We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best views of the falls ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #35 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Fakenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best views of the falls ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here in April. Small hotel compared to most in Niagra but has the best views of the Horse Shoe Falls. Go for a room on floors 8+ as you get the best views, with floor to ceiling windows. You can also watch the night show in the comfort of your room without any hassle.
Staff are friendly and accommodate your needs without an attitude which is always good. Would stay here again.
They do lots of packages including food options, casino tokens etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on any floor above 7 and a falls view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your review, since your stay we have made many changes and updates, we hope that you will return to see the drastic improvements made. You are correct we have many packages from couples romance packages to gourmet packages and waterpark packages and also packages that include casino vouchers. We offer the best prices around and have the best view out there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    1,360
    842
    504
    506
See reviews for
1,251
2,339
62
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Lesson learnt. Excited to get such a bargain thanks to Booking.com. So excited we even upgraded? What was the non-upgraded like? There is no way that was a value of $450 even in its prime 1000 years ago. We could not hear over the circular saw and tiles being jackhammered etc. but that was just reception. Our room that was guaranteed a view.....didn't! After complaining.....loudly, we were moved up 4 floors with a glimpse of the falls thru a lot of trees. The carpet had been replaced, but that was it. Wallpaper hanging off, bathroom so small - Formula1 style, small sink outside of bathroom cause it could not fit. Very very old and sad. Should not allow accommodation while under that much renovation. Even paid a tourism improvement tax? plus parking, etc etc. Nice address, thats it. Staff didn't care, blamed marketing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookstoursagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Please accept our apologizes, we were under some major renovations, only to improve our quality of hotel for our guests. Since your visit we have completed all hallways and the main lobby area. The final touches for our rooms are under way, New Wifi and television reception has also been installed. I hope that you will return, so that we may have the opportunity of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, early in June. The hotel is tired but renovations are well under way, working on the lobby and 14th floor when we were there. Our room was a Fallsview Room on 11th floor and well worth paying a little bit extra for to get the view. The view was so beautiful we didn't want to leave it and we decided to order in our dinner! Our room was very comfortable if somewhat tired, but the renovations will soon give it a facelift. It was perfectly clean. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We thought it was excellent value considering the fabulous location.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for Falls View Room and make sure you are on 10th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelsToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel has a perfect location to view the falls if you get a fallview room. Place is obviously going through some renovations, bathroom was a little dated but room was clean and comfortable. When we arrived we were given a room that was already occupied but front desk staff was very nice and gave us another room quickly. You do have to pay for parking but parked at the Casino garage that is right next door for $5.00 a day alot less than the $20.00 the hotel wanted to charge. Hotel does have Wi-Fi for no fee just have to get password from front desk everyday. Only complaint about hotel is the bellman, he was rude not willing to answer questions or help guest (or even front desk when asked to check out our original room that was occupied by someone else!) my suggestion is to get rid of the bellman and hire more front desk people!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisegal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were visiting Toronto and decided to overnight in Niagara for my birthday. The hotel has a perfect view of the falls, you just have to make sure that when you are booking your hotel you choose the falls view. Our room was on the 10th floor and had a really nice view of the falls. Our overall stay was good, nothing special except for the view.. we paid about $160 for one night, which I thought was steep for the quality of the hotel but then again they are situated at a prime location.. the hotel is older and needs work, but the staff were great... wifi was very good. Our room was clean and didnt have any problem with hearing other guests.. beds were comfy but it does need a little bit of work..

I would look into another hotel close to this one, price is the only thing that would make me consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a fallsview, it is a little bit more but I thought it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I very rarely get away from home. We were pleasantly surprised by how well the customer service here was. We were greeted by a lovely gentleman as we entered the front door. Every staff member acknowledged us the minute we walked in the door. We booked a fallsview room and, did we ever enjoy the view. I didn't want any room keeping on our second night, so we asked the housekeeper for some extra towels. She gave us those and other stuff we didn't even ask for. Very thoughtful. Definitely worth the price and we will be returning this fall!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollylik57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spent 5 days here with family in 2 fallsview rooms. We loved the view of the falls, especially in evenings when falls are bathed in lights. We were surprised at the poor selection of television channels, and the not overly helpful concierge staff when we asked about available tours. We actually got much better tour information from a convenience store clerk down the street from the hotel. Most disappointing, however, was the lack of voicemail messaging in the hotel telephone system. One morning our adult daughter decided to sleep in rather than join us for breakfast and shopping. When we returned to the hotel in the early afternoon our daughter was not in her room, and when I tried to leave a telephone message for her , I was transferred to an "operator" who eventually took the message. (We had no service on our cellphones). When we hadn't heard from our daughter for a number of hours, we were becoming increasingly worried because to go off without leaving a message was so unlike her. When she eventually returned to the hotel at 5pm, we were relieved, but also angry when we heard that she had left repeated telephone messages with the hotel telephone operator throughout the afternoon for us to know where she was. It turns out the reason we did not receive any of her messages was that the telephone operator turned out to be one of the 2 front desk staff members, and hotel guests have to go to the front desk to pick up their telephone messages. There is no notice anywhere in the hotel at all that the hotel telephone system does not provide messaging.This is definitely not what we would expect from a quality hotel at all !!! The view was great, the room was large and clean, but everything else was disappointing, to say the least.

Room Tip: If you have a fallsview the higher (10th floor or higher) the better. Lower floors have obstructed v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing