We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An absolute gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Inn
Ranked #23 of 66 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My partner and I chose the chestnut inn to get married in, wanting an intimate ceremony for just the two of us. We couldn't have chosen better! The inn itself was beautiful, the rooms had real charm and were extremely comfortable and cosy. We booked the blue room which also had a balcony with a great view of the surrounding area. Where the inn really excels is service though, Carole the house manager is quite possibly one of the most wonderful people we've ever met, so warm and welcoming she gives the place it's heart and soul. I had not been able to bring any flowers for my wedding and my partner wanted me to have a bouquet and when he asked Carole if we could get some, not only did she call the florists but actually drove us there to pick them up! We also were given a champagne to celebrate our wedding which was a lovely thoughtful gesture, perfect to sip as we sat on the balcony watching the squirrels :) the breakfast there were also fantastic, the house speciality French toast was heavenly and there was certainly plenty of food on offer :) it felt as though nothing was too much trouble. We will definately be visiting again, and we would love to celebrate an anniversary there in the future. Thank you for making our time there as wonderful as it was x x x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Chestnut Inn for our wedding in September 2012 and cannot fault this place. The staff were so welcoming and just could not do enough for us. The breakfast is described as continental but the table was groaning with delicious food each morning. We were married in the Gazebo and could not have wished for a better location. We hope we can return one day to this magical bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The loft room is very spacious and has its own big decked area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertsons93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night at the Chestnut Inn with friends and we received a warm & friendly welcome from Karen our hostess. The rooms we had were very spacious and comfortable. All the rooms had a balcony except ours which was "The Loft" and had an enormous roof patio. Breakfast was served in a beautifully furnished dining room by Katina who was charming and very helpful. We would definitely recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: We had "the Loft" and the "Grey Room" and would recommend either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Chestnut Inn for 3 nights. Carol, the house manager is lovely and cheerful. The room we were staying in, the top level, the Loft, is actually the attic, with a huge room that seem to be able to sleep 5, a walk-in wardrobe, a tub and a huge personal deck. You even have your own private staircase from the 2nd level up to the Loft. The room was clean and quaint. The beds were comfortable. Loved the breakfast... Very good experience, at a good price. Coming from Asia, where many hotel rooms are more expensive but much smaller, the Loft is a luxury and a lovely vacation place. Our Air conditioner stopped on 1 night and upon calling the emergency number pinned on the refrigerator, managed to get the owner Karen to check the fuse, and she helped us get the AC back on again.

Room Tip: The Loft is on the 3rd floor, so if you have quite a big luggage, you may want to get the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaynaLee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
512 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a lovely B&B in a charming large house with wrap-around porches, large rooms and bathrooms, and private verandas. It is up the gorge from the craziness of the falls area, in a charming district. Carol, the manager, is helpful and kind, but you need to catch her when you check in or at breakfast, since she isn't on-site at other times. We did get spoiled with our other B&B experiences and missed some extra touches like cookies in the afternoon, varied breakfast fare, etc. Although breakfast was good here, it was the same french toast dish each day, and no granola, eggs, meats, etc. Also--the showers in the claw tub bathtubs were awkward, almost dangerous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookpias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Met two friends that were coming in from the midwest on their way to Toronto. Easily fit three into the Blue Room. Main bed was terribly hard. Lovely deck off our room and first floor seating areas. Not much more than a continental breakfast. Woman that was making the beds met us and couldn't help us with anything local as she was from NOTL. Agree with others that could use more local information and help with dinner and attraction reservations. Bus is very convenient. Happened to be there the Wolenda day when buses stopped running. Took a cab from south end of the falls area to Inn for under $9. Large front porch with NO ROCKING CHAIRS? Just padded chairs and round tables. NIce place and would go back - just with different expectation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Trying to stay out of hotels we settled on this B&B for our recent trip to Niagara Falls. The house is in very good condition and very welcoming. The downstairs area has a number of sitting areas including a large veranda, perfect for relaxing. Upstairs there are 4 rooms. We stayed in the Grey Room and were very impressed. The room is large with a good sized ensuite and as an added bonus has a single day bed that could easily sleep a child. The only downside we had was that we didn't find the bed overly comfortable.
Breakfast in the mornings was ample and included their signature Apple French Toast!
Overall a very good B&B only a 15 minute walk from the falls that has good sized rooms, hearty breakfasts and very friendly & helpful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thommo_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.9 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
Greystone Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor B&B
Glen Mhor B&B
#13 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
Lion's Head Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Inn

Property: Chestnut Inn
Address: 4983 River Rd | At Bampfield Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chestnut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing