We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accomodation”
Review of Chestnut Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnut Inn
Ranked #21 of 67 Niagara Falls B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We did our research before booking this B&B and ended up here mainly because despite it being a long weekend they didn't force us into a 2-night minimum like other places. We couldn't have picked a nicer place; the grounds are lovely and they have on-site parking. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Karen, who was very polite but absent for the rest of our stay, which personally I don't mind as long as somebody is around. The guest house is separate from the main house which I found far better than sleeping in 'Billy's room' with all of his sports memorabilia and other 'memories' (yes, this happened to me a few years back) or having to be mindful of which rooms to avoid so as to not disturb the owner during their private time. Carol, who made breakfast, was extremely gracious and delightful! Breakfast was continental (including cereal, croissants, muffins, bagels and their special apple stuffed french toast, coffee, tea & juice) and more than enough for us. The rooms have everything; fireplace for cold nights and a/c for the hot days and private bathrooms. It is a well-kept home and pretty much has everything you need; we were very comfortable and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the grey and rose rooms, both were lovely. Rose room's balcony is very small but fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaspberryTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This B&B was very charming. It has 4 bedrooms and lots of common sitting rooms. It was clean and cosy. It is all funrished with antiques befitting the period of the house. It has a large front veranda you can sit out on, which is nice. The loft room is the best, in my opinion, as it is the whole 3rd floor of the house and even has its own private rooftop patio. It has a good location right beside the Niagara Gorge. We did not get to meet the owners of the property...just some of the staff briefly. I took one point off for uncomfortable sheets/bed and a mediocre breakfast experience. I would recommend this place to friends/family for the classic B&B experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefertari0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very nice BnB, stayed in the loft. Huge room, comfy bed. Breakfast was amazing.

Room Tip: loft room at top of building. Very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We rented the entire Inn for our wedding the weekend of October 21-23.

I cannot say enough good things about this B&B from the wonderful decor to the friendly staff Carol and owners Karen and Lou.

They made sure everything was prefect for our wedding, the day of the wedding they cut the lawn pick up any fallen leaves and branches. It was like having a home away from home.

All rooms have there own balcony, the loft room is the biggest room, each room has a gas fireplace there is also a gas fireplace in the living room

Room Tip: this location is not wheel chair accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great place, outstanding location and awsome people make this one of the best places to stay in Niagara . The rooms are large and very clean with big decks and fireplaces . We plan to go back soon .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in Niagara Falls, Ontario, this is the place to stay. We stayed in in the largest, Loft room on the third floor. It was spacious, very comfortable and offers a large deck. There are 3 other rooms, all decorated tastefully in a relaxed Victorian style, all have private baths and deck space as well. We took advantage of the spacious front porch to enjoy a coffee before the delicious breakfasts, snacks before going out to dinner and later in the evening, enjoyed wine purchased at one of the many local wineries. The owners occupy a separate adjacent home so all the kitchen amenities, minus the stove for liability reasons, are available to the guests as well as a smaller utility room on the second floor. The main living room is comfortable and there is also a beautiful sun room for cooler weather. The staff is cordial, knowledgeable and very helpful. An added feature is the People Mover bus that takes you to all the major attractions in the Niagara Falls area stops right in front of the B+B every 25-20 minutes.
We will be recommending The Chestnut Inn to our friends.

Room Tip: Blue Room has a king bed, others have queen. All have at least one other bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wblaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Would highly recommend this facility to people wishing to meet great people, be at the "people mover" bus stop & share a comfortable relaxed get-away. No need to drive to major attractions, or look for parking (expensive). Also, walking distance to great restaurants or even to the major attractions if you are young & love to walk.

Each room has a deck & is beautifully decorated in the Victorian period. No WIFI, but who needs it when in vacation, cell phones work. Their "secret breakfast special" has to be tasted to love. No "secret" once you have tasted it! WOW!

Yes, if we go back we will STAY with Karen & Lou. Gracious and friendly hosts. "Try it you'll like it!" We did! Sandy & Jim

Room Tip: Any room is spectacular! Loft would sleep a family comfortably, as would the Grey room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Bedham Hall Bed and Breakfast
Bedham Hall Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 67 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acacia Bed & Breakfast
Acacia Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 67 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.9 mi away
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
Two Rivers Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 67 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
Redwood Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 67 in Niagara Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Niagara Grandview Manor
Niagara Grandview Manor
#13 of 67 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accommodations Niagara Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Inn

Property: Chestnut Inn
Address: 4983 River Rd | At Bampfield Street, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2E 3G6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chestnut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing