We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in such high cost city”
Review of Blue Moon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Moon Motel
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Blue Moon. It allowed us to spend our money doing the things we wanted in the falls area. We arrived early and got right in. The fridge was large enough for us to store everything we brought. The picnic area was excellent. We grilled out, swam at the pool, took the bus everywhere. It was nice not to have to pay for parking. Yes, the room was kind of cramped in comparison, but I was glad to have the sink and fridge instead of extra space to move around. It is lovely there, lots of flowers, clean chairs to sit outside, clean pool and grilling area. We travel often with our children and I felt this place was a wonderful value. The owner was so friendly. Whatever we needed, she took care of, and I know the place was fully booked. It was very quiet. The walls are concrete block, so you don't hear anyone. Breakfast was great. I would much rather stay here than a mid-level hotel with loud kids running through the halls, or party people coming in at all hours of the night.

Room Tip: Corner room was nice, but the wi-fi didn't work because we were farthest from the main house. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 311 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Blue Moon is a great old style motel that has been well maintained. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was more than expected and the overall price was great. Its a bit away from the tourist areas which made it very quiet. Lots of families were there. We had a room with a mini kitchen which was nice to have, but it was a small room. It worked fine for us because we weren't in the room much and we are used to camping in a trailer. With 2 adults and 2 almost adult children, it was a bit crowded and not much space to store things. I would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bairwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Blue Moon Motel. We stayed here on a quick trip to Niagara Falls while traveling to Vermont from Ohio. We were very pleased with our room, as it was clean, quiet and comfortable. This is not a fancy place, but it is nice. The owners have been there for over 20 years or more and know how to make you feel comfortable. I seen where one reviewer felt it needed updating. I don't necessarily agree. This is a dated motel, but again, our room was clean and comfortable. Telephone calls to the United States are free which was helpful since our Verizon Cell Plan does not include calls from Canada without an 85 cent per minute fee. We turned off our cell phones, used the room phone for our calls back to the states, and were very happy with our stay. Owners are very helpful with suggestion on what to visit and see, where to park, when to go, etc. Don't hesitate to ask. A complimentary breakfast is included which was just as good as the ones served at Days Inn, and those type of motels. We would suggest staying here if you want to get away from the downtown crowds and we felt very safe in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back and it was very quiet when were staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

After having horrendous problems with hotels in Niagara Falls in the past, Blue Moon came thru as we had hoped, not fancy, but clean and priced right. Very dated, but mostly clean, hardwood floors were probably mopped with dirty water, came off on sox, beds decent, sheets and towels clean. No loud ruckus, many families with children staying there. Pool is nice, not used much by guests, but it was warm so we used it. Worth staying there if you can deal with dated but decent, if that don't work , go across the street to Americana and spend at least 3 times as much. Didn't utilize the free breakfast but the people that did seemed to enjoy it. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FRED S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonNiagaraFalls, Manager at Blue Moon Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are responding not necessarily directly to you but for the general reader. Our floors are cleaned daily with a Swiffer and we do spray Mr. clean on the floors before we wipe them and when bad they clean the floors by hand. We do not use mops and dirty water. What happens, is that 1 out 100 guests will take off their shoes before they enter the room. The rest will walk in with their shoes and luggage from the car park to the room, since we do not have corridors covered in carpet to clean the shoes, the floor eventually gets dirty and once in the room and the shoes are off! the floor is no longer clean. Other guests will walk bare foot from the pool to their room with no slippers or sandals. Our housekeepers clean the floors daily and change the Swiffer pads constantly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Had no problems with our reservation and room was available early (bonus!). It is a cute place and reminds me of places we stayed in when I was growing up. Pool was warm and they provided towels. Room had not been dusted in a while but other than that it seemed clean enough. But like another reviewer said, it could use some updating - table was wobbly, bed was creaky, etc. It is aged and rooms are small, but if you go in with slightly lower expectations, it is fine for a one night stay. Tip - you need to get hair dryers at the front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luvflowers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Let's see....will write as neutral as I can....First...we got there and our room was not available..Doris (the owner) inquired to see if that was a big deal....beginning of the holidays...not so much....We were moved the next day (by them since we were not at the room for the day) but owners had an outing they had to attend....forgot to leave us the key....not a big deal...came back and apologized...all good....the room was OK at best....felt quite small when used by a family of four...my issue was with the "cutting corners" when cleaned. Yes the tub and sink were cleaned...yes the beds were made...but they do not clean the floor. I have never seen my kids' feet (or mine) so dirty....did a clean test right after we came back and the room cleaned...and it wasn't pretty. The cleaning staff forgot to hook up a shower curtain, so again had to get Doris...she complied and apologized. The pool was a welcomed pleasure for our children when back from the daily outings to the Falls...The breakfast was fine...ranging from bagels to white and brown bread, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, juices and coffee...All good... for a continental type breakfast. Came time to pay....well...hmm let's just say...check your bill....if you have booked online....there will be a room deposit fee (Expedia doesn't address this fee) and was surprised to be charged the month I booked....check your Visa/Mastercard the month you book. We were also charged the tax twice....I couldn't deal with any more issues this week...so my husband went and dealt with it....another apology....again...the couple who run the place are nice....they want out of the business...they have ran their course and I can't blame them....Hope this kind of helps...I do not know....

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Josée L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I agree with all of the positive comments so won't repeat posts. The only reason not scoring 5 is because of our bathroom. It was very clean but so worn the shower just wasn't inviting. We had a large jacuzzi in the room which we didn't use. Ripping out that jacuzzi and updating the bathroom would rate a big 5 from us. Not complaining, just a suggestion. Thank you for adding the bowl of peanuts to our happy hour. You go the extra mile for customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fancy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Niagara Falls Centre St. By the Falls
2.6 mi away
The Diplomat Inn
The Diplomat Inn
#78 of 128 in Niagara Falls
345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel by the Falls Niagara Falls
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
Comfort Inn Lundy's Lane
#43 of 128 in Niagara Falls
352 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#12 of 128 in Niagara Falls
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Motel

Address: 8445 Lundy's Lane | At Kalar Road, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2H 1H5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#17 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $43 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Moon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Hotel Niagara Falls
Blue Moon Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing