We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. Sometimes the room may not be as advertised. Make sure you go to the reservation lobby and request another room. The front desk staff are very obliging.
The hotel is located right in the heart of Niagara Falls. Easy access to the casino, restaurants and nightclubs.
Lots of parking for a nominal fee.

Room Tip: Fallsview rooms after the 17th floor, corner units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyduke76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    1,449
    890
    528
    555
See reviews for
1,365
2,465
67
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel is OK - but choose room with care. There is a panorama saloon at 14th floor; free for all guests, so you dont HAVE to have a room on high floor or with fall view.

Niagara town in Canada is quite "small" and def. narrow, so get a front row hotel. Hotels longer away from the falls are cheapish and motel-like.

Room at Oakes was OK, but they had just cleaned the carpet, so carpet was still wet'ish. They could have dried it better.

BREAKFAST ? DONT ORDER IT AT HOTEL. They give you voucher to nearby Applebys. NOT WORTH IT

There ar so many other AND BETTER options within walking distance.

Room Tip: Free lounge at 14th floor with falls view can replace getting a more expensive room with falls view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryBarry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the view of the Falls. It doesn't get any better, and it is less cost than some of the others for the same view. We were on the 18th floor . The rooms were clean and average comfort. Good alternative to some of the pricier hotels in the area. We purchased the plan the included Remington's Steak House for dinner, and the Appleby's next door for breakfast. Remington's was good for the singing staff, and the food was OK. Appleby's - well, it's Appleby's. This hotel is a long walk from Clifton Hill where all of the attractions are, but the free shuttle to Remington's puts you closer, and you can get a ride back on it as well, at scheduled times. So, location is great if you want a Falls view room. Not so great for other rooms, and for the distance to Clifton Hill.

Room Tip: A family from China with reservations was checking in at the same time, and were being told that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillermoGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pros:
Excellent views (worth the price to get a room with a falls view)
Clean
Easy in and out parking
Decent prices

Cons:
Dated room with crappy TVs
15+ min walk to main touristy attractions
A little bit of a party scene?

I won't repeat what others have already said. Yes this is a good hotel. One thing worth noting is that upon arrival we found a dozen "male anatomy shaped" cookies outside the main entry door on the sidewalk. Having two young girls, that was awkward, but the staff cleaned it pretty quickly. Later that night, someone pulled the fire alarm requiring us to walk down 15 flights of stairs. It's not fair to blame the hotel for the guests' actions, but I walked away wondering if this is a party hotel. Kinda reminded me of dorm life again.

Room Tip: Get a higher room to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knox, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel misrepresents itself. It does not mention you have to be on the 9th floor to see the falls! I wound have never paid $225 a night for a view of their parking lot! Nothing was complimentary! Wi-fi was $10 a frig was $10 parking $15 each a day! 1 of their elevators did not work! The AC in our room didn't work! We complained and went out sight seeing when we came back 6 hours later no one had even looked at it! So we demanded a new room which had a toilet that did not work! This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at!!!

Room Tip: Stay some place else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan095, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for very much for your comments, we are continually striving to provide exceptional service and accommodation to all our guests. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations and for that I apologize. We provide detailed descriptions of our room types on all websites and our reservations agents have detailed information at their ready disposal. Unfortunately you were not provide this information. It is not unusual for Hotels to charge for extra amenities and I assure you we are very competitive when it comes to pricing. The issues with your air conditioner and toilet was unacceptable and I apologize for the obvious inconvenience. I am pleased to discuss further should have any questions or comments. Please contact me at 905-356-4514 Ext 2003 or email alan@overlookingthefalls.com. Kind Regards Alan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at the oaks this past week while on a night away with my wife.The Oaks is a very nice hotel with a superb view of the falls .
My wife booked a wine tour as part of our stay which included a dinner and breakfast. The wine tour was not That great most of the wines were swill. I did enjoy the Jackson Trigs wine .The dinner at Remington's was great.the prime rib was tasty and well cooked and my wife had the NY steak she enjoyed. Desert was a nice chocolate cake we shared. The service was prompt and professional .
The only downfall was the breakfast at Applebies. Average at best the food was a disappointment.
We also received a coupon for the Seneca casinos that we used.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxPower11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

WOW! What a stunning view! Let's start from the beginning. Very pleasant front desk, very helpful. Upon check in, we had the front desk book us a reservation for the Greg Frewin magic show, as well as their dinner deal at Remingtons steak house (which was terrific). They could not have been more accommodating. We then went to our rooms (we were with another couple) which were on the 20th floor, and we each had a corner room. Entering the room put us in a separate sitting area with a small TV. To the left is a hallway which contains the huge bathroom. It has a tiled shower stall, a two person Jacuzzi decorated each morning with dual swans made from the towels. Nice touch - my wife felt like we were on a cruise. Walking into the bedroom you can't help but notice the view. WOW. A clear view of both the horseshoe falls and the american falls. Just incredible. The king bed was firm and comfortable, and a large TV (about 30 inch older tube type).

OK, there were some negatives. One elevator was out of service. However, the canadian elevator contractor union was on strike, and they were visible during our stay, picket signs and all. Looks like this elevator may not be repaired for a while. No fault of the Oakes. Upper hallways were warm, but the rooms were cool. Old televisions? Who cares. We were not there to watch TV. The view from the window was much more interesting. Available channels were the four major networks, CNN, METV, ANTENNA TV, ESPN, TVLAND, and a couple more. Again, we were not there to watch TV. The air conditioner cooled the room well, but was a little on the noisy side. However, I have yet to see a wall unit that is whisper quiet.

Passed on the Skylon Tower. Didn't need it. Our room had a better view, anytime we wanted to see it.

We had four great days at the Falls and at the Oakes, and would come back again, no hesitation.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a Fallsview, not Sideview. Get a high floor, and a corner room (more windows) if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing