave | South end of Marineland, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 6X8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $20 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
King Waldorf`s Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing