We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed July 15, 2008

The hotel staff was very rude. Our room was still dirty when we were to check in and had to wait 30 minutes. Why? I paid for the room and couldn't use it! The upgrade to a full falls room was a good choice. Other than the view from these rooms, this hotel has NOTHING going for it. I would choose a cheaper hotel with friendlier service next time,

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank triniaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,551 - 4,557 of 5,063 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2008

i stayed at the Oakes Hotel on June 25-27, 2008. I have to say I was pleased. The location is great, very near all the attractions. The room was comfy and clean. I had a room with partial view of the falls which was wonderful. I only found out on the day I left that on the 14th floor (i think) there is an observation window. The view from there was spectacular. My only negative comment about this hotel was that there was no wi-fi in the rooms, not even available to buy. The only wi-fi was in the lobby which worked very slow. Apart from that, everything else was great. This hotel is no luxury hotel, but more along the likes of a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spark3075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Great hotel, convenient location and nice room! This is my 2nd time stayed in this Hotel (December 2006 and June 2008). I hope my next stay they will have a refrigerator in the room. I will be back again and again......:)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank usa911x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We arrived before check-in, and our room was not ready, but we were able to go ahead with check-in paperwork and were given access to the parking area, which is right across the street from the incline railway to the Table Rock area. We had booked a "Guaranteed fallsview" room and received what I think was a jacuzzi suite on the 18th floor. We had 2 queen beds in the sleeping area, and there was a pull-out loveseat in the sitting area. The room was not furnished in brand-new lavish furniture and accessories, but it was clean and basically well-kept. What made the room great was the view! It was truly a fantastic view of both falls! That was, after all, the reason for our visit! I imagine a room lower than the 8th or 9th floor would have the view blocked by trees, though. As for the negatives, there was no wireless internet access in the room, just in the lobby and pool area. Also, the pool was pretty small, but there was also a small hot tub. The location of the hotel is very convenient, though, and I can't imagine a better view in any other hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saxygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We got the package deal with the room, dinner and breakfast. Only spent one night but was worth the price. We were on the sixth floor. Not a great view of the falls, but could see the top of the horseshoe falls as well as the river. Could not see the american falls do to the trees. Location is great, easy access to all attractions, right out the back is the incline that takes you to table rock. worth the $2.00 ride for convience, but you must walk around and experience it all. The resturant is not on location, but they offer the free shuttle to Remingtons which is over at Clifton Hills. Food was fantastic and service was wonderful. We took the shuttle to the resturant and then walked back to the hotel stopping and sightseeing/shopping along the way. From all the research I did i would say this is the best value for your dollar. Nice clean rooms, good view. Warning, I would not get the courtyard rooms, they are in the older part of the hotel and look a little run down. I might be mistaken, but I wouldn't chance it. Try to stay away from the first two floors to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WVblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I booked large group into the Oakes Hotel for three nights in mid-June and all of my people were happy with their accomodations. The hotel is located directly above Table Rock and is handy to the new Casino, many restaurants, and the Niagara Park below.

The hotel wasn't quite full when we checked in, so I was lucky enough to get a corner junior suite on the eighth floor overlooking both the American and Canadian falls. The small entryway has the only closet and leads to a small sitting room with a love seat and television that is ideal if multiple people share the room. The sitting room is sparsely furnished and leads into the large light filled bedroom with two bay windows overlooking the falls. The king bed is comfortable with adequate reading lights beside it. A corner entertainment unit houses the television which has few channels, but who cares when you can watch Niagara Falls? The furnishings are mostly birch veneer and upholstered in tones of brown and beige. Framed photos of Niagara Falls and its attractions adorn the walls. The pair of tub chairs are comfortable and set a stylish tone. The Berber textured wall-to-wall carpet looked as if it were brand new.

The bath is set between the two rooms and is dominated by a large shell-shaped jacuzzi tub. There is a large shower stall, marble vanity...all completely tiled. Amenities include a blow drier, electric shoe shiner, coffee maker, and multiple fluffy towels, two of which are folded into the shape of swans. The room overall is quite comfortable and I'd recommend it to anybody.

The lobby is small, cramped, and a bit strange. I understand that this hotel will undergo restoration and that the oldest part of it will be torn down and replaced by a 28-story tower within the next few years. Beware, multiple visits to this hotel have taught me that room quality and views vary room to room.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed in a fallsview room for two nights at the Oakes, with the Attractions pass and brakfast at Applebies included. The hotel service was extremely rude and the breakfast was cold. There are better hotels (Hilton, Niagara Fallsview Casino) which are close, which would much more worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JacobOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $59 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing