We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - looking better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
“Great location - looking better”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed for a week - our room was clean and freshly renovated. The staff was courteous and friendly. Great location for easy walking distance to many attractions. Plus the inclined railway is right outside the door. Our room had a great view of the falls and may beautiful rainbows were viewed. Great vista for the fireworks also. The hotel is going through renovations, so you except some paint and renovation smells. Parking is tight, but not unmanageable. The view is worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you return in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    1,455
    893
    533
    558
See reviews for
1,379
2,470
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,034)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I've been here 3 times over the last 2 yrs & only because I get deals on groupon which includes wine tours & breakfast. It's a cheap getaway. We have never had any problems with the room. It is juy an old hotel with much needed renovations, but it doesn't bother me as I just sleep for a fee hours there. I do like a clean place, which so far it is. Always had a view of the falls. The staff is actually quite rude, they are in need of customer service training as they are in hospitality. Don't pay for parking. Park in the casinos parking lot. Just get a players card at the casino, put a couple of dollars on your card & play the couple of dollars. and park in the casino parking lot, it will be free once you leave. Just hand your card over.
I would probably only go if I get another groupon deal!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank npat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are pleased that you purchased the groupon deal, they are a steal of a deal. We do offer many deals, we hope that you will return, we have made many updates with our rooms and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Pics online are deceiving. Hotel is in need of major renovations from the sad reception area to the halls and rooms. Big spacious room I had but where do I start. Paint splatter on sofa, ripped curtains, stained carpet, dripping shower faucet. Hall carpets are falling apart as well as the tacky wall paper thru out, tv channels are very limited with bad quality. I'm always looking for a good deal but i've paid less and gotten a whole of a lot better in previous hotels. For $175 on a monday night is not worth it at all. Wont ever be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, We have been remodelling and updated the hotel since may1st 2014, We are trying our best to get everything done but as the busy season is now here we are only working on certain areas. All of our rooms are now complete with new flat screen tvs new mattresses new pillows some chairs have been replaced the rest will be done this month. Our lobby was just completed just waiting on our furniture delivery to arrive. Hallway corridors are being replaced with new carpet and wallpaper. We hope to have all completed by in the next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We used a Living Social deal for the 2nd time but this will probably be our last time. Had to walk thru renovation smells and odors then down several hallways and 2 sets of 4 stairs to get to room 249. Heard many people complain about smells and they asked to be moved; maybe we should have too. Pool ok but hot tub wasnt as hot as bathtub and jets were severly lacking. Exercise room had outdated equipment that squeaked if it did work and so rusty it could not be adjusted; got a workout from trying to operate not to mention no air.

Room Tip: ask about renovations first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank conranp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am tewrribly sorry that your stay was enjoyable, if you would like to contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with a manager we will be happy to invite you back again to show you that the Oakes hotel is a wonderful place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It is 330. Check in is 300. Our room is still not ready and we have dinner reservations for 5. Absolutely furious with this experience so far. I gave everything 2's or 3's so I could write the review. Please find somewhere else to stay

Allan

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alchippe441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, I do apologize for the room not being available at 3pm for you, we do try our best to have all rooms ready for our 3pm checkin time. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Hotel was like a sauna, A/C barely worked in room. Paid for parking but couldn't find a space anywhere except the nearby hotel lot. Vent fan in bathroom was broken. Was charged $50 deposit that I was never aware of. Paid for a falls view and got a room on lower floor without a falls view with no others available to move rooms. Hotel needs remodeled. I had a total of 3 TV channels. The bed sheets were very itchy and there was gum on the floor. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel was it was close to the falls.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vvaresio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakesManagement, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, We appreciate all input so that we may better accommadate our guests in the future. I am sorry that you were not able to find parking we do have 3 locations surrounding the exterior of the hotel for parking. We are also remodelling and have accomplished a great deal. We do require a 50.00 hold on a credit card which is just incase you wish to add any extras while you are staying with us. Your final bill is the only transation that we charge at the end of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Overall, not especially satisfied with my experience here. The front lobby of the hotel is quite nice and looks newly renovated, however this seems to be pretty much the only area of the hotel not in a state of renovation or repair. It is located right beside the Fallsview casino and as a result is right on the bus lines, but these benefits are absolutely not exclusive to this hotel and do not make up for some of the obvious downsides.

My room was a "court side" room so I knew that there wasn't going to be a view, what I did NOT know were the other unexpected disadvantages. It seems like the Oakes took over a neighbouring hotel so our room was about as far away from the elevator as you can possibly get. It did not have internet access. I don't mean that I had to pay for it(it is a separate charge if you want it), I mean that my room was not serviced with internet access. I had to go down to the lobby or the 14th floor to use the communal internet which was very slow. This was also quite different from what one expects when they have a package that "includes internet access."

The room itself was average. While it was larger than we had expected, it was quite lightly furnished making for a lot of empty space. The bathroom, while clean, was unadorned and looked extremely plain.

Finally, I was frustrated after signing up for a getaway package to learn that everything included in this package other than the food is in and around Niagara on the lake. While this is not far away, it absolutely requires a car in order to access (no bus service will get you there reliably), and I like many others writing reviews was shocked to hear about the charge for parking. Just go to a lot nearby.

Overall, I chose this hotel because I thought it was more within my price range while still providing many of the amenities I look for. For anyone else looking for something similar, I would recommend either spending the extra money for a nicer hotel or just settling for a cheaper option. You will probably actually receive more and have to deal with less smoke and mirrors and unmet expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing