We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Oaks during New Years. December 28-Jan 1. The hotel room was okay...nothing special. The set up of the room is really weird, when you walk in you are basically right in the bathroom. The toilet and tub are in a room together and the sink and mirror is not enclosed. The room was dark the lights did not do much to add brightness. The windows were nice. We were on the 6th floor and had a pretty nice view of the falls. This hotel is directly across from the Canadian Falls. It would be nicer to stay higher up to see a better view of the Canadian Falls. The casino is right next door, and the parking ramp lights are on all night - plus the light from the falls is on, so the only way to get darkness at night was to close the blinds. The room was very dry and the heater was either hot or cold. The TV is awful. It is a dated tube tv. It made a high pitched buzzing noise every time you changed the channel. The channels are limited, which was a bit disappointing after a busy day there was hardly anything to watch.

The groupon made this hotel deal good, but I would probably not return. It is within walking distance to the main strip....but it was a good distance away. It was nice to walk down to the concert at night.

The pool was okay, but there was a lot of chlorine in the water. Water was very foggy.

We ate at applebees, attached to the restaurant, twice for breakfast. The food was not that great. I was given a glass that had a piece of bacon or some food stuck on the inside. The knifes had spots all over them. I would not eat here again.

The hotel did offer shuttle service to Reamingtons, this service was great. Although the one time we took it the driver did not have any heat on.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room. The higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyLonOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,537 - 3,543 of 5,006 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Nothing special about the hotel or services. The hotel is a little worn, with slightly tattered ceiling, worn carpet, and outdated tube-type tv's. The pay-per-view pricing on movies was expensive ($12.99-16.99 for current movies) and had limited tv stations.
- I found the wi-fi to be very finicky to connect to, and I am computer savvy.
- We could hear our neighbors (and the cleaning lady's music) through our adjoining room door.
- The staff were helpful, with a forced niceness.
- The room has poor ventilation - after one shower all windows were completely fogged over. But oh, the shower! This was the best shower that we have ever experienced in a hotel!

But, for the price, it's hard to beat. A convenient location, easy access, and so-so (so-so expensive) parking, combined with a great view, I would stay again.

Room Tip: Above the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_Traveller_OU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We chose the romance package at the Oakes Hotel for our Anniversary. We had a lovely corner suite on the 13th floor which was very spacious, neat and clean and we were pleasantly surprised with wine a rose and chocolates when we arrived. We had an amazing view of both falls especially the night view with all the lights on the falls as well as the park below and the Fallsview casino next door. It was so nice to sit in front of the floor to ceiling windows and just take in the amazing view of the falls and the surrounding scenery.
We found the location excellent not only for the view but we were in a short walking distance to the Fallsview casino. It was nice to have the shuttle service to Remington's restaurant where the menu offered was very enticing and a lovely atmosphere. We also enjoyed our breakfast at Applebees next door to the hotel. All in all our experience at the Oakes hotel was amazing,affordable and made for a very special anniversary.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of the hotel was awesome. We had a gourmet package deal which included breakfast and dinner. Our room was on the 18th floor overlooking the falls. The view was gorgeous. The room was very spacious and comfortable. It is not super luxurious...the furniture is a bit tired, and the tv's are old, but it was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Our breakfasts at Applebees were delicious( we stayed two nights) and our meal at Remingtons both nights was superb. YOu can't ask for much more for the price. There are some places in the hotel where carpets need to be replaced and there are no minibars or fridges in room, but small things. Don't expect the Ritz...but a nice hotel with a spectacular view....

Room Tip: higher floors for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I chose this hotel because we definitely wanted a great view of the falls. It's one of the closest to the Canadian falls, and I think it's got the best angle for viewing both American and Canadian Falls compared to the other 2 hotels next to it. At the time of booking, there were no discounts from any hotel or discount websites. Paid full price for a 1 night Fri. stay which I thought was reasonable for the fallsview, compared to the other 2 hotels next to it and other hotels which advertise fallsview (as per other reviews).

Wanted to catch the fireworks but disappointed cuz there weren't any as advertised, maybe due to high winds. Nevertheless, the view was awesomely amazing from our room and well worth it! We enjoyed lounging in front of the window in the morning to take it all in, instead of rushing around to go to breakfast or check-out as we would usually do. We requested the highest floor possible and got #1918 with 2 queen beds, on the 19th of 22 floors. Could also see the Fallsview Casino, ferris wheel and Rainbow Bridge.

The room appeared clean, modern and not musty or smelly (very important for us, being extremely sensitive to allergens and I have asthma). Although... wallpaper seams were showing and stirstick on the carpet by the window; missed a spot. A bit cold when we arrived but the heater was good. Some stains were on the bathtub, but I imagine difficult to get out from acrylic. Service was friendly.

Room Tip: Room 1918 on the 19th floor - spectacular views of both American and Canadian falls, can also see Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little-rabbit-FF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Location was awesome. Worth paying the extra money for a Fallsview room as it gives you a brilliant view right over the horseshoe falls. Rooms were spacious, comfortable and well designed. Only problem we had was the sink wouldn't empty. Staff were friendly and very helpful, personable and went out of their way to help you. Would definately recommend to anyone who asked.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

First impressions:
Front Desk attendant wearing her own hoodie. Not incredibly nice.
Awkward layout of the entrance area.
Carpet worn down, and wall paper coming off many of the walls.
Elevator ride was nice.
Good views of both the Canadian and American Falls from floors above 6.
Reasonable deal - $190.00 taxes included for a package including the following: (1) room with Jacuzzi (it was nice), and King size bed (it was nice). Small entry area inside of room that led to the bedroom. No fridge. This was the best room in the hotel.
(2) 2 three course dinners at Remington's (very nice)
(3) 2 breakfasts at Applebees (nice)
(4) 4 wine tours and 1 chocolate tour. Did not attend.

I would stay at a different hotel next time if prices were similar.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors for better views of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $64 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing