We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Okay”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

First impressions:
Front Desk attendant wearing her own hoodie. Not incredibly nice.
Awkward layout of the entrance area.
Carpet worn down, and wall paper coming off many of the walls.
Elevator ride was nice.
Good views of both the Canadian and American Falls from floors above 6.
Reasonable deal - $190.00 taxes included for a package including the following: (1) room with Jacuzzi (it was nice), and King size bed (it was nice). Small entry area inside of room that led to the bedroom. No fridge. This was the best room in the hotel.
(2) 2 three course dinners at Remington's (very nice)
(3) 2 breakfasts at Applebees (nice)
(4) 4 wine tours and 1 chocolate tour. Did not attend.

I would stay at a different hotel next time if prices were similar.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors for better views of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    1,476
    918
    547
    574
See reviews for
1,424
2,513
68
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

To be honest, my overall rating of the hotel is 2 out of 5, but because of the cheap price I give it 3 out of 5. Indeed, the location is nice and overlooking the falls. The is a free short-term parking (15 min) for the check-in and you can purchase a 24-hour parking slot for $15/day (+tax). The first room we got had a cigarette smell in it, so we complained to the receptionist. She moved us to "a nicer room" which was indeed nicer and with better view. Although the room was smaller than the first one, there was plenty of room in it. The interior is o.k. (no more than that). All the furniture was old, but nothing was broken. The sheets were clean, but again old. To be honest, that I didn't like. Even worth than that, the mattress was horrible. If I don't get a good sleep at night, I won't enjoy the following day. May be it's just me...
Nevertheless, the service was good. The view from our window was nice. It was clean and warm inside the room. As for the dinner - we had it in a restaurant, called "Remington's of Niagara" (part of the package). It was a pleasure to be there and have a dinner there (read my review of the restaurant). Breakfast was fine, not to many choices included. The food was o.k. Let me put it that way - although I was fed afterwards, if it wasn't a part of a package, I would never go there.

Room Tip: Have a dinner in "Remington's of Niagara"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeanneB_86
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked for a 1 night stay at this hotel through a group deals website and paid an extra $30 to upgrade our room to a guarantee falls view room and it was worth it! Our package included 1 night at the hotel, dinner for 2 (3 course) at a restaurant which they organise transfers for you, breakfast at the Applebee's next door, casino credit (which we didn't use) and a tour of a chocolate factory which we also didn't use. We thought because it was a cheap deal the hotel was going to be bad but we were wrong!!!!!

Check-in was quick and the staff were friendly. The room was nice and big as well as the bathroom, and we had an excellent view of the waterfall and it wasn't noisy! We were walking distance to everything because we were right in the middle of the town. Yes the hotel is on a big hill but if you don't mind walking up and down then its great otherwise there was a cable car just outside of the hotel a couple of minutes away walking to get down to the bottom where all the shops are.

We were able to stay in the hotel room at night and watch the light show from the hotel so we didn't have to worry about being out in the cold and uncomfortable at night. My partner set up his camera on his tripod and was able to get excellent shots of the water and the colours through the glass and we would sit and talk in while we waited for the next colour.

The included dinner and breakfast were average and the chocolate factory tour was a little out of the way which is why we didn't do the tour.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel because its at what I call the best end of the fall - the horseshoe, I know I would be if I went back to Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneB_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

As usual, our yearly trip to Niagara Falls was great and it all started with the great staff/stay at the Oakes Hotel....We have been going there for the last 3 yrs and are always very satisfied on how clean and odor free the rooms and hotel are always. Will definitely go again without hesitation...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Paid an extra 30 dollars and landed on the 20th floor with a corner room and incredible view. Room was excellent as was the meal at Remington's and Appleby's. Either the complaints here are from people who are incredibly fussy or were not willing to pay a bit for the upgrade. I have a feeling the lower floors and the annex are not as nice as the room we were in but the reality is you get what you pay for and for what we paid we were very happy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights for $199 each through TeamBuy.
I upgraded one of the rooms for a higher floor but only got 2 floors higher for $30/day more.
Checking in was fairly quick, and they made reservations for us at Remington's right away.
The room we had on the 8th floor was close to the elevators and you could hear all the noises from the hallway. You could also hear the toilet flushing in other rooms as well. The view was amazing though. The room size was as expected with 2 queen beds.
The 14th floor observation lounge is in fact sofas placed along the hallway in little nooks overlooking the falls. Parking is outdoor and we returned to the hotel around 9:30-10pm both nights and the parking lot was full, so we had to park on the ramp leading to the parking lot. Applebee's is not really connected to the hotel, you still have to walk outside.
Everything else was as described on the teambuy.
The hotel is a little bit run-down, but did get clean towels and new toiletries after the first night. TV does not offer many channels and image quality was bad but we did not go for the hotel or the tv. The hotel is not that close to Clifton Hill, the main tourist area, but it is very close to the falls. We did not walk down to the falls, but it did seem very close.
Overall, I would say it is not a bad hotel, just a litte bit worn out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carine_clw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here over the Xmas period and had a 2 bedroom premium view suite. The best thing about the hotel is the view, Its amazing. The rooms could do with some remodelling. The TV was an old style with a huge back (No LCD TV’s here). The staff was very friendly even though they originally gave us the wrong room but changed it straight away with no problems. There is a nice pool with a view of the car park. Also beware of the car park as it can get very icy and our windows were frozen with 1 inch of solid ice. The Applebee’s next door is really nice but a little pricey although we did expect that as its Niagara Falls. The Jacuzzi worked well in our room but should have overlooked the falls. All in all was an ok hotel and would go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allistercole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fallsview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Niagara Falls/Fallsview Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Niagara Falls Fallsview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott on the Falls
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls Fallsview
0.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Property: Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Address: 6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All New Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls in Niagara Falls Canada is the ONLY boutique style Fallsview hotel in Niagara Falls. The view from its Fallsview hotel rooms is second to none, as it towers over the mighty Niagara Falls. If you're looking for shopping, dining, nightlife or entertainment, the location of The Oakes Hotel is perfect for you. Located in the heart of the Fallsview tourist district, right next door to Canada's largest casino - the Fallsview Casino Resort, the hotel is within walking distance to almost anything! How close is The Oakes Hotel to the brink of Niagara Falls? Just a quick ride down the incline railway (located right in front of the hotel), and you're there in 5 minutes. The Oakes Hotel is always the best value, and the Gourmet Getaway couple's package is the perfect Niagara Falls hotel package deal for couple's looking for some time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakes Hotel Overlooking Falls
Oakes Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing