We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but lower end then I was expecting. View was excellent. And room was cold.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #35 of 127 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Love the service, they were fantastic. Took our 3 year old w us and all she wanted was to swim in the pool, which didn't open til 9, but they were willing to open it early for us.
The room was very clean and tidy. Beds were very comfy.
The WHOLE hotel is cold though. Pack warm clothes for traveling from the room to pool.
The room was REALLY cold too, turns out there is baseboard heaters and a window heater. Don't bother w the baseboard. It barely works. We had it on over night and woke up freezing. The window heater finally warmed the room up, in time for us to leave.
It is just about due for a Reno. Replacement patches all over, warn carpet, the usual. But it is a nice place to stay. They have an observation "deck" on the 14th floor.
We would stay here again. The view was really nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FebruaryStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,763 - 3,769 of 5,254 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a night at the Oakes through Travelzoo, with a riverview room for $119, dinner for 2 a Remingtons steak house, breakfast for 2 at Applebees, $50 credit at the Seneca, winery and chocolate factory tours. We were considering an upgrade to a fallsview room (floors 9 and up), but the reception staff (who were very friendly and efficient) told us we could see the falls just fine from the lower floors. Sure enough, in the winter with no leaves on the trees, we had a great view from our 8th floor rooms. Dinner at Remingtons was ok, but the service was a bit slow - the restaurant is about a mile away and you are taken there by shuttle, so when a bus full of a dozen or more diners shows up at once, it appears to overload the wait staff. Breakfast was excellent - our server Rhonda was an absolute treat.

Room Tip: There is a line of trees between the hotel and the falls. In the summer for floors 5-8 the leaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_and_Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight getaway. Great location for everything because it is right in the middle of everything. The room was ok. The tv had no channel selections. Usually you at least get espn and they didn't. Applebee's is attached to hotel so I jus went there for a little bit to watch sports and drink a few brews. Overall for the $89 (before the taxes) I spent for the room I can't complain.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Oakes Hotel provided us with a very satisfying lodging experience, offering a comfortable room with great views of the Falls, convenient location near area attractions, great staff with friendly and responsive service, and a real value in our Gourmet Dining package. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Fallsview rooms in the "premier" category offer slightly better viewing windows and are ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend of Jan.18th & 19th in a suite on the 14th floor. We never had a real Honeymoon. This was our 45th wedding anniversary and a fantastic Honeymoon experience. When we first entered the room and saw the view, my wife began to cry...."Happy Tears". After all the years we finally were enjoying the beauty of the Falls, the "Honeymoon Capital Of The World" in a fantastic room.
We would highly recommend a stay here at the Oaks Hotel. Try to reserve a room from the 14th floor up and on the Falls side to fully enjoy the beauty of nature...The Niagara Falls!
We intend to spend our 50th Wedding Anniversary back here again.

On a side note: A special Thank you to "Joe" for his excellent help during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side provide a spectacular view of the Sun rising in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_LaPlante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The first reaction when you enter the room is just WOW . What an amazing view of the falls from directly the room.The Niagara Falls right in front of your eyes 24x7 whenever you want to see it.Now for the hotel itself . The rooms are spacious but seem to be not maintained well.They seem old time hotel rooms of the 90's.The hotel is a budget hotel with almost no room service.You have to go to the reception and ask for any and every thing.The washrooms are small but good.All in all if your budget is tight you can opt for this one.Else there are many many other better options nearby.

Room Tip: Chose a room on higher floors for a better view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinayLohia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Oakes Hotel in Niagara Falls to catch the Festival of lights in January. It was really great to see so many festive lights in the falls area, they put a lot of work into this time. We have stayed at this hotel before, and I must say that the rooms are pleasantly clean, but it was rather expensive. What annoys me, is you must pay for everything at this hotel. Parking was $30 for one night stay, and when I wanted to use my laptop to get directions for a destination we had to go to on the sunday, front desk advised me that it was $10 to recieve Wi Fi service. This I found rather surprising. Isn't using the internet today everywere and is such a standard? Not here! I also asked front desk for a small sewing kit, (my husband was looking for the needle to remove a steel sliver in his hand) and we were told we would have to buy one. I know Niagara Falls is key tourist area, but two things we asked for should be standard to hotels to be competitive.
I think we will definatley be going back to the Courtyard by Marriott on Victoria Ave. It was cheaper and by far a better experience.

Room Tip: This is probably one of the nicer hotels for a view of the falls. We were on the sixth floor, a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgirl061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Niagara Falls - Fallsview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 127 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $88 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing