We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slip sliding away”
Review of Ponte Vecchio

Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #84 of 557 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Cuisines: Italian, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Slip sliding away”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As recently as last fall we would have rated this dining experience as one of our favourites but on this past Mother's Day weekend we were sorely disappointed. To star there was sticker shock with respect to prices. Normallyon the pricey side it seems thatinflation has hit especially when the special of the day starts at $40. The wine selection is excellent but be prepared for at least $9.50 a glass. We started with the calamari which the waiter noticed we were not eating after the first mouthful and apologized and removed it from our bill. It was as if he anticipated our reaction. It was unbelievably chewy and accompanied with greens but no flavour or taste at all. The Gniochetti was described beautifully on the menu but what arrived was not baby gnocchi but regular gnocchi in a very acidic tomatoe meat sauce. The good news was the 1/2 order is more than enough and you do not need to pay for a full order and at least the menu does offer 1/2 orders of pasta.The special was a good size portion but the fish was dry and somewhat chewy as well. Hopefully this was an off day for their chef as the atmosphere is excellent but if they are relying on casino comps to keep the restaurant open I am afraid that eventually they will become just empty space.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaquence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    36
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dining for a Special Occasion”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Seeing the name "Ponte Vecchio" rekindles very special memories for us after a journey to Italy in 2001. How perfect, then to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary at the Ponte Vecchio Restaurant in Niagara Falls, Ontario. A peek in the windows suggested a warm and comfortable atmosphere, wonderful lighting, rich tones. We arrived at 8:00 only to discover our choice was AAA Five Star - lots of pressure now to impress all around! And impressed we were, indeed, from the first sip (the perfect 'dirty' Martini) to the last bite. Pear and Caesar salads were fresh, interesting and generous. Entrees of veal chop and rack of lamb ( best ever!) were prepared to perfection with unique vegetable accompaniment. We lingered over coffee and tea - desserts were so tempting but our tummies rebelled - the evening well managed and perfectly timed by our waiter, Carmen.
Placing a 'value' rating is so subjective; this is a $$$$ restaurant. For us, sharing a beautiful dining experience, reminiscent of memorable evenings in a parallel Italian universe 12 years ago, was priceless!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wife's Birthday”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This restaurant is fine if you want good dinners in a nice atmosphere with a large choice of wines. It's not inexpensive, but in our several trips there for special occasions it's been fine, with nicely prepared and presented meals, and a friendly welcome even though it's been a while since we last were there.

Definately make reservations, especially on weekends and show nights when it's usually packed. As we expected from our previous trips to NF, our dinner of mushroom soup and a seafood linguini with my choice of Tiger shrimp, large tasty scallops, and clams was well prepared and tasty. My wife enjoyed her favorite very fresh Caesar salad with Tiger shrimps which precludes both of us having any room for the deserts. But our favorite server, Lisa, who remembers us each time with a big hug (who can complain about that???) brought a large glass filled with fresh, cut strawberries and the almond merangue cookies with a candle for my wife's birthday, made it a nice end to another fine dinner.

Too bad we can only afford the Pointe Vecchio for our special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries as it's an expensive eatery (we're both retired), but well worth the choice if you can splurge for the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLACKJACK721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I wish I owned this place”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Came here in march '13... Everything was 5 star.. The wine especially..yes it's pricey but it's worth it.. So much I went here twice in one visit... I had the salmon.. My girl had the pasta.. I ate both... The staff can't do enough for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayor331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Region ON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Expensive as hell but great atmosphere service and food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Forget the steakhouse in the casino...eat here. Really nice menu, not too big. Prices are over the top though. Regular Joe won't be able to afford to eat here. Most meals are comped. Thus the price I gather.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbilodeau55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponte Vecchio also viewed

Niagara Falls, Ontario
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing