We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Thai Cuisine

Mai Thai Cuisine
Ranked #104 of 549 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Thai, Gluten-Free, Vegan and Vegetarian friendly.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I went to Mai Thai with some friends on Saturday. We had some pad thai and curry dishes. The food was bland and wasn't fresh. I don`t understand how they get such ratings. Not impressed at all!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    29
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
453 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Excellent food, huge servings at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant really delivers in the value department! Servings are huge and the food is delicious with fast, friendly service. The only downside is the restaurant location in a plaza on a busy street and the decor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin City, Kansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in Niagara Falls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Read the reviews here on trip advisor and went there for lunch. Fresh, cooked to order Thai food, very delicious! Lunch choices included Red Curry, Spicy Basil Thai and Pad Thai Noodles. All delicious!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kurtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy access, great food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Caution: closed Mondays We stopped in, lots of parking, greeted by the staff as if we were family. Good selection of menu items. Fast, friendly, efficient service. Food: good presentation. wonderful taste, adequate quantity. Reasonable prices. Yes, everyone speaks English. We intend to go there again whenever we're in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Okay Food, Good Service, Nice Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I went to Mai Thai after a day of touring at Niagara. Mai Thai is definitely not near the major tourist attractions of Niagara, it is closer to the Outlets if you going there, it would be closer by. We took our car and there is parking available, as it is farther from The Falls.
The staff was very friendly and the restaurant had a several tables at 9:00 pm on a Saturday night. We had the calamari and the fresh rolls for an appetizer. The calamari was okay, a little rubbery, but they did give you a generous amount. The fresh rolls were better of the two appetizers.
For dinner my husband had pad thai, and we have had pad thai from many places and it was just okay. It was not the most authentic pad thai we've had. Not the worst, just okay. It seemed like it had ketchup in it, which was a bit of a turn off for me.
I had the soy sauce noodles and it was okay too. It did have good fresh vegetables, which I appreciated, but the noodles seemed a little under cooked, and it lacked a bit of flavor even though I asked for mild, not no spice.
Overall, we thought the meal was okay, good size portions, if you want a bar, it has one, but we probably wouldn't return. If someone were to ask me about this restaurant I would say if you were looking for mediocre thai, Mai Thai fits the bill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Thai Cuisine also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Mai Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing