We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view of the falls!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #35 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing view of the falls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the cheapest hotel we could find in Niagara Falls with a view of the falls. The hotel itself is a bit dated but less that half the price of the newer ones so totaly worth it. The room was very spacious and clean. Check in was quick and painless. The location could not be better with Casino next door and walking distance to all amenities such as the falls below and Clifton Hill attractions. If looking for an affordable fallsview room, this place is the right choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    1,359
    842
    503
    504
See reviews for
1,251
2,331
62
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I picked this hotel based on reviews and the rate for a "fallsview" room - both were very good. As another reviewer stated, pay attention to "fallsview" versus "fallside" - if you want a view like I did then get "fallsview" My wife and I got a king with hottub and the view was amazing seeing all parts of the Niagra Falls. The front desk team was friendly and helpful - even offered a package dinner / breakfast deal which was actually a great deal!! The room was very clean as was the hot tub. Cant say that I saw the "out dated" concerns others have written about, but they were in a different room category. There is a casino next door as well as numerous food outlets. It is a 5 minute or less walk to the overlook of Horseshoe Falls from the hotel. I found this hotel to be well worth what I paid especially with the location and surrounding area. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Fallsview means "view of the falls" - do not confuse this with Fallside which just means y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canyonman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a very good experience at our stay. The view from our room was outstanding. The view of the falls at night was the best, could see the US falls and Canada falls from our room. The room was clean, good service &, quiet hotel. If we go to Niagara falls again we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florens z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friend and I went to see the falls and booked "Falls Side" rooms - read the small print carefully - these are partial view rooms, and when I say partial, I mean you're looking across the car park and into the trees, and might get a glimpse of the falls. The manager upgraded us to a higher floor, because we were very disappointed with the lack of view on the 4th, but even on the 8th floor, there's only a snapshot of the falls. Beware the pictures on the Hotel website - the hotel is looking tired. Dated decor. Worn/torn chair in the bedroom. Over priced and expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeeVee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

When planning this weekend away with my now-ex, I wanted somewhere close to falls, as I had never been to Niagara. I picked this place based solely on its closeness to the falls, and because I got a deal through one of the websites ( I don't recall if it was RedTag/Expedia/HotWire/Hotels, I used to use a few lol). We had a room with a great view - as you can see with the attached photos. We had front row seats to the summer fireworks, and a beautiful vie, including sunset time ( the sun sets on the backside of the building, so you won't see it over the Falls).Heed the warnings though, you will need to be on a higher floor to get the view.

However, that's about it. This a hotel that at the time was a little past it's prime. It is clean, but dated, and in slight disrepair. There were spots the wallpaper was peeling off, and random paint splotches on the roof ( or maybe wear spots?). The carpet in the room was old, as was the furniture.

I will say, service was average, not spectacular, don't expect a lot of help with any tourist questions from the front desk staff. We were looking for info regarding the WEGO transit, and passes, and while the people were polite, not one of them knew anything about it, or where there was a close pick up - there's one right outside the front doors for the record. They also were not much help for recommending places to eat - see a few other reviews from around the area - all they did was tell us what we already knew, what was right next door, but not what was good.

It's good proximity to the Falls, the Casino is right next door, but I won't stay there again. Next time, I will pay a little more, and stay closer to Clifton Hill, or try my luck at a different hotel close to the Falls.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfNSunChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our stay at the Oakes was not one we would consider again. Our room wasn't cleaned for two days, the place is so dated and the rooms truly need major renovations. The entire hotel needs to be torn down and rebuilt. The pull-out sofa in our room was old, dirty and full of holes. I couldn't believe this would have been left in the room. For what you pay per room while on vacation, I would have expected something better. From some of the reviews I've seen regarding this place, the good ones are either relatives of the owners or the vacationers do not have a clue what decent conditions should be. The halls getting to the rooms are not air-conditioned and honestly looked like you were on a second-rate cruise ship. There were actually stairs in some rooms that you had to climb in order to get to the sleeping quarters. No thanks Oakes, you won't see us again.

Room Tip: Don't even bother to stay at this place. The online room views look nothing like you get. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed one night...our main concern was a great view of the Falls from the room and the Oakes delivered. We were on the 17th floor and the view was perfect. We even watched the fireworks from bed. Beds could be comfier - but the room was clean and the shower worked well. Parking is tough; the lot was filled when we checked in, but we did get a spot when needed. Plenty of options for food in walking distance. Thought we'd be able to use the funicular for convenience to the Falls but it is out of order. Walk down not so bad, but the trek back up the hill could be tough on some people. The WeGo busses do stop right at the hotel so if you have a bus pass, getting back is a snap. I usually prefer free wireless and free breakfast, but the view was worth giving up those conveniences. Do be careful when booking - there is a difference between Falls Side rooms and Falls View rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamn9497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 129 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing