We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #35 of 127 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed January 21, 2007

August 2006-We had a great stay,and close to everything. We reserved a falls view room and when we arrived ,it was across from the elevators, i went and asked for one further away and they upgraded us to the premier suite on the same floor-11 th. We ended up paying and staying two nights for the price of the regular room rate. We has an awesome view and was able to see the fireworks[ see schedule at desk] Our room had 2 tvs, 2 beds and single pullout in the sitting area, jac. tub, large floor to ceiling windows. If you were in a higher room your view would just get better. Pool was not the greatest, i would have expected something a bit more from this hotel, but cooled you off. Certainly the best hotel to see the falls and close to many restaurants.

Walk to everything, leave your car parked there, because nothing will be more closer. Buy the travel passes, makes most sense.

DO NOT Eat at the all you can eat country chalet breakfast house. It is awful, cold food, dirty dishes,expected us to pay $45.00 for breakfast 2 adults/2 kids[7&5]. I refused to pay it and handed them 25.00 and walked out. Asked to talk to manager, told none around. We took the safe route and ate at the Chain food restaurants to be sure.
Went to Marine land, a must, rent the baby stroller for the kids, we didn't but wished we had.

We will definitely go back to the oakes, spend the money for the view from your room, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,781 - 4,787 of 5,250 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2006

Room very clean and spacious. Easy to control the heat. Nice big bathroom with jacuzzi and shower. Sitting room and two tv's. Beautiful view of both falls and sunsets. Glass elevator. Staff pleasant and serve you fast. Probably the best hotel for viewing the falls.

Fallsview casino is right next door. Go for the Gourmet package and get a nice dinner for two at Remingtons (wine extra). The steak was very nicely done, and the calamari appetizer was very tender. They shuttle you to Remingtons, then you can walk across the street to the Casino Niagara, which I found nicer than the new one. We went to Yuk Yuks at the casino and it was great.

The Keg next door to the hotel had excellent service, great Mahi appetizer and steak and great views of Falls as well.

Niagara on the Lake defintely worth the 20 minute drive. Or take a wine tour.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torontonian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

This was amazing- a ner enough 5 tsra hotel- newly built so it's perfect, good amenities, clsoe to all attraction- can have room overloking falls- it's wicked- a must
and at the cost- we paid 25 for a double for 1 night.
that's just a bargain!!!!!

all the hotels are in same place- and this is as good a sthe hilton- cant fault it- just too good.
near ll the niagrs falls.

definately choose this one over another if i go to the falls again

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank holidaymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

We had an AWESOME view of the falls from our cozy 12th floor room. The staff was friendly, and the immediate area was civilized enough to walk around at night with a young child. There is a casino nearby as well as several decent restaurants. A few minutes walk and you are at the tourist strip (which got a bit rowdy after dark). There is a tram/lift that takes you down to the falls - have to pay each way though. The reviews about the lower floors and the attached motel are most likely true - the motel portion looked horrid from the outside... a marked difference from the entrance of the hotel portion. Not so sure how much of a view there would be below the 10th floor. Just to be safe, always assure you are above the 11th floor. It was a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. In hindsight, looking at the "affordable" and "budget" establishments that I originally considered, the extra $$$ made all the difference. We will stay at the oaks again.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bubalanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

What a great place.

The Oakes Hotel offers you a great place, great view and very close to the new Fallsview Casino resort area.

I researched almost all of the Hotels around the area and this one offered the best rate. We only stayed one night but, our experience was fantastic. Clean spacious rooms with a stunning view, comfortable beds and all the little amenities you could want. TV, Phone, Internet, Iron, Hairdryer we even made ourselves a cup of complimentary coffee in the morning.

We were on the 7th floor which was fine at this time of year (October) because there are no leaves on the trees, but if you are planning to stay during the summer months you will want to reserve a room higher than the 7th floor (Fallsview) in order to be able to see over the trees.

The Fallsview Casino is right next door and is an easy 2 minute walk from the Hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomodating offering us any upgrades and discounts that were available.

The express check-out is also a great service when you are leaving (no need to wait in line). All-in-all I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the Niagara Falls area.

Cheers!
John & Kim Robinson
Brampton, Ontario

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bigideas1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

Well first of all I would like to say how wonderful our check-in experience was thanks to Zyla at Check-In. We were staying at the hotel from October 9th-14th and when asked could we possibly get a room with a view (we were scheduled to stay in a courtyard room) she was able to upgrade us to a room on the 8th floor which had an excellent view of the Canadian Horseshoe Falls as well as the American Falls. We lost my Mother earlier in the year and I wanted this to be a Special Trip for my Dad and he was thrilled with the room upgrade. I agree with other reviews the motel section is not nice looking but stay in the hotel and you will have a nice stay. A couple of minor things did occur we requested 2 additional pillows and did not get them until we made a second call the next day. Also they should check the jets on the tub as they looked like they were not clean. Shower could have had more water pressure. We were here for 5 days at it snowed about 3 inches on one of the days here and we are from Georgia so we were very excited to get to see snow. I think this hotel is used by tourist groups as everyday we were their it was a daily occurence to see several motorcoaches arrive. Furniture in rooms could use some updating but bathroom was nice . Overall It was a wonderful stay at the Oakes and would recommend it to anyone. Small Gift Shop there as well. For dining don't miss the Fallsview Manor Restaurant out on Lundy Lane it was excellent and cheap compared to eateries around the hotel like Applebee's, Denny's and Vinny's Restaurant which were extremely pricey. 34 Canadian Dollars for Denny's Breakfast was ridiculous. Maid of the Mist was excellent and Journey Behind the Falls was nice as well. Do go to Niagara-on-the-Lake and don't miss the Floral Clock and Butterfly Conversatory. We had an extremely nice time on our trip and hope this review will be helpful for other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Knights3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We pulled a golf weekend up at Niagara Falls in August, and booked one of the Premier Suites. It was impressive! The room featured a loft style layout, and the views are just exciting - I can't say enoough about the view. I will definitely use these guys again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Asianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 127 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $89 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing