We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth taking a taxi from the falls”

Syndicate Restaurant and Brewery
Ranked #35 of 553 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth taking a taxi from the falls”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I really liked this place and would go back. I thought it was cozy and looked more expensive than it really was--great presentation! The food was pretty good considering the price point. The $20 three course dinner was a great value. Not 5 star food by any means but the well worth the lower prices. Service was a little blah and the dessert was obviously made off-site. Good beer too. I think if you are comparing this to places near the falls you are better off going here. I think syndicate caters more to the local crowd which usualy means they think you might return. Places near the falls don't seem to care since you are likely not coming back no matter what. This is a generalization but more ofen than not its true huh? Make a reservation, it's small and busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasbopolecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    226
    80
    46
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
411 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit -- Twice!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Syndicate was recommended to us by the owner of another restaurant, so we gave it a try. What an exceptional deal. We called for reservations that evening, and we had to wait until 8:30. It was worth the wait. Prix-fixe meal was $20 Canadian. These are not tapas size portions. The appetizer (four choices), the entree (about eight choices), and four desserts are all full-size, and each of us was pleased with our selections. I enjoyed the lamb shank the first night, and the NY Strip bone-in the second ($6 surcharge). My partner is still raving about the lobster raviolis. We shared a bottle of Strewn Cab Sauv because we had visited the Strewn winery the day before. Our only two minor criticisms -- the cheese selection for dessert was served cold which didn't flatter the flavors, and I had to ask several times for a glass of water both nights. Otherwise, dinner was fantastic , so we made reservations to return the next night. Well worth the visit. And for beer fans, a huge selections. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Go for it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't Go Without a Reservation”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The first night we arrived in Niagara we decided to go to the Syndicate based on TripAdvisor recommendations. We wanted something casual as it was our first night after a long drive. First of all, we did not realize it was so far from the tourist area. We walked 85% of the way from the falls because we kept waiting on a We Go Bus that never came. When we finally arrived we stood there for several moments before anyone greeted us. Once they finally did, they asked about a reservation. When we said no, the girl's whole attitude changed and she stated "well with no reservation we only have this corner table." We didn't mind since we were hungry, but it was an isolated table by the door. The problem was that the chair was completely broken. The entire center of the chair was sunken in. We asked for another and the waitress said the other two already broke so we don't have any. Mind you there was an empty table with smaller chairs, though they would have been better. Her offer to give me a bar stool seemed equally uncomfortable. I had to sit on a sweatshirt just to reach the table and to fill the hole so the chair was not unbearable.

The food was good though not very big portions. The waitress tried to imply that the chef chose the cow and slaughtered it himself for the cut of the night. Strange. The pumpkin beer was very good. It came to be our understanding that this place is fairly new and the locals do not recommend it. They all say they hear the food is good, but the service is poor. We should have asked around first. This is not a brewery like we are accustomed to. There are much better places in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nwrightnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently returned from a long weekend in Niagara Falls. We decided not to eat at the more touristy places near the falls, but rather drive up the road a mile and take a chance getting in at the Syndicate Restaurant & Brewery. We were so happy with our choice! We arrived without a reservation (I recommend making one) and they were kind enough to fit us in at 7:30 p.m. on a Saturday night. The food was excellent, they were accommodating with our daughter who is a bit of a picky eater and the service was superior (we had Randi as our server). By the end of the meal, our daughter was saying it was the best meal she had ever had and our son was picking out a meal for the next night becuase he wanted to try other meals on the menu. Before we left, we made a reservation for the following evening and brought additional people with us just to enjoy the wonderful experience we had at the Syndicate!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Quality and Filling”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went there with some friends, the atmosphere was a little date-y that night but it could be a great hangout.

The food was 'quality', with enough of it to be worth the $10 price tag. Seriously low prices on food. The Syndicate is really focused on the craft brew scene and has some kind of affiliation with the TAPS Restaurant (can be seen online).

Bring a couple. Seriously, a 'couple'. We must have been there on date night and at least have one couple there to celebrate some imaginary milestone might have cut the one kink. Full marks for everything else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syndicate Restaurant and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Syndicate Restaurant and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing