We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute check in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Decided to stay in a hotel at the Falls at the last minute. Found this hotel and got a room on the 2nd floor, city view (parking lot). A bit pricey, but it was the last minute and in June. HUGE room, but I personally do not like Jacuzzi's IN the bedroom... the one we had could have doubled as a pool...huge along with the wall of mirrors behind it. Huge separate "office" space which we did not use. The AC unit was a bit loud. The hallways leading to the room were not on the same level (maybe two hotels were joined at some point?) and were a bit on the dingy side (there was a sign in the room that carpets in the hallways were being cleaned). Clean bathroom, comfy bed. Like I said, probably could have got a better deal if we had put some effort into finding one, but it was later in the evening and spur of the moment and this was available so we took it. It was only for one night and it was what we could get at the very last minute.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,921)
There are newer reviews for Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,308 - 3,314 of 4,926 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

After reading literally 50 reviews of the Oakes on here and looking at pictures I kind of knew what to expect when we booked out trip. We chose the Fallsview Casino package that the Oakes offers on their website. It was a deal both me and my wife were quite satisfied with. The deal ran us about $200 even. Parking as we had heard is $15 so add that on top of your bill. We had a queen room on the 6th floor with a view. Again as we read in the reviews on here we saw some of the Falls from our room but part of the view was blocked by trees. If we were up just 2-3 floors we probably would have seen everything . Anyway the room was as expected and the hotel was as expected... a little run down and older. Old TV's that only got like 8 channels. Old carpeting and decor etc. But our trip was to see the Falls, and hit the wineries and Casino. We were staying only 1 night and were basically using the room to shower, and sleep. So because we were not going to spend alot of time in the room, what we had was fine because of what the Oakes gave us with our package. We had some time before check in so we went up the street about 75 yds to a restaurant called My Cousin Vinnies. Nice decor and we really enjoyed a great Pizza there. (They had alot of Italian dishes to choose from.. We recommend this place for sure) After lunch we went back to the Hotel checked in, and we packed a small cooler with some wine and beverages since there was no fridge in our room. The room was just ok and as we expected. A little older and rundown..but it was clean. To get a great view of the falls we grabbed a glass of wine each and went up to the 14th floor observation area. There are about 5 little areas with lounge chairs or couches by the windows that you can relax in. We sat down in some lounge chairs enjoyed our glass of wine and the company of a couple visiting from Germany that were also there for the view. After about 30 mins we headed back to the room and showered and got ready for the evening. The Oakes in this package gave us a voucher for dinner at Remmingtons Steak house. There also is a shuttle that picks you up and takes you back and forth from there. The voucher covered either soup or salad for each of us..and you had a choice of 5-6 entrees. I got a NY Strip steak and my wife got the Pasta Russtico . Coffee or tea is also included in the voucer. I had a Molson Canadien with my dinner which was an extra $7. Anyway the food was pretty good. we both enjoyed our meals. Remmingtons was a nice experience with good service and that meal was worth probably $50 and my bill was only for the beer. So with tip $17 for a nice dining experience. After the shuttle dropped us off at the hotel we had only a 5 minute walk to the Fallsview Casino. Which included in this package from the Oakes was $50 in freeplay for us. ($25 each person) We actually won about $125 while playing at the casino that night so it was a good night. Expect though to pay about $7 a drink in there if you want cocktails. Went back to our room about 1am and crashed until morning. Woke up and then had a $20 voucher for breakfast at Applebees next door to the hotel (They serve till noon ) The voucher covered about 6-7 choices for you. Wife had pancakes & hashbrowns/toast/coffee I had eggs&sausage/toast/hashbrowns/juice etc. All free. $5 tip and out the door. Then headed to 3 wineries that were about a 25 minute drive from the hotel. We had coupons for (3) free tastings at various wineries. Valued probably at about $30 as they usually charge you about $5 for tastings. So between the Casino voucher $50, the dinner at Remmingtons $50, Breakfast at Applebees $20 and the wine tastings$30 you got about $150 in perks on the Casino Deal. The next day we were staying at the Marriot in a king jacuzzi suite on 17th floor Fallsview which was a whole different experience (Groupon deal) That night because of the incredible room we stayed in our room alot more. So it depends what you are looking for. If you are gonna be out and around town and just need a place to shower and sleep that is close to the Falls, and has a great view, then the Oakes is a great option. If you are going to stay for a long period of time and plan on spending alot of time in your room and want elegance then you may want to try another hotel. But we will go back to the Oakes especially for the same Casino package. The perks that they give you in that package are awesome!

Room Tip: If you want clear view of falls you gotta be like 9th floor or higher.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pk5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I also hesitated to stay at the Oakes dues to the mixed reviews. I received an email regarding a $69 special. Which was to include a $20 food voucher for the Remington. Problem with that is you have to spend a minimum of $80 to use the $20. Also included a 25% discount coupon for the attached Applebee's. The food was good at Applebee's (twice the price as in the US), but the service was poor and they did not honor the 25% off. Our room was extremely outdated. Dirty carpets, stained ceiling and very tiny. We were not in the tower, we were in a "wing" that extended from the main hotel. It was down a long dingy, dark, smelly, very narrow hallway. The free wifi is only available on the 14th floor viewing area and the main lobby, which I found useless. The location is perfect, but nothing that all the surrounding hotels don't have. The staff was adequate, nothing extra.

Room Tip: Can only assume the rooms in the tower are better
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlyer4047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

i brought the wife here for our honeymoon that we missed out on when we got married 24yrs ago she was in nursing school and a year later our first daughter was born and money was tight too. both the wife and i enjoyed the oaks and are planning to go back next year about the same time. we found that one night is not enough to enjoy all that is goin on in the falls and to use the wine tours you need to be there for at least 2 nights. remmingtons was delisious we were told that the prime rib and there steaks are the best and you get lots to eat too. and the view of the falls from the 17th floor is fantastic we could see both falls equally and at night were spectacular mind you there was a lot of mist comming from the horse shoe falls and the lights did not show as well. the large two person tub was fun and my wife liked the swans that were made from the towels. basically you need more than one night to enjoy everything. one of the things we did not do and i was told to make sure and do was go to the observation lounge well next time

Room Tip: if your a couple spend the extra and go for the premier king room over looking the falls and at remm...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The nicest part of this hotel was definitely the view of the Falls. The view was as awesome as some of the higher end hotels in the Falls with out the extra inflated costs. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were a little dated, and could have used some updating, but they were clean and average comfort. It was definitely a nice alternative to some of the pricier hotels in the area. The rooms were large and roomy with a front living space with a couch and tv. The bathroom was clean. Only real complaint was it was a room for 4 (2 queens), but they only had towels for 2 people. The pool was nice and clean and there always seemed to be a staff member there cleaning the pool area. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Worth getting a falls view room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. We had a wonderful view of the falls. We had a room on the 11th floor. Plenty of space for a family. Sitting room with fold out couch and separate bedroom with 2 queen beds. The hotel was within walking distance of the falls but it was a little bit of a hike. But most of the hotels are that way because you have to walk up hill from the falls. There is a tourist shuttle bus that runs throughout the falls area. If you are not crazy about the walk, I highly recommend the bus

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinawiltsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I reserved a room overlooking the Niagara falls at this hotel with a printed address of the Uited States and when I arrived it was on the Canadien side. I had no passport and scrambled to pay twice a much for a nonreserved room on the US side. When I called to cancel that day, the hotel told me they had nothing to do w/ it and contact easytobook who had a full phone mailbox.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $103 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing