We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We are from South Africa, my husband & I booked in to celebrate my birthday. It was well worth it, we were on the 19th floor facing the falls, it was breathtaking & so exciting! The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable. We had a wonderful time, thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for Fall facing room, the higher the better
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelOakes, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your response. The views from the rooms are breathtaking. I'm so happy that you were able to experience it at our hotel while visiting Niagara Falls. Glad the Oakes Hotel was able to make your special day a memorable one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,940)
There are newer reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,179 - 3,185 of 4,941 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed in one of the fallsview rooms on one of the high levels of the hotel. I had a direct view of the falls from my room which was breathtaking. The room however wasn't overly clean or modern. Some modern bed linen and a good clean would have gone a long way.
The view however more than compensated for this, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJK1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelOakes, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. Our location is amazing. We are definitely close to everything and being the closest hotel to the Falls doesn't hurt either! Our hotel is renovating soon to modernize our hotel. I am happy to hear you will be returning to stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have read many reviews about the Oakes Hotel both good & bad. Sure its needs some updating but for what your paying its that bad. Here's the secret if you what really good view of the falls you must request the tower rooms above the 8th floor but of course you will have to pay for the Million dollar view. My wife & I stayed here on a one night package deal and were in room 1617 we had a excellent view of both the falls and the early morning sunrise this was our second time staying here and would definitely stay here again. John T.

Room Tip: Get Tower Room For the View.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 310j246548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelOakes, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your response. The view from your room is definitely a Million Dollar View! I'm glad you were able to experience it first hand. Looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We went to the Oakes Hotel recently on a Getaway package that included a night stay, dinner, breakfast, and casino vouchers. It was an amazing deal. The view of the Falls from the room was spectacular and the dinner we had at Remington's steakhouse was fabulous.
But what made the trip was the hospitality we received from the time we got there to the time we left. The hotel manager Michael was so friendly and welcoming. Every time we saw him over the 2 days he always went out of his way to chat with us and made sure we were having a great time. And he always remembered our name. And we weren't the only ones. He treated all his guests that way. We always saw him talking and laughing with others in the lobby. I had never taken the time to ever go onto a website and talk about my experience somewhere. But the experience I had at the oakes hotel has to be shared. We will definitely go back.
Thank you,
Albert

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelOakes, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Oakes Hotel. We take pride in getting to know each and every guest that stays with us. The more we know about you, the easier it is to make sure your stay with us is 100% comforting. As for our Gourmet Getaway package, I agree with you as it is definitely an amazing inclusive deal.
Hope to see you again in the near future and thanks again for the kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

You can't beat the value here. I am so pleased that the manager, Mike, was so professional in handling an issue we had with one of the staff. He really demonstrated the importance of each customer! As a result I am very pleased to say we will be returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelOakes, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. Customer service is the most important aspect of operating a hotel. It is something that the Oakes Hotel and myself take pride in. I'm happy to see that you will be returning to our hotel and look forward to meeting with you and your family when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The view from floor 14 overlooking the falls was amazing. Both the american and horse shoe falls can easily be viewed from the room.

The hotel is old and the decor show it. From toilet to bed spread very consistenly old. That been said the room was generally clean.

The office staff including possibly management was the most unfriendly I came across during this 35 day 7 different hotel stay vacation. Maybe a smile in Canada costs an arm and a tooth!.....I wonder how they can train someone to smile!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank gjoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelOakes, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your response. I appreciate all your feedback. The view from your room is wonderful and we take pride in that. As for our product, we will be undergoing major renovations this off season to update our rooms and common areas. Our new management will make sure that the service you recieve will be just as outstanding as the product you are standing in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is an older hotel and it shows. Small lobby with no atmosphere, lots of noise from adjoining rooms and halls. However, the views from the higher floors are great and if you get a package deal you more than cover the cost of the room with the value of the add-ons you receive. Our package included tastings at Niagara on the Lake wineries, Dinner and Breakfast for 2 and Casino money. All in nearly covered the cost of the room. I'd go again for a single night, maybe two, probably not for a longer stay.

Room Tip: 11th floor or higher
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelOakes, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while in Niagara Falls. I'm glad you enjoyed staying on one of our Fallsview packages. Our package is a great value as we offer an inclusive dinner and not just dining credits. Our hotel is going through some renovations over this offseason to upgrade the quality of our fine hotel. I'm happy to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $103 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing