We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNPLEASANT ODOURS AT THE OAKES”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Sudbury On
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“UNPLEASANT ODOURS AT THE OAKES”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived there on the 25th of June, 2013. Checked in, The front desk were friendly and helpful with any questions I asked. Going to the elevators, I noticed that one was out of service so it took awhile to get one. Upon entering our room (819) I noticed that the tvs were the old fashioned ones. Please. Get in the 2013's. We also noticed by the window there were two sofa chairs and one had a huge tear in it. Now that's an embarrassment to the hotel. I did report it but nothing got done. Our air conditioner wasn't the best. Also I was sitting on the bed and could smell urine. I didn't say anything to my partner, but later in the evening he commented on it. Not sure if it was from the rug or the bedspread or from the air conditioner. NOT SO PLEASANT. Would we stay there again. NO. Applebees had good food though and is next door. Very close the the casino.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shem914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan095, General Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the poor accommodation you recieved while staying with us. I have notified my Executive Housekeeper to locate the source of the odor so that no other guest will be affected. I am very pleased to inform you the company who services our elevators are back on the job and all of our elevators are up and running. My apologies for any inconvenience caused by the labour dispute. Should you wish to visit the Oakes again please email me at alan@overlookingthefalls.com so we can make your stay very enjoyable. Kind Regards, Alan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    1,454
    892
    532
    556
See reviews for
1,376
2,467
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I was very disappointed with the Oakes hotel. I thought I had booked a room with a view of the falls but I only booked on that side of the building and no one was willing to work with me on this error. Be very careful of their wording (fallside vs. fallsview). You would think for $250 a night you would get more of a view than a parking lot. The first room we received, the air conditioning wasn't working and they didn't have a room to move us to that night so we had to suffer. It was 90 degrees out. The next morning they made an attempt to fix it but only moved us when I insisted on it. The room they moved us too had good air conditioning but a poorly working toilet. They have 3 elevators and only 2 were working the 3 days we were their. Their so called observation lounge was 3 windows with chairs in front of them in a hallway that had no air conditioning. Luckily the rest of our trip to Niagara Falls was great.

Room Tip: Make sure your reservation is for a Fallsview room if you want any kind of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammySue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you're here for the Falls, it's worth getting an upper floor Fallsview room. The lower rooms facing the falls have just a view of trees, a casino and the mist from the falls. Nothing noteworthy about the room amenities. Parking on site ran to $15 (CAN) per day, plus $1.96 tax. Wi-Fi was an additional $9.95 for the entire two-night stay, plus $1.29 tax. We didn't see a restaurant, bar or coffee counter in the hotel, but there's an Applebee's connected to the hotel. There is a food court in the casino right next to the hotel (about a five minute walk) with some good, budget-friendly choices for coffee, pastries and breakfast sandwiches, and other options for other meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights (arrived on Monday and left on Thursday). After reading some less than stellar reviews, I was a little worried. This hotel EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS. We reserved a King Suite Fallsview room. I contacted the hotel before our arrival and asked for the highest floor available.

When we arrived, the people at the desk were very friendly and willing to answer any questions. They put us on floor 20! (only 21 floors). We had the corner room which gave us double the windows (the casino and American falls on the left, and the most gorgeous view of the horseshoe and American falls from the main large windows.) We ended up spending alot of our time sitting in front of our windows having our meals right there. The room itself was large with two rooms and a jacuzzi. The location is absolutely perfect. Right across the street from the Cable cars that take you directly to the falls (though they were being worked on during our stay, hardly the fault of the hotel.) Its only a short walk to the falls.

The negatives were that you had to pay for wireless internet (who needs it when your at the falls?), the parking was great though you have to pay for it and if you leave during the day, you may find it difficult to find one when you get back, and the carpets in the hallways were a little dated but who cares when the room is so nice, the TV isnt flat screen, and has basic cable but again who cares we're there to see the falls.

The view from the room absolutely outdoes the small inconveniences of the negatives. We have stayed at hotels all across the USA from 4 star to local ones. The Oakes compares to some of the best we've stayed in. I highly recommend it. Ask for a room on the highest floor available, you won't regret the view.

Room Tip: Ask for highest room available. I'd say 10 or higher. Level 14 has an observation deck. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed three nights last week at this hotel in room 1819. We booked a Premium Fallsview Suite on floors 9 through 20. The view of both falls was incredible from the room. We were fortunate to see the fireworks display Sunday night in our room. The room was relatively clean and the beds were comfortable. My son complained about the TV (not flat screen and with limited channels), but I reminded him that we are not in Niagara Falls to see TV. My only concern was the temperature difference within the room. The area with the sleep sofa was much hotter than the area with the two double beds. Luckily, the temperature outside was hovering around 60s-70s Fahrenheit and it did not impact the children. However, it could become in an issue in hotter months. My children used the small pool every day and had no complaints. The parking does get filled up every night but there are some places in the front of the hotel to park. We found a Tim Horton in the food court at the Casino next door and did not eat at Applebees. I would book this hotel again if I want a falls view with an attractive rate. I would look around for other accommodations if I did not want a falls view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuy_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked 5 months in advance and asked for a room on the highest level possible, we were lucky and had a room on the 20th floor. View's were amazing (see Pic), , our thanks to Melissa for arranging . However, be aware the rooms are quite small and your value comes from the best views at the falls. I was disappointed to find the hotel has only powdered Milk, is this a Canadian Thing???whilst we booked for 3 we only had amenities For 2 (shampoos, coffee Cup etc etc) )and the room could have had a bit closer attention to detail. Especially considering the room rate. Bath needed to be rinsed before we could use and there were dirty Brown marks on the toilet wall...we had a 2 night stay and was quite surprised to find that housekeeping did not service the room, instead they left clean linen at the door in a plastic bag. Seriously, And We Paid $220 Per Night..Finally, i found the check in receptionist, who appeared to be in charge quite rude in the fact that whilst serving Us she answered the Phoned (3 Times), ,spoke to other staff and at one point
simply walked away to a back area. Complete disregard for us as the guests she was dealing with and we all felt her attitude was below what you would think is acceptable. However i must say David the porter was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margyd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Oakes Inn. We would love to return again. The view of the falls from out room was lovely. The parking was a little expensive and the reception staff not very friendly but everything else was wonderful!!

Room Tip: Higher floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing